SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 8715 (Renaissance Costume)

Viewed 1199 times 
Reviewed by:KarlaRose
photo

 
 
About KarlaRose
ID USA
Member since: 8/1/02
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/02 3:09 PM
Last Updated:8/29/02 3:33 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Karla - very interesting review!.... Iíve been wondering how these well these patterns work up. Sounds like they could be used for Bridal. Also, on your boning insertion method - that's a couture technique and bravo to you for adding it intuitively! You didn't specify what kind of boning you used, but I can highly recommend spiral steel boning. I used it on a recent wedding gown. Itís great stuff, very comfortable, and it moves in all directions (even sideways, unlike plastic boning.) It's not expensive, and it has the benefit of adding weight to the gown, which helps balance the bodice with the much heavier skirt.
8/29/02 3:33 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I used the cheapo plastic boning from Jo-Anne's (the only non-quilt fabric shop in my area). I did carefully round off the edges with a nail file so they wouldn't snag the fabric. I do agree that for a 'serious' garment, you would probably want to use steel boning--if I had a local source I'd have used it, but was too impatient to wait for mail order!
8/29/02 3:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This sounds like it was a fun project to work on. Would love to see the pics of it. I love working on fancies and costumes...
8/29/02 7:26 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Georgia said...
It looks like there is a princess seam on the front portion of the bodice. Did you use canvas as the inner layer to stiffen up the bodice or did you just use another layer of muslin? I would think the canvas material wouldn't go well with the curve on the bodice front. I wonder if the front of this bodice can be manipulated to have a flat front to give support... or do you think this bodice gives enough support that they would push the bust up for a real "renfair" look?
8/29/05 5:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

New Look 6943

photo
by: Salymander...

Review

Pattern

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Buy Now