Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3032 (Skirt with Flounce) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1069 times 47 more reviews
Reviewed by:Skymom
photo
About Skymom
IL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/02 6:11 PM
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Formalwear    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Glad this worked for you in woven. In my knit version there are not many gathers in the waistband so I am thinking the rayon version must be looking really smashing! Photo pleaseeee!
9/1/02 9:29 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Skymom - I just bought this pattern yesterday. Thought it would look great on my DD in some glitzy fabric. How do you think the skirt would look on a "larger model"? I have some rayon calling my name!
9/1/02 9:51 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I think this skirt is perfect for anyone who wants to avoid a lot of gathers around the waist and hips, but enjoys a skirt that moves when she walks. As Deepika says, the waistband is pretty smooth, and since it's narrow, you could easily make a high-hip length top that covers the elastic if you like. I'd recommend flat-pattern measuring before cutting, esp. since KS uses those great, 1/4" seam allowances. Nice to sew, but a nuisance if you decide you need a little extra at the last minute! If I recall correctly, my skirt has about 3-4 inches of ease at the fullest part of the hips; with a drapy fabric you could easily go to 5-6 inches without gaining bulk, and have a slightly more comfortable skirt. I'd probably do that the next time around in a woven (just cut it a bit outside the previous cutting lines). However, I do have some stretch panne velvet from several years ago that's been awaiting the right pattern--this might be it. I'd like to add sleeves to the draped-neck top for a winter outfit, but don't have enough fabric for that. Drat!
9/1/02 10:55 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Skymom, a word of caution. Someone (on this site) tried the draped neck top in this pattern with sleeves and she said that it did not look very good. Kind of took away the otherwise elegant look of the pattern. The same thing happened to me when I added small cap sleeves to my Textile Studio basic dress.
9/2/02 0:21 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Deepika, That "someone" was me. I ended up using KS3032 that has a cut on sleeve and the collar from KS3036. The only thing I would do differently would be to taper the side seams for a sleeker look. Ritzy
9/2/02 1:37 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Correction!! I used KS3036 pattern for cut on sleeve with KS3032 collar.Sorry,I've had a long day.
9/2/02 1:45 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
In regards to adding sleeves, I used the sleeve pattern from the Loes Hines sweater set (the sleeve edges seemed to match up well when I compared the pattern pieces) I love it.
9/2/02 3:25 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the advice about adding sleeves to the top. Maybe the thing to do is make the sleeveless version, which I think I can manage with the amount of fabric I have, and also make some sort of nice little jacket.
9/2/02 4:41 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8489 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by heatherose... on 7/15/09
Read Review

Butterick 4136 Pattern ( Size 20-22-24 )
Butterick 4136 Pattern ( Size 20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1331 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1331 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5679 Misses' Top
photo
Review by valerie se... on 6/18/12
Read Review

Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us