SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7467 (Claire Shaeffer couture jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1791 times 
Reviewed by:Anne Frances
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Anne Francesstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/12/04
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/05 5:29 AM
Last Updated:8/29/05 5:44 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
Despite your misgivings about the pattern, your jacket came out beautifully. I agree about Vilene. The one (and only) time I used it I got lousy results. Seems like a good idea but it just doesn't work out. -Ann
8/29/05 7:10 AM
Shellia said...
Your jacket looks beautiful and the material is wonderful.
8/29/05 7:17 AM
Peggy L said...
Excellent, detailed review. The jacket looks great on you - no wonder you have gotten compliments.
8/29/05 7:21 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Wow, your jacket is really very nice. Your perserverance paid off! Good job and thanks for the detailed review.
8/29/05 8:22 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
I think that your jacket came out very nicely! I am not familiar with Cecelia Podolak's method for a notched collar, but I find that Nancy Erickson's method works for me everytime!
8/29/05 8:24 AM
Irene Q said...
Whew! I got tired just reading about all you did! But it paid off - it's a lovely jacket and a great review.
8/29/05 9:07 AM
Vonnevo said...
A lovely jacket ! Your fabric is beautiful. It's definitely a show stopper :))) Looking forward to more great reviews, now you have your personal "David Bailey"
8/29/05 9:40 AM
PVA said...
Ann, your jacket is definitely a keeper! I'm very impressed your review -- lots of very helpful construction details! I love the fabric. I also notice the sleeve-caps are eased in just beautifully! I don't doubt you'll get many compliments on this jacket, it's beautifully done! Thanks for the review.
8/29/05 10:14 AM
CSY said...
Really enjoyed reading your review. Thanks for putting in the effort. The photo of the jacket is to die for. I hope after the pain of making it subsides you take another look at it and love it. It looks fabulous in the photo.
8/29/05 10:26 AM
Diane Tucker said...
Nice review, and the jacket is very flattering. Thanks
8/29/05 1:07 PM
Tiner W said...
It's a beautiful jacket--thanks for the detailed review!
8/29/05 3:31 PM
Elona said...
Anne, sometimes the effort we put into a garment is so large and unexpected that it kind of poisons the finished product for us (I have given away a beautiful Nordic sweater knitted under hideous conditions!). However, your jacket really is lovely. It is quite becoming, and I am sure the young man who complimented you was perfectly sincere--as I would be._
8/29/05 4:52 PM
KiwiWendy said...
a marathon event with lots of extra work to 'save' the jacket. Like Elona, that poisoned me against a jacket that only I or another sewer could criticize. If you don't have a full bust, the gaposis could be cos you didn't do the horizontal adjustment. If you liked the rest of the pattern enough, you could to that adjustment along the neckline only
8/29/05 9:16 PM
gabrielle stanley said...
I have this jacket cut out but not made up, one day... I've used organza underlining for silk dupion but was disappointed to find it allowed the glue of the interfacing to strike through. More recently I used cotton lawn instead and was pleased with the results. Instead of using Vilene, I use the interfacings from English Couture Company. Must add a review of the website...
8/30/05 0:28 AM
Anne Frances said...
Thank you for all the encouraging comments. I think I am definitely giving up on Vilene! Gabrielle, I will give the English Couture Company a try - I've found their website. But I shall wear the jacket with a lot of confidence now thanks to the encouragement from all of you. Kiwi Wendy, I think you are right - I shan't leave out the horizontal adjustment again -
8/30/05 4:31 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Your first review was most helpful. Glad you wrote it. I think your jacket looks great. The fabric is very attractive.
8/30/05 5:39 AM
ryan's mom said...
Excellent review. Some day I'll try making a notched collar jacket again. Your's is so nice and your review is inspiring.
8/30/05 6:22 AM
Claire S said...
The reason there is an horizontal dart under the pocket is to straighten the grain at the seamline. On men's jackets, the dart is in the slash of the welt pocket. For this design, the patch pocket covers the dart. Claire Shaeffer
8/30/05 11:19 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Anne, I have made C. Podolaks' notched collar jacket and found it quite straightforward. She has beautifully drafted patterns. I am about your size and shape, and found I needed to take in the upper chest area. Do you tape the roll line with fusible stay tape which is cut about 1/2" or so shorter than the roll line so you ease it in a bit? I find that helps prevent gaping. Thanks for the excellent review.
9/14/05 7:23 PM
Georgene said...
Your jacket looks lovely, even though you did a lot of adjusting to the order of sewing, materials, and construction. It does seem a bit unfair to Claire Schaeffer, but I've found myself in uncharted waters so often, I can appreciate all you did to get good results.
9/14/05 11:26 PM
JDpenelope said...
What an interesting review and beautiful jacket. You seem to be getting back in full swing with your sewing. BTW, when I was young(er), I was vastly insulted if a strange man addressed me; as I got older, I was bemused. Now I am flattered!
9/28/05 12:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

McCall's 6116

photo
by: pdiddly

Review
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 4610

photo
by: Lisa Gaska...

Review