SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7795 

3 more reviews
Viewed 1648 times 
Reviewed by:HawkeMorningStar7
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About HawkeMorningStar7starstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/21/05
Reviews written: 195
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 195
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/27/05 0:30 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
Well, it certainly looks gorgeous now so all your trouble was worth it.
7/27/05 0:51 AM
CarolynGM said...
You must have fixed all the problems because it looks fantastic. Shame on Vogue for those instructions.
7/27/05 6:09 AM
oracle said...
Hawke, that dress looks so good on you in the picture! Before reading your review, I was looking at the photo and thinking, what a great design! What a perfect print for that dress! What a great colour! And does it ever flatter her! So whatever struggles you had to endure making it, I love what I see of the finished result. (By the way, the Vogue patterns I sew with are the Betzina ones, which I love, but I've noticed for some time mistakes in the descriptions on the pattern envelope (eg. a fitted dress described as "loose fitting") and other small omissions, mistakes and inconsistencies on the instruction pages. I didn't know if this was due somehow to the way Today's Fit is interfaced into the Vogue line or what, but I'm sorry to hear about the major omission you've run into in your Vogue pattern, which is the worst I've heard of yet!) Thanks for the review. It was very helpful. Enjoy the dress. (oracle)
7/27/05 6:43 AM
Gigi Louis said...
The dress is fabulous on you! No one would know you had any troubles with it.
7/27/05 7:24 AM
Hilary said...
So flattering! It was worth the trouble!
7/27/05 7:31 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
A fantastic looking dress on a beautiful woman. You look so relaxed in that atmosphere.
7/27/05 8:11 AM
Sew it seams said...
That is a beautiful dress. I agree with the others- one would never guess you had all that trouble by looking at the finished product. Great job!
7/27/05 8:15 AM
KarmenG said...
Fabulous dress! You look wonderful!
7/27/05 8:18 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
thanks so much everyone for your nice comments. I am going to wear it again today...back up into 90's
7/27/05 9:16 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I love you dress. It is so flattering for you and one would never know theere had been any construction patterns.
7/27/05 10:06 AM
touran said...
How absolutely gorgeous. I'm glad you worked out the kinks, because it looks great on you.
7/27/05 10:13 AM
LisaLS said...
You look great in that dress! I like the lines.
7/27/05 10:31 AM
BjP said...
Fabulous dress but you made me mad at Vogue all over again. I've also had problems with them so just when will they be a bit more careful in their instructions? Anyway, you look lovely and your difficulties were well worth it.
7/27/05 11:28 AM
drsue said...
Love that dress on you!!! just perfect. Vogue seems to have serious quality control problems for instructions these days.
7/27/05 12:03 PM
Geordie Girl said...
This looks gorgeous. It was well worth the trouble
7/27/05 2:56 PM
cindyann said...
Beautiful. Suits you very well.
7/27/05 4:12 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice!
7/28/05 1:39 AM
ryan's mom said...
Fab print, fab fit. Great-looking dress you got there. I feel for you on the neckline situation as that has happened to me before after sewing on the facing. In hindsight I realized it wasn't the pattern, I was using the wrong size for the neck/shoulders. Neckline problems can cause hours of grief--ugh!
7/28/05 5:50 AM
PegL said...
This dress is gorgeous on you! Glad you were able to figure it out despite the pattern problems! I've run into bad instructions with Vogue several times. I wonder what happened to quality control there?!
7/28/05 6:30 AM
AnneM said...
Great choice of fabric for this dress, even if you did lose the crinkles.
7/28/05 6:42 AM
Jan B. said...
I agree with all the positive comments--it looks wonderful on you! I've never seen a crinkle gauze like this at our Joann's. It's perfect for the design and for you.
7/28/05 1:15 PM
PixieCat said...
Wow! It's a gorgeous dress! No one would ever know you had troubles with it.
7/28/05 3:17 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Even with all your trials and tribulations, I really like your dress. Looks great on you. I of course just love green. Dress looks better than pattern drawings.
7/28/05 4:43 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty on you.
7/30/05 6:03 PM
JeanetteE said...
"Kaffufle"! Gosh you make me chuckle! Love your reviews, love the dress. You look great in it.
8/4/05 10:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Marfy 1883

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Buy Now
Other Free shorts

photo
by: cweetgal

Review