Online Sewing Class: Leather 101
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3153 (Misses' Swimsuit & Wrap)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1589 times 
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 142 (patterns: 131)
Body Type:
Skill level:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 195 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/7/05 2:34 PM
Last Updated:8/7/05 2:34 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
ryan's mom said... (6/3/09 9:10 PM) Reply
Thanks for a great review, Sherril! I'm thinking about buying this pattern.
Lee Ann Hawkins said... (8/8/05 7:37 PM) Reply
Great job, Sherrill. I like my swimsuits to be a bit on the big side, too, as who wants to spend all day tugging and pulling! Looks great, go dive in and have fun!
Gigi Louis said... (8/8/05 6:28 PM) Reply
I can't believe this is your first swimsuit - it really turned out great. I've only made the wrap from this pattern. I think I'll reconsider the suit after reading your review. You have such great legs!
Tiner W said... (8/8/05 10:25 AM) Reply
Your suits look great, and I agree with Ryan's mom--this one plays up your legs!
ryan's mom said... (8/8/05 8:09 AM) Reply
This suit looks terrific on you. I know you commented that it's a bit on the small side, but it really highlights those legs! Very flattering IMO.
MaryBeth said... (8/7/05 10:01 PM) Reply
Interesting, informative review. Thanks for taking the time to do it and showing us your results. Love the fabrics, wraps and suits: looking good.
Deepika said... (8/7/05 9:39 PM) Reply
Sherril what a cute swimsuit. This is a great pattern.
Hilary said... (8/7/05 8:01 PM) Reply
Thanks for modeling your swimsuits for us! I think they both look great on you-I *love* this red flowered swimsuit fabric! I for one don't think its too skimpy at all, but I know how you feel in a suit makes a huge difference. How did you like the back center strap? Is it effective in preventing straps falling( and is it comfy?) I have this pattern as well, and am chicken to try it :D
Danvillegirl said... (8/7/05 6:54 PM) Reply
Very nice swimsuit. You did a good job.
Linda E. said... (8/7/05 6:10 PM) Reply
Great looking suit you did a great job. I do not remember making the suggestion to use a Large I may be losing my mine.
Sherril Miller said... (8/7/05 4:26 PM) Reply
Sue, on this suit I used way too many pins and it was a painful event. On my other one, I started putting in the pins parallel to the fabric edge, removing them as I got to them. In this way, I used less pins and got poked much less often. You're right though, sewing on all that elastic gets old fast. Is your current project for youself?
drsue said... (8/7/05 3:01 PM) Reply
Both suits are terrific I think. I saw this review just as I finished cutting out for a KS suit top. Just finished the bottom and a skirt. I'm finding sewing all the elastic to be tiresome - - did this bug you?
mudcat said... (8/7/05 2:51 PM) Reply
Yes, it looks great on you. Good colors.
PhyllisC said... (8/7/05 2:42 PM) Reply
Great suit Sherrill. You look fabulous!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Simplicity 6082

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Pattern Details
Simplicity 5746

photo
by: Sew Good

Review