SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05/2004 tiered dress (peasant skirt sundress)

Viewed 1075 times 
Reviewed by:pharmercoon
photo

 
 
About pharmercoonstar
MS USA
Member since: 4/5/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/05 10:50 AM
Last Updated:8/19/05 10:50 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
What a terrific save! Your original sketch looks so delightful....who would have thought it would look so different in reality.
8/19/05 11:00 AM
touran said...
The skirt with the trim is gorgeous. I was looking at this pattern and wondering... But if it looks like that on your lovely figure, I'll be glad to give it a pass. But the skirt is really very pretty.
8/19/05 11:57 AM
Izzie said...
Very clever way to use this pattern, your skirt turned out cute. I too tried this pattern, also sucked in by the description. I only made the top half, thinking it would make a cute top, well, it was so horrible that I didn't even take a picture! I used a semi-drapey, rayon, twill so I don't know if your fabric choice made that much of a difference. My DH said it looked like I was wearing a shower curtain...gotta love that honesty!
8/19/05 11:59 AM
CarolynGM said...
Excellent save, Pharmercoon. The skirt looks great with that trim.
8/19/05 12:05 PM
ladylola said...
Great skirt! Love your trim idea!
8/19/05 12:24 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Terrific outfit!
8/19/05 12:27 PM
Kathryn said...
This might just win the "Patternreview Save of the Year" award, Kay. If Deepika actually runs such a contest, you'll get my vote! :-) The skirt turned out great, and the crocheted trim is a stroke of genius. You're a Boho Babe all the way in this outfit!
8/19/05 2:58 PM
ktsews2 said...
wow! Just goes to show...you can make a silk purse from a sows ear. What a great save! Your dress is lovely.
8/19/05 3:20 PM
bunz said...
Great save! It looks terrific as a skirt. I wonder if the problem w the dress was really the fabric........... I think partly the design.
8/19/05 5:02 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow! What a great save! I was sitting here wondering why how I missed such a fabulous skirt in WOF - now I know!
8/19/05 5:36 PM
Hilary said...
The skirt turned out wonderful!! That's a lotta trouble for a skirt, but it's great that you made your wadder work :o) always a good feeling!
8/19/05 5:48 PM
Lori V said...
What a save, great looking skirt
8/19/05 8:46 PM
quiltsammon said...
I love the skirt, especially the trim! Good Save!
8/19/05 9:24 PM
Fran G said...
Wow! As others have said, what a great save! I love the skirt made so different with your great trim. You have vision! And a great sense of humor!
8/20/05 6:23 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You should be very proud of how it turned out. What a great save. Looks great with the top.
8/20/05 7:37 AM
SandraB said...
Very nice. Great way to salvage a wadder. You are so creative.
8/22/05 1:32 PM
sew_so_hub said...
A very nice salvage job. A peasant skirt is not easy because of the tiers, but yours turned out very nice. Also, the twist top matches perfectly.
2/1/06 7:24 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Great save indeed! Wonderful inspiration for the dress at the beginning, though. Maybe there is a way you can tweak the remnants of the top in to something workable?
2/2/06 12:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Kwik Sew 3142

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: AlyssaJS

Review
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now