SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8513 (Hipster trousers/pants)

24 more reviews
Viewed 1427 times 
Reviewed by:Tonia Van Dyk
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Tonia Van Dykstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/14/02
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/05 5:37 PM
Last Updated:9/3/05 5:37 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
Very pretty outfit! I like the fabric very much.
9/3/05 8:07 PM
jemgirlca said...
Love these pants! I have this pattern, too, but haven't perfected it yet. How and where did you apply the boning?
9/3/05 10:47 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Jemgirlca - I applied the boning (little, little strips of about 2 or 2-1/2" long) on the inside facing. The boning I used was the type with the separate casing. I snipped the actual boning a little shorter than the casing, folded the casing over the top and bottom of the boning to prevent it from moving, and then stitched the casing to the wrong side of the facing, after the facing was stitched together (side seam and centre back seam). I placed boning at the centre back, the side seam, and on each side of the zipper to add a little more support. I found that this way the facing doesn't curl or fold while I am wearing the pants. This way all you see in the finished trousers is the stitching lines (and in my case you can hardly see them at all as the fabric is tweed).
9/4/05 7:58 AM
jemgirlca said...
Thanks Tonia, good idea!
9/4/05 8:23 AM
Deepika said...
Tonia, great pants. Love the top too. What a great idea to add boning. Is it uncomfortable though when you sit down? I've made 3 of these pants now and I interface all parts of the yoke (facing too) with medium weight interfacing and I find that its pretty stable. It doesnt curl.
9/4/05 8:44 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Deepika, I wore these pants all day today. (I had to wait for a cooler day, isn't it supposed to be fall?) They are extremely comfortable. The waistband was very slimming, because it was perfect all day, no slouching, curling or buckling at all. I think I may do this in the future pairs I make. I've got about four or five pairs from this pattern already.
9/8/05 5:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Kwik Sew 3343

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Buy Now
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now