SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3087 (Tunics and pants)

Viewed 2707 times 
Reviewed by:Mini
photo

 
 
About Ministarstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 3/21/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/02 5:17 PM
Last Updated:11/19/03 2:41 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jennie Pakula said...
Very informative comments, Mini - thank you.
11/20/03 3:23 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Whoops! Sorry, typo - I meant "Mini"!
11/19/03 3:39 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Marvelous analysis, Mimi. I completely agree with everything you said. -Ann
11/19/03 3:38 PM
Celeste said...
Very educational review. Thanks.
11/19/03 3:38 PM
Skymom said...
Mini, I think your assessment of this tunic is extremely astute, and very helpful to anyone who sews. Esp. beginners, who think they're going to have fun with that first, "easy" garment, and are discouraged by the disappointing fit you so expertly describe. You know what's funny, though? I have very narrow (and flexible) shoulders and a very small bust--turns out I can squirm into practically anything, as long as it's as big as my ribs. I can't get back out, though! But what's with the evil crinkle?! I think it actually looks pretty good in this top!
11/19/03 2:48 PM
Mini said...
Marya, I forgot to mention that the sleeve is changed by the same amount as the armhole. There are several different ways to make this change, but I will just mention the most common. (Some pattern companies print this info on their patterns, some don't. )The standard way is to make a horizontal tuck across the front and back of the pattern's armhole to remove excess length. Then you do the same across the sleeve cap. The curve of the sleeve cap will be distorted by the fold; you just redraw this part of the pattern to neaten it up. Then the sleeve cap will fit into the armhole just like it did before. The measurement around the arm stays the same because only the sleeve cap has been altered. This adjustment shortens the whole length of the body and sleeve, so if you want to keep the garment's original length just add it back to the bottom. It's hard to explain this without pictures, but there are lots of good fitting books that have illustrations showing how to do this.
7/19/03 11:55 AM
marya said...
Mini, your reviews are amazing. Thank you so much for all the time you put into them! One question: When you raise the armhole by 2 inches, how do you compensate for the change in the sleeve circumference?
7/18/03 10:20 PM
said...
Thanks, Marita. I think the salwar kameez sets are the most fun to sew and wear. With a longer tunic, this pattern could be a good basis for a s.k. outfit.
9/1/02 2:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I cannot see the pic's either, but reading your review this sound like a good pattern, BTW I was browsing thru some old reviews and found your Salwar Kameez pic's, boy are they great!!!!
9/1/02 3:11 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Deepika. I decided to use that nasty rayon because I love this color:)! I bough enough of it to make a matching Loes Hinse kimono jacket. I really like the way the long version turned out, so I will do it again with nicer fabric.
8/31/02 7:53 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hmmm, you saw the photo, Deepika? I got an error whenI clicked on it.
8/31/02 6:57 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
As always a very helpful review Mini. The dark green color really suits you and I love the whole outfit.
8/31/02 6:05 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

McCall's 6700

photo
by: penelopey4

Review
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 4801

photo
by: mlsg

Review