Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3064 (Misses Swimsuits) thumbsup - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 1983 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 181 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/7/05 3:25 PM
Last Updated:8/7/05 3:25 PM


See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jackie V said...
Your swimsuit looks great on you. I made 3 swimsuits for my grandaughter using a Kwiksew pattern. She loved them. I can't see spending big bucks on swimsuits as they take such a little bit of fabric and not much trouble to sew.
8/7/05 3:53 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Both swimsuits look great and if I had legs like yours I would be showing them off too. Very nice suit.
8/7/05 3:57 PM
drsue said...
I think you are right about the serger issues. Your suit is really nice.
8/7/05 4:06 PM
Skye said...
Great looking swimwear. I use a 3 thread serger stitch when sewing swimwear. 2 needles and lower looper my machine comes witha cover for the upper looper. The tension is increased a tad in the lower lopper - the resulting stitch has a lot more stretch than the usual 4 thread. I really love the wrap skirt idea roll on our summer :)
8/7/05 4:36 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Great work and inspiration, Sherril, thank you.
8/7/05 4:53 PM
Linda E. said...
Great looking suit I you have been busy making swim wear. One of these days maybe I will attempt it.
8/7/05 6:14 PM
touran said...
Very nice. I have the pattern also. I'm glad it came out so well (with all your extra work!).
8/7/05 6:19 PM
BjP said...
Very nice, Sherril. I really like the wrap, too. Good review and a lovely job on both suits.
8/7/05 6:45 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great detail. You really have the hang of this. Both suits look good to me.
8/7/05 6:56 PM
hongkongshopper said...
And so you should show off those legs! They look great. Both suits are very flattering and I especially like the fabric of this set. Thanks for modelling:)
8/8/05 5:39 AM
cmarie12 said...
Sherril, both swimsuits are great! I agree that you have wonderful legs and should show them off! Thanks so much for 2 great reviews!
8/8/05 8:00 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great swimsuit! And I love the matching wrap that goes with it.
8/8/05 8:06 AM
potter said...
Adorable! Adorable! Adorable! I've been wanting to sew a swimsuit and but have felt so intimidated by it - you have inspired me to try it. Could you tell me, did you line your suit? It looks like you and I have similar shapes - did you have to make any adjustments in the bum? Very pretty - TFS!
8/8/05 9:16 AM
SueV said...
Very nice Sherrill, with all us making swimsuits this year, maybe we should get together and have a swim party! um.... I wonder if my sister would let me "borrow" her pool and backyard! -- Just no cameras!
8/8/05 10:37 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a great-looking suit, Sherril!
8/8/05 6:26 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Potter, I didn't line the suit except for the bra and crotch. I didn't make any pattern adjustments except to shorten the front 1" at the front shoulder.
8/8/05 9:10 PM
KarenP said...
Very nice! Maybe I should bite the bullet and try a swimsuit. What fabric did you use for the shelf bra and crotch lining?
8/9/05 2:28 PM
Sherril Miller said...
KarenP, I just used a swimsuit lining fabric I got from Buttons & Bolts in Tucson, AZ. I've had it in my stash for about 5 years.
8/9/05 8:26 PM
brrmm said...
Hi - another swimsuit maker, yay! I make all my family's togs (as we call them here) and swimshirts. Have trouble getting patterned lycra here in Australia though. Your togs look great and I love the wrap. Think I'll do a wrap next too.
11/5/05 9:30 PM
Ann Clark said...
I,also, have sloping shoulders. What if you crossed the straps from the shoulders and made the back higher?
6/2/06 10:38 PM
CSM--Carla said...
You have actually talked me into making my first swimsuit. This pattern is on my list!! Thank you for this excellent review!! Carla
9/30/06 0:02 AM
synchro mom said...
I was looking for a pattern for my daughter but this looks like something I would make for myself.
11/28/06 5:34 PM
biochemistress said...
I like your suit modification with the straps in the back! I made this too, except with view A, and I wish I would have thought of that! I make wraps for all my suits from the same pattern you did as well! I use the serger though; take time to figure out that elastic foot, it does save time (and elastic) once you get the hang of it! Great job on both suits!
6/27/08 8:07 AM
DOMESTICATEDMENNONITE said...
thanks for telling us that you preferred using a regular machine, and for the way you handled the missing instructions dillemma
12/11/09 2:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Kwik Sew 2971 Blanket, Bibs
photo
Review by spankachut... on 3/27/11
Read Review

Moss Mini Skirt
Moss Mini Skirt

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6660
photo
Review by Poppycat22... on 1/16/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3664 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3664 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1733 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1733 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us