SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3087 (Tunics and pants)

Viewed 2703 times 
Reviewed by:Mini
photo

 
 
About Ministarstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 3/21/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/02 5:17 PM
Last Updated:11/19/03 2:41 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
As always a very helpful review Mini. The dark green color really suits you and I love the whole outfit.
8/31/02 6:05 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hmmm, you saw the photo, Deepika? I got an error whenI clicked on it.
8/31/02 6:57 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Deepika. I decided to use that nasty rayon because I love this color:)! I bough enough of it to make a matching Loes Hinse kimono jacket. I really like the way the long version turned out, so I will do it again with nicer fabric.
8/31/02 7:53 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I cannot see the pic's either, but reading your review this sound like a good pattern, BTW I was browsing thru some old reviews and found your Salwar Kameez pic's, boy are they great!!!!
9/1/02 3:11 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks, Marita. I think the salwar kameez sets are the most fun to sew and wear. With a longer tunic, this pattern could be a good basis for a s.k. outfit.
9/1/02 2:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
marya said...
Mini, your reviews are amazing. Thank you so much for all the time you put into them! One question: When you raise the armhole by 2 inches, how do you compensate for the change in the sleeve circumference?
7/18/03 10:20 PM
Mini said...
Marya, I forgot to mention that the sleeve is changed by the same amount as the armhole. There are several different ways to make this change, but I will just mention the most common. (Some pattern companies print this info on their patterns, some don't. )The standard way is to make a horizontal tuck across the front and back of the pattern's armhole to remove excess length. Then you do the same across the sleeve cap. The curve of the sleeve cap will be distorted by the fold; you just redraw this part of the pattern to neaten it up. Then the sleeve cap will fit into the armhole just like it did before. The measurement around the arm stays the same because only the sleeve cap has been altered. This adjustment shortens the whole length of the body and sleeve, so if you want to keep the garment's original length just add it back to the bottom. It's hard to explain this without pictures, but there are lots of good fitting books that have illustrations showing how to do this.
7/19/03 11:55 AM
Skymom said...
Mini, I think your assessment of this tunic is extremely astute, and very helpful to anyone who sews. Esp. beginners, who think they're going to have fun with that first, "easy" garment, and are discouraged by the disappointing fit you so expertly describe. You know what's funny, though? I have very narrow (and flexible) shoulders and a very small bust--turns out I can squirm into practically anything, as long as it's as big as my ribs. I can't get back out, though! But what's with the evil crinkle?! I think it actually looks pretty good in this top!
11/19/03 2:48 PM
Celeste said...
Very educational review. Thanks.
11/19/03 3:38 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Marvelous analysis, Mimi. I completely agree with everything you said. -Ann
11/19/03 3:38 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Whoops! Sorry, typo - I meant "Mini"!
11/19/03 3:39 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Very informative comments, Mini - thank you.
11/20/03 3:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

No Pattern Used Gerber trainers improved

photo
by: wildbluest...

Review
Butterick 5778

photo
by: Barbara V

Review
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now