SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6079 (Misses Shirts and Pant)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1162 times 
Reviewed by:KarenP
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KarenPstar
NV USA
Member since: 8/19/02
Reviews written: 43
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/10/05 4:37 PM
Last Updated:8/10/05 4:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewsue said...
Lovely shirt. Hard to believe it's your first attempt! Thanks also for the discussion about fitting, I too have this problem with arms and I had never thought of doing a round upper back adjustment. Thanks for the advice and the discussion.
8/11/05 5:32 PM
Elemenopeo said...
This is a fantastic first blouse. Way to go!
8/11/05 12:01 PM
ryan's mom said...
Your blouse looks great, and your first time??? Hard to believe by looking at your pic. As for the armhole pull, I get this too. Your armhole doesn't appear too low so it's hard to say. On second glass at your front pic, I do see folds in the front near the armhole, above the side of the boobs. Yes, this could be a "bust okay but armhole still gaps" in the FFRP book. I'm just speculating though, since I far from being a fitting guru.
8/11/05 6:34 AM
KarenP said...
Thanks for the compliments and suggestions! Debbie and Mini - I think you are on to something re the round upper back adj. I have contemplated doing one but haven't tried it yet (I was in denial about needing it). I certainly will give it a try. Vonnevo - I think I would be happier with a little more ease in the sleeve, so next time I will cut and spread it a bit.
8/11/05 0:28 AM
Ann Smith said...
A wonderful job done. I can't believe this is your first blouse. It looks great.
8/11/05 0:03 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your top looks great on you! Thanks for the very helpful review.
8/10/05 11:19 PM
Mini said...
Congrats on a lovely, flattering blouse. Based on your side view, I would vote for a rounded upper back adjustment as Debbie says. Fortunately, this is covered in FFRP, and it's easy to do. You could give it a try on your pattern tissue first to see if it helps.
8/10/05 9:32 PM
Karla Kizer said...
The fit of the front looks wonderful. Just stand there and don't move or raise your arms; it will be fine. ;-) I wouldn't go up a size; the shoulder fit looks too good and a larger size would start to look too roomy. On my DD's shirts, I cheat. I trace 1/2 size larger for the back, and ease it to fit at the shoulders. When I trace the sleeves and collar, I make the size transition at the shoulder and just smooth the cutting lines. For casual styles, it seems to work just fine, and is the easiest way to give her a little more width and length in the upper back. The stretch fabric idea will add a little more forgiveness, too. Love your shirt!
8/10/05 9:09 PM
elizat said...
I think you look great in your blouse. It's obvious that you took the time to really make it fit you. But I think the best part is your proud smile that you wear so well in your pic.
8/10/05 8:39 PM
Vonnevo said...
Karen, this looks very stylish. I dont think you need the next size though. If I may make a suggestion..you could try using a fabric with a little spandex/elastane, which might give you that extra ease you are wanting. Also perhaps cut and spread the sleeve a little to give you some extra ease around your arm. This would be an easy adjustment and may stop that arm pull.
8/10/05 6:50 PM
diane s said...
The fit is great, you should be proud of yourself!
8/10/05 6:43 PM
jlg said...
This looks very nice on you. The collar, in particular, looks very nicely done.
8/10/05 6:10 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I think your blouse looks GREAT!! But since you asked about fitting stuff, here's what I'm thinking ... it looks like you need to do a round upper back adj, not a broad back adj. Hard to tell definitively since I can't see the back. To me it looks like the blouse is pulling down from your neck/shoulders, making you think there's not enough room in the back but what it probably is is there's not enough length to go over your rounded shoulders. Clear as mud? ;-)
8/10/05 5:18 PM
jacalhoun said...
Wow! Great job, Karen. I, too, like wearing short-sleeved blouses. I've got one mostly perfected, but it still needs a bit of tweaking. It's so nice to put the effort into perfecting the fit of a pattern and having it work so well! Great top!
8/10/05 5:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

PR Member's Pattern 281988-1004

photo
by: meggipeg

Review
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6605

photo
by: SteffieMar...

Review

Pattern