Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8513 (Hipster trousers/pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1427 times 24 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Tonia Van Dyk
photo
Friend of PR
About Tonia Van Dykstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/14/02
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/05 5:37 PM
Last Updated:9/3/05 5:37 PM


See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
Very pretty outfit! I like the fabric very much.
9/3/05 8:07 PM
jemgirlca said...
Love these pants! I have this pattern, too, but haven't perfected it yet. How and where did you apply the boning?
9/3/05 10:47 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Jemgirlca - I applied the boning (little, little strips of about 2 or 2-1/2" long) on the inside facing. The boning I used was the type with the separate casing. I snipped the actual boning a little shorter than the casing, folded the casing over the top and bottom of the boning to prevent it from moving, and then stitched the casing to the wrong side of the facing, after the facing was stitched together (side seam and centre back seam). I placed boning at the centre back, the side seam, and on each side of the zipper to add a little more support. I found that this way the facing doesn't curl or fold while I am wearing the pants. This way all you see in the finished trousers is the stitching lines (and in my case you can hardly see them at all as the fabric is tweed).
9/4/05 7:58 AM
jemgirlca said...
Thanks Tonia, good idea!
9/4/05 8:23 AM
Deepika said...
Tonia, great pants. Love the top too. What a great idea to add boning. Is it uncomfortable though when you sit down? I've made 3 of these pants now and I interface all parts of the yoke (facing too) with medium weight interfacing and I find that its pretty stable. It doesnt curl.
9/4/05 8:44 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Deepika, I wore these pants all day today. (I had to wait for a cooler day, isn't it supposed to be fall?) They are extremely comfortable. The waistband was very slimming, because it was perfect all day, no slouching, curling or buckling at all. I think I may do this in the future pairs I make. I've got about four or five pairs from this pattern already.
9/8/05 5:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Simplicity 3629
photo
Review by Princess A... on 12/5/10
Read Review

Burda 6923 Pattern
Burda 6923 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8925 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8925 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Can Make This No Tie Apron No Tie Apron
photo
Review by Pj3g on 4/5/13
Read Review

Blank Slate Pristine Swing Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Pristine Swing Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Open Toe Slingbacks Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Open Toe Slingbacks Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us