SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 8715 (Renaissance Costume)

Viewed 1205 times 
Reviewed by:KarlaRose
photo

 
 
About KarlaRose
ID USA
Member since: 8/1/02
Reviews: 4 (patterns: 4)
Skill level:Intermediate
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/02 3:09 PM
Last Updated:8/29/02 3:33 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgia said... (8/29/05 5:05 PM) Reply
It looks like there is a princess seam on the front portion of the bodice. Did you use canvas as the inner layer to stiffen up the bodice or did you just use another layer of muslin? I would think the canvas material wouldn't go well with the curve on the bodice front. I wonder if the front of this bodice can be manipulated to have a flat front to give support... or do you think this bodice gives enough support that they would push the bust up for a real "renfair" look?
said... (8/29/02 7:26 PM) Reply
This sounds like it was a fun project to work on. Would love to see the pics of it. I love working on fancies and costumes...
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (8/29/02 3:43 PM) Reply
I used the cheapo plastic boning from Jo-Anne's (the only non-quilt fabric shop in my area). I did carefully round off the edges with a nail file so they wouldn't snag the fabric. I do agree that for a 'serious' garment, you would probably want to use steel boning--if I had a local source I'd have used it, but was too impatient to wait for mail order!
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (8/29/02 3:33 PM) Reply
Karla - very interesting review!.... Iíve been wondering how these well these patterns work up. Sounds like they could be used for Bridal. Also, on your boning insertion method - that's a couture technique and bravo to you for adding it intuitively! You didn't specify what kind of boning you used, but I can highly recommend spiral steel boning. I used it on a recent wedding gown. Itís great stuff, very comfortable, and it moves in all directions (even sideways, unlike plastic boning.) It's not expensive, and it has the benefit of adding weight to the gown, which helps balance the bodice with the much heavier skirt.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

McCall's 6103

photo
by: Futuralon

Review
McCall's 6515

photo
by: vflinn

Review
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Pattern Details