Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3087 (Tunics and pants) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 2698 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Mini
photo
About Ministarstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 3/21/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/02 5:17 PM
Last Updated:11/19/03 2:41 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
As always a very helpful review Mini. The dark green color really suits you and I love the whole outfit.
8/31/02 6:05 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hmmm, you saw the photo, Deepika? I got an error whenI clicked on it.
8/31/02 6:57 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Deepika. I decided to use that nasty rayon because I love this color:)! I bough enough of it to make a matching Loes Hinse kimono jacket. I really like the way the long version turned out, so I will do it again with nicer fabric.
8/31/02 7:53 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I cannot see the pic's either, but reading your review this sound like a good pattern, BTW I was browsing thru some old reviews and found your Salwar Kameez pic's, boy are they great!!!!
9/1/02 3:11 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks, Marita. I think the salwar kameez sets are the most fun to sew and wear. With a longer tunic, this pattern could be a good basis for a s.k. outfit.
9/1/02 2:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
marya said...
Mini, your reviews are amazing. Thank you so much for all the time you put into them! One question: When you raise the armhole by 2 inches, how do you compensate for the change in the sleeve circumference?
7/18/03 10:20 PM
Mini said...
Marya, I forgot to mention that the sleeve is changed by the same amount as the armhole. There are several different ways to make this change, but I will just mention the most common. (Some pattern companies print this info on their patterns, some don't. )The standard way is to make a horizontal tuck across the front and back of the pattern's armhole to remove excess length. Then you do the same across the sleeve cap. The curve of the sleeve cap will be distorted by the fold; you just redraw this part of the pattern to neaten it up. Then the sleeve cap will fit into the armhole just like it did before. The measurement around the arm stays the same because only the sleeve cap has been altered. This adjustment shortens the whole length of the body and sleeve, so if you want to keep the garment's original length just add it back to the bottom. It's hard to explain this without pictures, but there are lots of good fitting books that have illustrations showing how to do this.
7/19/03 11:55 AM
Skymom said...
Mini, I think your assessment of this tunic is extremely astute, and very helpful to anyone who sews. Esp. beginners, who think they're going to have fun with that first, "easy" garment, and are discouraged by the disappointing fit you so expertly describe. You know what's funny, though? I have very narrow (and flexible) shoulders and a very small bust--turns out I can squirm into practically anything, as long as it's as big as my ribs. I can't get back out, though! But what's with the evil crinkle?! I think it actually looks pretty good in this top!
11/19/03 2:48 PM
Celeste said...
Very educational review. Thanks.
11/19/03 3:38 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Marvelous analysis, Mimi. I completely agree with everything you said. -Ann
11/19/03 3:38 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Whoops! Sorry, typo - I meant "Mini"!
11/19/03 3:39 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Very informative comments, Mini - thank you.
11/20/03 3:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Burda 6912 Dresses
photo
Review by Cant Decid... on 4/5/14
Read Review

McCalls 5550 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )
McCalls 5550 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6026 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 6026 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9780
photo
Review by KarmenG on 3/9/07
Read Review

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us