SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3153 (Misses' Swimsuit & Wrap)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1581 times 
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 186 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/7/05 2:34 PM
Last Updated:8/7/05 2:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryan's mom said...
Thanks for a great review, Sherril! I'm thinking about buying this pattern.
6/3/09 9:10 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Great job, Sherrill. I like my swimsuits to be a bit on the big side, too, as who wants to spend all day tugging and pulling! Looks great, go dive in and have fun!
8/8/05 7:37 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I can't believe this is your first swimsuit - it really turned out great. I've only made the wrap from this pattern. I think I'll reconsider the suit after reading your review. You have such great legs!
8/8/05 6:28 PM
Tiner W said...
Your suits look great, and I agree with Ryan's mom--this one plays up your legs!
8/8/05 10:25 AM
ryan's mom said...
This suit looks terrific on you. I know you commented that it's a bit on the small side, but it really highlights those legs! Very flattering IMO.
8/8/05 8:09 AM
MaryBeth said...
Interesting, informative review. Thanks for taking the time to do it and showing us your results. Love the fabrics, wraps and suits: looking good.
8/7/05 10:01 PM
Deepika said...
Sherril what a cute swimsuit. This is a great pattern.
8/7/05 9:39 PM
Hilary said...
Thanks for modeling your swimsuits for us! I think they both look great on you-I *love* this red flowered swimsuit fabric! I for one don't think its too skimpy at all, but I know how you feel in a suit makes a huge difference. How did you like the back center strap? Is it effective in preventing straps falling( and is it comfy?) I have this pattern as well, and am chicken to try it :D
8/7/05 8:01 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice swimsuit. You did a good job.
8/7/05 6:54 PM
Linda E. said...
Great looking suit you did a great job. I do not remember making the suggestion to use a Large I may be losing my mine.
8/7/05 6:10 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Sue, on this suit I used way too many pins and it was a painful event. On my other one, I started putting in the pins parallel to the fabric edge, removing them as I got to them. In this way, I used less pins and got poked much less often. You're right though, sewing on all that elastic gets old fast. Is your current project for youself?
8/7/05 4:26 PM
drsue said...
Both suits are terrific I think. I saw this review just as I finished cutting out for a KS suit top. Just finished the bottom and a skirt. I'm finding sewing all the elastic to be tiresome - - did this bug you?
8/7/05 3:01 PM
mudcat said...
Yes, it looks great on you. Good colors.
8/7/05 2:51 PM
PhyllisC said...
Great suit Sherrill. You look fabulous!
8/7/05 2:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1949

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

More Info