Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7467 (Claire Shaeffer couture jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1784 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Anne Frances
photo
Friend of PR
About Anne Francesstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/12/04
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/05 5:29 AM
Last Updated:8/29/05 5:44 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
Despite your misgivings about the pattern, your jacket came out beautifully. I agree about Vilene. The one (and only) time I used it I got lousy results. Seems like a good idea but it just doesn't work out. -Ann
8/29/05 7:10 AM
Shellia said...
Your jacket looks beautiful and the material is wonderful.
8/29/05 7:17 AM
Peggy L said...
Excellent, detailed review. The jacket looks great on you - no wonder you have gotten compliments.
8/29/05 7:21 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Wow, your jacket is really very nice. Your perserverance paid off! Good job and thanks for the detailed review.
8/29/05 8:22 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
I think that your jacket came out very nicely! I am not familiar with Cecelia Podolak's method for a notched collar, but I find that Nancy Erickson's method works for me everytime!
8/29/05 8:24 AM
Irene Q said...
Whew! I got tired just reading about all you did! But it paid off - it's a lovely jacket and a great review.
8/29/05 9:07 AM
Vonnevo said...
A lovely jacket ! Your fabric is beautiful. It's definitely a show stopper :))) Looking forward to more great reviews, now you have your personal "David Bailey"
8/29/05 9:40 AM
PVA said...
Ann, your jacket is definitely a keeper! I'm very impressed your review -- lots of very helpful construction details! I love the fabric. I also notice the sleeve-caps are eased in just beautifully! I don't doubt you'll get many compliments on this jacket, it's beautifully done! Thanks for the review.
8/29/05 10:14 AM
CSY said...
Really enjoyed reading your review. Thanks for putting in the effort. The photo of the jacket is to die for. I hope after the pain of making it subsides you take another look at it and love it. It looks fabulous in the photo.
8/29/05 10:26 AM
Diane Tucker said...
Nice review, and the jacket is very flattering. Thanks
8/29/05 1:07 PM
Tiner W said...
It's a beautiful jacket--thanks for the detailed review!
8/29/05 3:31 PM
Elona said...
Anne, sometimes the effort we put into a garment is so large and unexpected that it kind of poisons the finished product for us (I have given away a beautiful Nordic sweater knitted under hideous conditions!). However, your jacket really is lovely. It is quite becoming, and I am sure the young man who complimented you was perfectly sincere--as I would be._
8/29/05 4:52 PM
KiwiWendy said...
a marathon event with lots of extra work to 'save' the jacket. Like Elona, that poisoned me against a jacket that only I or another sewer could criticize. If you don't have a full bust, the gaposis could be cos you didn't do the horizontal adjustment. If you liked the rest of the pattern enough, you could to that adjustment along the neckline only
8/29/05 9:16 PM
gabrielle stanley said...
I have this jacket cut out but not made up, one day... I've used organza underlining for silk dupion but was disappointed to find it allowed the glue of the interfacing to strike through. More recently I used cotton lawn instead and was pleased with the results. Instead of using Vilene, I use the interfacings from English Couture Company. Must add a review of the website...
8/30/05 0:28 AM
Anne Frances said...
Thank you for all the encouraging comments. I think I am definitely giving up on Vilene! Gabrielle, I will give the English Couture Company a try - I've found their website. But I shall wear the jacket with a lot of confidence now thanks to the encouragement from all of you. Kiwi Wendy, I think you are right - I shan't leave out the horizontal adjustment again -
8/30/05 4:31 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Your first review was most helpful. Glad you wrote it. I think your jacket looks great. The fabric is very attractive.
8/30/05 5:39 AM
ryan's mom said...
Excellent review. Some day I'll try making a notched collar jacket again. Your's is so nice and your review is inspiring.
8/30/05 6:22 AM
Claire S said...
The reason there is an horizontal dart under the pocket is to straighten the grain at the seamline. On men's jackets, the dart is in the slash of the welt pocket. For this design, the patch pocket covers the dart. Claire Shaeffer
8/30/05 11:19 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Anne, I have made C. Podolaks' notched collar jacket and found it quite straightforward. She has beautifully drafted patterns. I am about your size and shape, and found I needed to take in the upper chest area. Do you tape the roll line with fusible stay tape which is cut about 1/2" or so shorter than the roll line so you ease it in a bit? I find that helps prevent gaping. Thanks for the excellent review.
9/14/05 7:23 PM
Georgene said...
Your jacket looks lovely, even though you did a lot of adjusting to the order of sewing, materials, and construction. It does seem a bit unfair to Claire Schaeffer, but I've found myself in uncharted waters so often, I can appreciate all you did to get good results.
9/14/05 11:26 PM
JDpenelope said...
What an interesting review and beautiful jacket. You seem to be getting back in full swing with your sewing. BTW, when I was young(er), I was vastly insulted if a strange man addressed me; as I got older, I was bemused. Now I am flattered!
9/28/05 12:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Butterick 5965
photo
Review by MrsCharism... on 10/30/13
Read Review

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6070
photo
Review by Amanda S. on 5/21/10
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Everyday Baskets
Everyday Baskets

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us