SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6429 (Surplice knit dress)

56 more reviews
Viewed 2747 times 
Reviewed by:m1khaela
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About m1khaelastarstar
NY USA
Member since: 8/19/05
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/05 0:46 AM
Last Updated:9/5/05 0:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Levone said...
I commend you for hanging in there and completing your dress...very nice colors used. I actually just threw away a wadder tee, rather than frustrating myself further. ;o)
9/5/05 1:21 AM
Peggy L said...
What wouldn't look good on your figure?!!! Great perseverance! I would ditch the facings next time and use clear elastic- easier and more RTW. Color and style looks great on you.
9/5/05 4:21 AM
Cambric Tea said...
I love your review. It's really good. As for your dress, I like it too! When I opened the picture I thought, "I should get that pattern". It's nice to see garments that have imperfections and are still beautiful. Lovely colors, also.
9/5/05 7:59 AM
m1khaela said...
Thanks so much! As for clear elastic, should that be combined with a knit binding, or just a plain turned and stitched hem? I ordered some from the Sewing Place but I've never used it.
9/5/05 8:36 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
I think the dress looked very nice! As far as the FBA - there is a way to do one that adds the fabric where you need it, over the bust area. I highly recommend the Palmer/Pletsch book, Fit for Real People for any fitting adjustments.
9/5/05 8:50 AM
sewkal said...
Thanks for the useful info. I tried making this dress, too, and it came out horrible, mostly due to the fact that I could not get past #5 "sew the bodice to the skirt," which doesn't sound difficult, but is deceiving. I'm going to attempt it again, too, but believe me, your first attempt looks much better than mine! BTW, I find that NL patterns always run big on me, especially in the upper body.
9/5/05 9:31 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Cute dress--I like the contrasting belt. As for the fit, I've had troubles before with knit fabrics which tended to grow as I sewed them. Not so much with cotton/lycra fabrics, but it can happen. After some trial and error, I'm becoming convinced that it has more to do with the type or quality of the fabric than sewing techniques. Basting and trying on can also stretch out the fabric. (Try measuring your sewn dress and comparing it to the pattern now, to see if it "grew".) In addition, I've found that I don't usually need as much FBA on stretch fabrics as I do on wovens--I can usually reduce my usual FBA or dart amount by 1/2" on each pattern piece. So you might try this again with a smaller FBA. For the waist, try measuring the flat pattern across the waist and see how much ease is built in to a size 12. If it's more than you like, you might find that you prefer a size 10 for the waist.
9/5/05 9:44 AM
m1khaela said...
I did use FFRP for my FBA--I only added fabric at the bust area. It was just that I didn't need to add any--it was big everywhere. And yes, #5 made no sense at all...
9/5/05 9:46 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Thanks so much for your great review. I actually think your dress looks great on you, it is made for your beautiful figure. I am glad you are attempting it again, don't worry, in my experience with New Look the sizing is super large in waist. Thanks for all the helpful tips, I have this pattern too and will make the dress one day.
9/5/05 11:09 AM
SewTabby said...
Mikhaela, I had the same problems with this dress, and in fact just pitched into the Goodwill pile yesterday. Wasted some really excellent fabric on it, too. Yours was salvaged WAY more than mine, and actually looks incredibly cute on you, esp. with the great green belt.
9/5/05 11:14 AM
Modiste Madness said...
It looks great on you. Think of it as a sewing "class" that costs you the price of the fabric and pattern. :) How is that for a Miss Mary Sunshine suggestion. :) I looked at your other pictures also. I love your site. Approaching sewing with a sense of humor is essential, if you don't you will quit. Much better to laugh.
9/5/05 11:33 AM
drsue said...
This is a tricky style to get right. You did an impressive job despite your fitting problems. I'm sure you learned a lot and your next project won't be so problematic.
9/5/05 9:09 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you for posting your review of this dress. It is in my to make pile of patterns. I really appreciate your hint about the fba adjustment. The color is fantastic as is the style for you!!
9/5/05 10:47 PM
Kathryn said...
I have this pattern close to the top of my list of upcoming projects, since my pile of EOS knits is going to topple over unless I start sewing them up! Thank you sooo much for the information on your problems with the pattern. Not only is your review helpful, but the comments that your review sparked are full of wonderful suggestions as well. I think you look wonderful in this dress. In fact, if I were in your cute dress ;-), I would be tempted to topstitch those side seams and back dart to make them look more like purposeful design elements. The dress looks like it fits you fine now. I can only think that your next dress with this pattern is going to be spectacular!
9/6/05 7:32 AM
ryan's mom said...
I always look at the pic first before reading a review and my first thought was, "Wow! What a beautiful dress that shows off your nice figure!" Even with the problems you had, it looks so nice. Even the closeups look nicer than RTW I see on many women. Don't be too hard on yourself. You did a nice job at trying to tackle something more complicated than what you've been doing. I've had problems with NL necklines as well and have had to do the same dart in the top CB seam. My waist/hip measurements are somewhat similar to yours as well although I'm a 36B, not a 34D. Thanks for the heads up on the "bigness" of this dress. BTW, did you do a flat pattern measurement before cutting out?
9/6/05 8:26 AM
Linda F said...
This is my first time posting on pattern review. The dress looks great on you, you have got a great figure that this dress should enhance. Two suggestions, check your stretch factor. Could it be that you used a stretchy fabric that had too much stretch for the pattern and thus the reasn why you needed to take it in. Also did you use stay tape in any areas to stabilize it and keep it from stretching? Finally, I would get rid of the contrasting belt. It cuts you in half. Take that off and take another photo, I bet it would make you look taller, and even more slender. Hang in there and make it again, you did a great job!
9/6/05 9:43 AM
Mini said...
I'm guessing you could go down to an 8 for that dress. Like the Big 4 patterns, New Look is drafted for a B cup. It's better to use your upper chest measuremant for size selection, and then do the FBA to fit a D cup. That way you will have a smaller size where you need it, but still have enough fabric for the bust area. (You can also measure some of your RTW that fits, and compare to the pattern to get a good starting size.) But it still looks good in that color, and the shoes are very cool:).
9/17/05 9:03 PM
cboots said...
What a great review. I have this pattern and have not tried it yet. I will definitely be measuring this one out carefully before I start cutting! I bet the next one you make will be a walk in the park after all you've learned on this one. And, although it doesn't meet your expectations, you really deserve a star for persevering and coming up with something you can wear.
9/18/05 8:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 45793-1017

photo
by: nancy2001

Review
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Buy Now