SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05/2004 tiered dress (peasant skirt sundress)

Viewed 1075 times 
Reviewed by:pharmercoon
photo

 
 
About pharmercoonstar
MS USA
Member since: 4/5/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/05 10:50 AM
Last Updated:8/19/05 10:50 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lorna C. Newman said...
Great save indeed! Wonderful inspiration for the dress at the beginning, though. Maybe there is a way you can tweak the remnants of the top in to something workable?
2/2/06 12:19 PM
sew_so_hub said...
A very nice salvage job. A peasant skirt is not easy because of the tiers, but yours turned out very nice. Also, the twist top matches perfectly.
2/1/06 7:24 PM
SandraB said...
Very nice. Great way to salvage a wadder. You are so creative.
8/22/05 1:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
You should be very proud of how it turned out. What a great save. Looks great with the top.
8/20/05 7:37 AM
Fran G said...
Wow! As others have said, what a great save! I love the skirt made so different with your great trim. You have vision! And a great sense of humor!
8/20/05 6:23 AM
quiltsammon said...
I love the skirt, especially the trim! Good Save!
8/19/05 9:24 PM
Lori V said...
What a save, great looking skirt
8/19/05 8:46 PM
Hilary said...
The skirt turned out wonderful!! That's a lotta trouble for a skirt, but it's great that you made your wadder work :o) always a good feeling!
8/19/05 5:48 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow! What a great save! I was sitting here wondering why how I missed such a fabulous skirt in WOF - now I know!
8/19/05 5:36 PM
bunz said...
Great save! It looks terrific as a skirt. I wonder if the problem w the dress was really the fabric........... I think partly the design.
8/19/05 5:02 PM
ktsews2 said...
wow! Just goes to show...you can make a silk purse from a sows ear. What a great save! Your dress is lovely.
8/19/05 3:20 PM
Kathryn said...
This might just win the "Patternreview Save of the Year" award, Kay. If Deepika actually runs such a contest, you'll get my vote! :-) The skirt turned out great, and the crocheted trim is a stroke of genius. You're a Boho Babe all the way in this outfit!
8/19/05 2:58 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Terrific outfit!
8/19/05 12:27 PM
ladylola said...
Great skirt! Love your trim idea!
8/19/05 12:24 PM
CarolynGM said...
Excellent save, Pharmercoon. The skirt looks great with that trim.
8/19/05 12:05 PM
Izzie said...
Very clever way to use this pattern, your skirt turned out cute. I too tried this pattern, also sucked in by the description. I only made the top half, thinking it would make a cute top, well, it was so horrible that I didn't even take a picture! I used a semi-drapey, rayon, twill so I don't know if your fabric choice made that much of a difference. My DH said it looked like I was wearing a shower curtain...gotta love that honesty!
8/19/05 11:59 AM
touran said...
The skirt with the trim is gorgeous. I was looking at this pattern and wondering... But if it looks like that on your lovely figure, I'll be glad to give it a pass. But the skirt is really very pretty.
8/19/05 11:57 AM
Ann Smith said...
What a terrific save! Your original sketch looks so delightful....who would have thought it would look so different in reality.
8/19/05 11:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Suitability 4188

photo
by: Jupiter, F...

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now