SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4541 

7 more reviews
Viewed 1277 times 
Reviewed by:Tonia Van Dyk
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Tonia Van Dykstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/14/02
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/8/05 8:06 PM
Last Updated:8/8/05 8:12 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Very pretty top, thanks for posting the review.
8/8/05 9:23 PM
Levone said...
Cute top despite your frustrations with it.
8/8/05 10:06 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Well, it worked out in the end. The simplicity of it is its charm.
8/8/05 10:29 PM
jemgirlca said...
Cute top!! Sorry you had so much trouble with the piping. The contrast looks great.
8/8/05 10:33 PM
jlg said...
Sorry for all of your frustration, but when I saw the picture before reading the review, I said to myself I have to get this.
8/9/05 5:23 AM
Kathryn said...
I love the top with the skirt, Tonia. You have a wonderful eye for line and form. Even though the top was frustrating to you in the construction process, it looks wonderful on your dressform. One would never know.
8/9/05 8:38 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Where your top and enjoy. Think of your experience as a free sewing lesson.:) I had the same impression as the rest, your top looked so good I wanted to read the review.
8/9/05 10:36 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Thanks everyone for your comments. I'm almost positive it was the fact that I was sewing while incredibly tired that this top was so frustrating. I actually wore this top today, ensuring I put it on *before* I did my makeup, and I will have to take my makeup off before I take my shirt off, but it really completed the outfit. I did have quite a few compliments on it at the office, and I didn't repeat my tale of woe once. I think I may make this again, and perhaps even attempt the neckline/crossover closure again. But, I will try with a band of contrasting fabric rather than the piping. ;} The rest of the fit sure is nice!
8/9/05 8:45 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
That is one great looking top! Thank you for your review, despite the issues with the piping.
8/10/05 3:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Buy Now