SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> New Yorker Jacket (New Yorker Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1273 times 
Reviewed by:Skymom
photo

 
 
About Skymom
IL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/02 5:53 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Out of Print Classics    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Yes, yes, post a picture! Thanks for the good review.
9/1/02 8:12 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Skymom, I'm so thrilled to read your review of this jacket. I just love it, and it's on my list of patterns to get. Thanks for the review!
9/1/02 9:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Skymom, this indeed a very helpful review! Thanks...
9/1/02 9:32 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Skymom, I think you're absolutely right about not clipping that corner until it is sewn. So much easier to clip to the corner of the stitching than it is to stitch a corner right at the clip! Thanks for the review!
9/2/02 9:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the great review. I just bought this pattern after trying on a sample and falling in love with it. Can't wait to make it!
9/3/02 0:40 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
One thing I didn't talk about is the pleat in back. It's stitching down to about shoulder-blade level or a little below; the belt wraps around the body inside the jacket, and comes out at CB, emerging from inside the pleat and continuing around to meet up with the other tie end. I left the pleat hanging free at the hem, so one half of the jacket is a little "swingy" and the other (left) half is belted. Heather shows hers with the pleat stitched together at the hem. This would help if your fabric tends to stand far out from the body, but with the fabric I chose, I thought the back of the jacket would hang oddly with the pleat closed at the hem. If you have doubts about your fabric, try the jacket on before hemming and experiment with the pleat.
9/3/02 11:53 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Skymom, it's a goodlooking jacket. :-)
9/3/02 12:47 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the review Skymom. I have been wondering how this pattern sews up.
9/4/02 5:50 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Leslie Bonner said...
I made up this pattern in a fabric I bought at Loes Hinse boutique in Carmel. It was a rayon/wool with lycra. I love the jacket although next time I would make it in a softer, drapier fabric as the one I used had a little too much substance. I tried on a New Yorker from the Sewing Workshop which was made in a soft knit and it was like a favorite sweater. I was not convinced when I saw the photo of the garment that Heather made on her site. The fabric seemed a little too bunched up - fine on her petite figure but on mine would be reminiscent of a sausage casing. It is possible to tie it loosely so the garment hangs straight without the gathering. It is a very elegant looking jacket.
12/13/02 10:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

McCall's 6401

photo
by: RebeccaMar...

Review
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now
Japanese Pattern Books Pattern Magic

photo
by: meggipeg

Review