SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4541 

7 more reviews
Viewed 1277 times 
Reviewed by:Tonia Van Dyk
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Tonia Van Dykstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/14/02
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/8/05 8:06 PM
Last Updated:8/8/05 8:12 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Very pretty top, thanks for posting the review.
8/8/05 9:23 PM
Levone said...
Cute top despite your frustrations with it.
8/8/05 10:06 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Well, it worked out in the end. The simplicity of it is its charm.
8/8/05 10:29 PM
jemgirlca said...
Cute top!! Sorry you had so much trouble with the piping. The contrast looks great.
8/8/05 10:33 PM
jlg said...
Sorry for all of your frustration, but when I saw the picture before reading the review, I said to myself I have to get this.
8/9/05 5:23 AM
Kathryn said...
I love the top with the skirt, Tonia. You have a wonderful eye for line and form. Even though the top was frustrating to you in the construction process, it looks wonderful on your dressform. One would never know.
8/9/05 8:38 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Where your top and enjoy. Think of your experience as a free sewing lesson.:) I had the same impression as the rest, your top looked so good I wanted to read the review.
8/9/05 10:36 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Thanks everyone for your comments. I'm almost positive it was the fact that I was sewing while incredibly tired that this top was so frustrating. I actually wore this top today, ensuring I put it on *before* I did my makeup, and I will have to take my makeup off before I take my shirt off, but it really completed the outfit. I did have quite a few compliments on it at the office, and I didn't repeat my tale of woe once. I think I may make this again, and perhaps even attempt the neckline/crossover closure again. But, I will try with a band of contrasting fabric rather than the piping. ;} The rest of the fit sure is nice!
8/9/05 8:45 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
That is one great looking top! Thank you for your review, despite the issues with the piping.
8/10/05 3:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2013-15

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
Burda 7143

photo
by: artisticam...

Review

Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Buy Now