SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3064 (Misses Swimsuits)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1989 times 
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 139
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 186 people
patterns reviewed: 128
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/7/05 3:25 PM
Last Updated:8/7/05 3:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DOMESTICATEDMENNONITE said...
thanks for telling us that you preferred using a regular machine, and for the way you handled the missing instructions dillemma
12/11/09 2:54 PM
biochemistress said...
I like your suit modification with the straps in the back! I made this too, except with view A, and I wish I would have thought of that! I make wraps for all my suits from the same pattern you did as well! I use the serger though; take time to figure out that elastic foot, it does save time (and elastic) once you get the hang of it! Great job on both suits!
6/27/08 8:07 AM
synchro mom said...
I was looking for a pattern for my daughter but this looks like something I would make for myself.
11/28/06 5:34 PM
CSM--Carla said...
You have actually talked me into making my first swimsuit. This pattern is on my list!! Thank you for this excellent review!! Carla
9/30/06 0:02 AM
Ann Clark said...
I,also, have sloping shoulders. What if you crossed the straps from the shoulders and made the back higher?
6/2/06 10:38 PM
brrmm said...
Hi - another swimsuit maker, yay! I make all my family's togs (as we call them here) and swimshirts. Have trouble getting patterned lycra here in Australia though. Your togs look great and I love the wrap. Think I'll do a wrap next too.
11/5/05 9:30 PM
Sherril Miller said...
KarenP, I just used a swimsuit lining fabric I got from Buttons & Bolts in Tucson, AZ. I've had it in my stash for about 5 years.
8/9/05 8:26 PM
KarenP said...
Very nice! Maybe I should bite the bullet and try a swimsuit. What fabric did you use for the shelf bra and crotch lining?
8/9/05 2:28 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Potter, I didn't line the suit except for the bra and crotch. I didn't make any pattern adjustments except to shorten the front 1" at the front shoulder.
8/8/05 9:10 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What a great-looking suit, Sherril!
8/8/05 6:26 PM
SueV said...
Very nice Sherrill, with all us making swimsuits this year, maybe we should get together and have a swim party! um.... I wonder if my sister would let me "borrow" her pool and backyard! -- Just no cameras!
8/8/05 10:37 AM
potter said...
Adorable! Adorable! Adorable! I've been wanting to sew a swimsuit and but have felt so intimidated by it - you have inspired me to try it. Could you tell me, did you line your suit? It looks like you and I have similar shapes - did you have to make any adjustments in the bum? Very pretty - TFS!
8/8/05 9:16 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great swimsuit! And I love the matching wrap that goes with it.
8/8/05 8:06 AM
cmarie12 said...
Sherril, both swimsuits are great! I agree that you have wonderful legs and should show them off! Thanks so much for 2 great reviews!
8/8/05 8:00 AM
hongkongshopper said...
And so you should show off those legs! They look great. Both suits are very flattering and I especially like the fabric of this set. Thanks for modelling:)
8/8/05 5:39 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great detail. You really have the hang of this. Both suits look good to me.
8/7/05 6:56 PM
BjP said...
Very nice, Sherril. I really like the wrap, too. Good review and a lovely job on both suits.
8/7/05 6:45 PM
touran said...
Very nice. I have the pattern also. I'm glad it came out so well (with all your extra work!).
8/7/05 6:19 PM
Linda E. said...
Great looking suit I you have been busy making swim wear. One of these days maybe I will attempt it.
8/7/05 6:14 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Great work and inspiration, Sherril, thank you.
8/7/05 4:53 PM
Skye said...
Great looking swimwear. I use a 3 thread serger stitch when sewing swimwear. 2 needles and lower looper my machine comes witha cover for the upper looper. The tension is increased a tad in the lower lopper - the resulting stitch has a lot more stretch than the usual 4 thread. I really love the wrap skirt idea roll on our summer :)
8/7/05 4:36 PM
drsue said...
I think you are right about the serger issues. Your suit is really nice.
8/7/05 4:06 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Both swimsuits look great and if I had legs like yours I would be showing them off too. Very nice suit.
8/7/05 3:57 PM
Jackie V said...
Your swimsuit looks great on you. I made 3 swimsuits for my grandaughter using a Kwiksew pattern. She loved them. I can't see spending big bucks on swimsuits as they take such a little bit of fabric and not much trouble to sew.
8/7/05 3:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Other B 4389 & Burda 2010-03-10

photo
by: Skaapie

Review
McCall's 6435

photo
by: KatC83

Review
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now