SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> New Yorker Jacket (New Yorker Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1282 times 
Reviewed by:Skymom
photo

 
 
About Skymom
IL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/02 5:53 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Out of Print Classics    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie Bonner said...
I made up this pattern in a fabric I bought at Loes Hinse boutique in Carmel. It was a rayon/wool with lycra. I love the jacket although next time I would make it in a softer, drapier fabric as the one I used had a little too much substance. I tried on a New Yorker from the Sewing Workshop which was made in a soft knit and it was like a favorite sweater. I was not convinced when I saw the photo of the garment that Heather made on her site. The fabric seemed a little too bunched up - fine on her petite figure but on mine would be reminiscent of a sausage casing. It is possible to tie it loosely so the garment hangs straight without the gathering. It is a very elegant looking jacket.
12/13/02 10:52 PM
said...
Thanks for the review Skymom. I have been wondering how this pattern sews up.
9/4/02 5:50 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Skymom, it's a goodlooking jacket. :-)
9/3/02 12:47 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
One thing I didn't talk about is the pleat in back. It's stitching down to about shoulder-blade level or a little below; the belt wraps around the body inside the jacket, and comes out at CB, emerging from inside the pleat and continuing around to meet up with the other tie end. I left the pleat hanging free at the hem, so one half of the jacket is a little "swingy" and the other (left) half is belted. Heather shows hers with the pleat stitched together at the hem. This would help if your fabric tends to stand far out from the body, but with the fabric I chose, I thought the back of the jacket would hang oddly with the pleat closed at the hem. If you have doubts about your fabric, try the jacket on before hemming and experiment with the pleat.
9/3/02 11:53 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the great review. I just bought this pattern after trying on a sample and falling in love with it. Can't wait to make it!
9/3/02 0:40 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Skymom, I think you're absolutely right about not clipping that corner until it is sewn. So much easier to clip to the corner of the stitching than it is to stitch a corner right at the clip! Thanks for the review!
9/2/02 9:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Skymom, this indeed a very helpful review! Thanks...
9/1/02 9:32 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Skymom, I'm so thrilled to read your review of this jacket. I just love it, and it's on my list of patterns to get. Thanks for the review!
9/1/02 9:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Yes, yes, post a picture! Thanks for the good review.
9/1/02 8:12 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Butterick 5624

photo
by: Alison Cum...

Review

Pattern

Butterick B5610

photo
by: FrammaJoy

Review
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

More Info
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

More Info