Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05/2004 tiered dress (peasant skirt sundress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1075 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:pharmercoon
photo
About pharmercoonstar
MS USA
Member since: 4/5/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/05 10:50 AM
Last Updated:8/19/05 10:50 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
What a terrific save! Your original sketch looks so delightful....who would have thought it would look so different in reality.
8/19/05 11:00 AM
touran said...
The skirt with the trim is gorgeous. I was looking at this pattern and wondering... But if it looks like that on your lovely figure, I'll be glad to give it a pass. But the skirt is really very pretty.
8/19/05 11:57 AM
Izzie said...
Very clever way to use this pattern, your skirt turned out cute. I too tried this pattern, also sucked in by the description. I only made the top half, thinking it would make a cute top, well, it was so horrible that I didn't even take a picture! I used a semi-drapey, rayon, twill so I don't know if your fabric choice made that much of a difference. My DH said it looked like I was wearing a shower curtain...gotta love that honesty!
8/19/05 11:59 AM
CarolynGM said...
Excellent save, Pharmercoon. The skirt looks great with that trim.
8/19/05 12:05 PM
ladylola said...
Great skirt! Love your trim idea!
8/19/05 12:24 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Terrific outfit!
8/19/05 12:27 PM
Kathryn said...
This might just win the "Patternreview Save of the Year" award, Kay. If Deepika actually runs such a contest, you'll get my vote! :-) The skirt turned out great, and the crocheted trim is a stroke of genius. You're a Boho Babe all the way in this outfit!
8/19/05 2:58 PM
ktsews2 said...
wow! Just goes to show...you can make a silk purse from a sows ear. What a great save! Your dress is lovely.
8/19/05 3:20 PM
bunz said...
Great save! It looks terrific as a skirt. I wonder if the problem w the dress was really the fabric........... I think partly the design.
8/19/05 5:02 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow! What a great save! I was sitting here wondering why how I missed such a fabulous skirt in WOF - now I know!
8/19/05 5:36 PM
Hilary said...
The skirt turned out wonderful!! That's a lotta trouble for a skirt, but it's great that you made your wadder work :o) always a good feeling!
8/19/05 5:48 PM
Lori V said...
What a save, great looking skirt
8/19/05 8:46 PM
quiltsammon said...
I love the skirt, especially the trim! Good Save!
8/19/05 9:24 PM
Fran G said...
Wow! As others have said, what a great save! I love the skirt made so different with your great trim. You have vision! And a great sense of humor!
8/20/05 6:23 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You should be very proud of how it turned out. What a great save. Looks great with the top.
8/20/05 7:37 AM
SandraB said...
Very nice. Great way to salvage a wadder. You are so creative.
8/22/05 1:32 PM
sew_so_hub said...
A very nice salvage job. A peasant skirt is not easy because of the tiers, but yours turned out very nice. Also, the twist top matches perfectly.
2/1/06 7:24 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Great save indeed! Wonderful inspiration for the dress at the beginning, though. Maybe there is a way you can tweak the remnants of the top in to something workable?
2/2/06 12:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Burda 8438 Dress
photo
Review by Pinkytoo on 3/17/13
Read Review

PerfectFuse Light Black
PerfectFuse Light Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6421
photo
Review by sewamazin on 4/20/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3688 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3688 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1647 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1647 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us