SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1387 (Misses' Top)

9 more reviews
Viewed 349 times 
Reviewed by:Tinyloop
photo

 
 
About Tinyloop
Member since: 4/26/11
Reviews written: 18
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/14 3:47 PM
Last Updated:8/14/14 3:49 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 1387 by Tinyloop

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 1387
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by Tinyloop

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
Fabric:Silk Twill  [See other projects in this fabric]
Good heavens. Silk twill is pretty, but does require care in sewing. Keeping it on grain while cutting and sewing is hard enough on the straight grain, but with the front edges cut and sewn on the bias I had to take a lot of time. In the end I underlined the facings and back neck seams with silk organza to hold them in place. It worked nicely, and even keeps the fronts from falling open (though I'll still tack them together.

I made view A, and I didn't have the problems other people have encountered with the pattern. The sleeves were not difficult once I understood them (the drawings in the instructions are hard to follow). I found it easiest to sew in the sleeves and gusset pieces before sewing the side seams.

Mods: I decided that making buttonholes and threading ties were more operations than I wanted to perform with the twill, so I elasticized the waist instead. I also lengthened the bodice by half an inch.

Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
taylormade said...
It would be helpful to know how you sewed the sleeves in before sewing the sides, as I have made this pattern and gave up on the sleeve and gusset insertion!!
12/13/14 7:42 AM
feltont said...
Beautiful! This top has summer written all over it.
8/19/14 8:25 AM
TJSEWS said...
I love your top. It's so pretty. Where did you get that lovely fabric?
8/17/14 5:23 PM
Tinyloop said...
Thanks all! Re Becca: I cut the organza on the bias, since I was worried straight grain underlining would be too stiff. Over time I'll see if that was a good call!
8/15/14 8:27 AM
Re Becca said...
Wow, I love this. Your fabric choice is perfect. I have some silk twill and I could totally do this. I like your idea of the silk organza to stabilize the neckline. Did you cut on the bias to match the neck or use the straight grain?
8/15/14 6:41 AM
Sarah Liz said...
It's lovely - I agree, the less fiddling the better with slippery fabric.
8/15/14 3:54 AM
jlg said...
Lovely! That fabric is so pretty.
8/14/14 7:09 PM
MrsCharisma said...
It's very pretty! I keep pulling this one out and putting it back. LOVE yours.
8/14/14 4:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Buy Now
Katy Bags

Katy Bags

Buy Now