Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: New Yorker Jacket (New Yorker Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1256 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Skymom
photo
About Skymom
IL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/02 5:53 PM
See other patterns in this category: Out of Print Classics    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Yes, yes, post a picture! Thanks for the good review.
9/1/02 8:12 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Skymom, I'm so thrilled to read your review of this jacket. I just love it, and it's on my list of patterns to get. Thanks for the review!
9/1/02 9:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Skymom, this indeed a very helpful review! Thanks...
9/1/02 9:32 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Skymom, I think you're absolutely right about not clipping that corner until it is sewn. So much easier to clip to the corner of the stitching than it is to stitch a corner right at the clip! Thanks for the review!
9/2/02 9:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the great review. I just bought this pattern after trying on a sample and falling in love with it. Can't wait to make it!
9/3/02 0:40 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
One thing I didn't talk about is the pleat in back. It's stitching down to about shoulder-blade level or a little below; the belt wraps around the body inside the jacket, and comes out at CB, emerging from inside the pleat and continuing around to meet up with the other tie end. I left the pleat hanging free at the hem, so one half of the jacket is a little "swingy" and the other (left) half is belted. Heather shows hers with the pleat stitched together at the hem. This would help if your fabric tends to stand far out from the body, but with the fabric I chose, I thought the back of the jacket would hang oddly with the pleat closed at the hem. If you have doubts about your fabric, try the jacket on before hemming and experiment with the pleat.
9/3/02 11:53 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Skymom, it's a goodlooking jacket. :-)
9/3/02 12:47 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the review Skymom. I have been wondering how this pattern sews up.
9/4/02 5:50 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Leslie Bonner said...
I made up this pattern in a fabric I bought at Loes Hinse boutique in Carmel. It was a rayon/wool with lycra. I love the jacket although next time I would make it in a softer, drapier fabric as the one I used had a little too much substance. I tried on a New Yorker from the Sewing Workshop which was made in a soft knit and it was like a favorite sweater. I was not convinced when I saw the photo of the garment that Heather made on her site. The fabric seemed a little too bunched up - fine on her petite figure but on mine would be reminiscent of a sausage casing. It is possible to tie it loosely so the garment hangs straight without the gathering. It is a very elegant looking jacket.
12/13/02 10:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Lazy Girl Designs 211 Wonder Wallet
photo
Review by Deepika on 3/8/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Mini Wardrobe May 2009
photo
Review by kal1 on 5/31/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )
Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5038 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )
McCalls 5038 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us