SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4486 (Making History)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1299 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 244
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 87 people
patterns reviewed: 225
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/18/05 0:19 AM
Last Updated:8/18/05 0:19 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
honeydew said...
I had the same problem with the front,glad it was not just me...I paid $4 for the material so I just gave it up...It was for my husband as it was simular to a shirt I got in mexico...I Made A...I ordered a pattern 3250 kwik sew which is more like the mexico shirt.
10/16/07 10:14 AM
AnneM said...
Great outfits. Amazing you were able to keep up the pirate speak for the whole review! I think I would have fizzled out. I was just watching some of Pirates of the Carribean; you'd blend right in.
8/28/05 8:09 PM
MaryBeth said...
Aiieee, ye be a deary un, girlie, ye do.
8/19/05 8:01 AM
redhead said...
Hilarious, and great looking results!
8/19/05 6:54 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Gigi, I had the same thought when I was sewing these shirts and actually meant to mention it in the review and forgot (guess I got carried away with the pirate speak). With just a little more length (and a little more ease through the hips...for me, anyway) this pattern would make a really neat romantical nightgown! It would be easy to substitute lace for the self-fabric ruffles...
8/19/05 6:43 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Yohoho, a pirate's shirt for me! I love your shirts - they are fantastic. This would make an awesome nightshirt lengthened a little - in linen. Mmmm. Thanks for the hysterical review. Now I'm in the mood for Pirates of the Carribean. :-)
8/18/05 10:26 PM
Jill Giard said...
Great review - great pics! Thanks for the laugh - you made my day!
8/18/05 5:22 PM
Lisa Laree said...
LOL, no, Diane, 'miss of th' stake' just kind of materialized at the end of my fingers (it WAS very late and I WAS already in goof-mode) and I looked at it and though 'well, y'know, that looks plausible' and left it... The pirate talk be contagious, doncha know...
8/18/05 3:45 PM
PVA said...
Well, harty-har-har & avast ye landlubbers! 'Tis a rollicking-good time I'd be having reading all this piraty-speak! 'Tis a great review & I'd be thanking ye properly for all the bits of experience wit de details! (8^D)
8/18/05 10:28 AM
Diane E said...
Lisa, what a rip-roarin' tale, and what a fine Orlando Bloomie boy-o you have there. Is "miss of the stake" an etymological clue? Were ye a linguist in a previous incarnation? Great fun to read and inspirin' for all hallows eve, as well.
8/18/05 10:26 AM
Rustybobn said...
Tee hee! Thanks for a great review, Lisa!
8/18/05 9:00 AM
sherri2sew said...
ho,ho. or yo, ho, ho. Fun..funny..an' sharp lookin' pirates ye be, too.
8/18/05 8:53 AM
Annika said...
Shiver me timbers - these be fine piratey shirts, and a welcome review of said! Ain't Wal-Marts a wolloping window-blind of a place to be findin' bargains!Arrrgh!
8/18/05 8:52 AM
Susan Dryer said...
What a fun read! Great shirts! Thanks.
8/18/05 7:17 AM
Meguiar said...
Love the review - and the shirts look great!
8/18/05 7:10 AM
PegL said...
Ahoy indeed! Cute shirts and fun review!
8/18/05 5:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Butterick 5681

photo
by: CTBarb

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

More Info