SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3032 (Skirt with Flounce)

47 more reviews
Viewed 1069 times 
Reviewed by:Skymom
photo

 
 
About Skymom
IL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/1/02 6:11 PM
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Formalwear    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Thanks for the advice about adding sleeves to the top. Maybe the thing to do is make the sleeveless version, which I think I can manage with the amount of fabric I have, and also make some sort of nice little jacket.
9/2/02 4:41 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
In regards to adding sleeves, I used the sleeve pattern from the Loes Hines sweater set (the sleeve edges seemed to match up well when I compared the pattern pieces) I love it.
9/2/02 3:25 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Correction!! I used KS3036 pattern for cut on sleeve with KS3032 collar.Sorry,I've had a long day.
9/2/02 1:45 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Deepika, That "someone" was me. I ended up using KS3032 that has a cut on sleeve and the collar from KS3036. The only thing I would do differently would be to taper the side seams for a sleeker look. Ritzy
9/2/02 1:37 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Skymom, a word of caution. Someone (on this site) tried the draped neck top in this pattern with sleeves and she said that it did not look very good. Kind of took away the otherwise elegant look of the pattern. The same thing happened to me when I added small cap sleeves to my Textile Studio basic dress.
9/2/02 0:21 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I think this skirt is perfect for anyone who wants to avoid a lot of gathers around the waist and hips, but enjoys a skirt that moves when she walks. As Deepika says, the waistband is pretty smooth, and since it's narrow, you could easily make a high-hip length top that covers the elastic if you like. I'd recommend flat-pattern measuring before cutting, esp. since KS uses those great, 1/4" seam allowances. Nice to sew, but a nuisance if you decide you need a little extra at the last minute! If I recall correctly, my skirt has about 3-4 inches of ease at the fullest part of the hips; with a drapy fabric you could easily go to 5-6 inches without gaining bulk, and have a slightly more comfortable skirt. I'd probably do that the next time around in a woven (just cut it a bit outside the previous cutting lines). However, I do have some stretch panne velvet from several years ago that's been awaiting the right pattern--this might be it. I'd like to add sleeves to the draped-neck top for a winter outfit, but don't have enough fabric for that. Drat!
9/1/02 10:55 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Skymom - I just bought this pattern yesterday. Thought it would look great on my DD in some glitzy fabric. How do you think the skirt would look on a "larger model"? I have some rayon calling my name!
9/1/02 9:51 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Glad this worked for you in woven. In my knit version there are not many gathers in the waistband so I am thinking the rayon version must be looking really smashing! Photo pleaseeee!
9/1/02 9:29 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Simplicity 4275

photo
by: Renren

Review
Simplicity 2072

photo
by: heking81

Review
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

More Info
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

More Info