SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4486 (Making History)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1330 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
Friend of PR

About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 250 (patterns: 231)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 92 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/18/05 0:19 AM
Last Updated:8/18/05 0:19 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
honeydew said... (10/16/07 10:14 AM) Reply
I had the same problem with the front,glad it was not just me...I paid $4 for the material so I just gave it up...It was for my husband as it was simular to a shirt I got in mexico...I Made A...I ordered a pattern 3250 kwik sew which is more like the mexico shirt.
AnneM said... (8/28/05 8:09 PM) Reply
Great outfits. Amazing you were able to keep up the pirate speak for the whole review! I think I would have fizzled out. I was just watching some of Pirates of the Carribean; you'd blend right in.
MaryBeth said... (8/19/05 8:01 AM) Reply
Aiieee, ye be a deary un, girlie, ye do.
redhead said... (8/19/05 6:54 AM) Reply
Hilarious, and great looking results!
Lisa Laree said... (8/19/05 6:43 AM) Reply
Gigi, I had the same thought when I was sewing these shirts and actually meant to mention it in the review and forgot (guess I got carried away with the pirate speak). With just a little more length (and a little more ease through the hips...for me, anyway) this pattern would make a really neat romantical nightgown! It would be easy to substitute lace for the self-fabric ruffles...
Gigi Louis said... (8/18/05 10:26 PM) Reply
Yohoho, a pirate's shirt for me! I love your shirts - they are fantastic. This would make an awesome nightshirt lengthened a little - in linen. Mmmm. Thanks for the hysterical review. Now I'm in the mood for Pirates of the Carribean. :-)
Jill Giard said... (8/18/05 5:22 PM) Reply
Great review - great pics! Thanks for the laugh - you made my day!
Lisa Laree said... (8/18/05 3:45 PM) Reply
LOL, no, Diane, 'miss of th' stake' just kind of materialized at the end of my fingers (it WAS very late and I WAS already in goof-mode) and I looked at it and though 'well, y'know, that looks plausible' and left it... The pirate talk be contagious, doncha know...
PVA said... (8/18/05 10:28 AM) Reply
Well, harty-har-har & avast ye landlubbers! 'Tis a rollicking-good time I'd be having reading all this piraty-speak! 'Tis a great review & I'd be thanking ye properly for all the bits of experience wit de details! (8^D)
Diane E said... (8/18/05 10:26 AM) Reply
Lisa, what a rip-roarin' tale, and what a fine Orlando Bloomie boy-o you have there. Is "miss of the stake" an etymological clue? Were ye a linguist in a previous incarnation? Great fun to read and inspirin' for all hallows eve, as well.
Rustybobn said... (8/18/05 9:00 AM) Reply
Tee hee! Thanks for a great review, Lisa!
sherri2sew said... (8/18/05 8:53 AM) Reply
ho,ho. or yo, ho, ho.' sharp lookin' pirates ye be, too.
Annika said... (8/18/05 8:52 AM) Reply
Shiver me timbers - these be fine piratey shirts, and a welcome review of said! Ain't Wal-Marts a wolloping window-blind of a place to be findin' bargains!Arrrgh!
Susan Dryer said... (8/18/05 7:17 AM) Reply
What a fun read! Great shirts! Thanks.
Meguiar said... (8/18/05 7:10 AM) Reply
Love the review - and the shirts look great!
PegL said... (8/18/05 5:14 AM) Reply
Ahoy indeed! Cute shirts and fun review!
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Class Details

Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

McCall's 6700

by: Berniejh

Simplicity 1615

by: mrsm

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Pattern Details