SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Rag quilt (Flannel rag quilt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1414 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/05 7:18 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
What a wonderful quilt, Patti!! This is a great idea-does osnaburg make for a thinner quilt? I am imagining a muslin feel, but I'm not familiar with it so I have no idea. Anway, great job, I'm sure it will be loved and cuddled for many years to come :o)
9/5/05 7:30 PM
Patti B said...
Hilary, osnaburg does make a thinner quilt and it's a little heavier than muslin. Really it's like homespun but of a medium weight.
9/5/05 8:06 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is gorgeous. The married couple will think of you each winter evening that they cuddle up in this luscious quilt.
9/5/05 10:03 PM
PixieCat said...
What a beautiful quilt! All that snipping sure paid off. The fuzzy border around each block looks great.
9/6/05 4:53 AM
mamamaia said...
What a great idea and a wonderful gift!
9/6/05 6:00 AM
KarmenG said...
Patti - this is beautiful. Looks like a lot of work. They will cherish it I'm sure.
9/6/05 8:15 AM
PJS said...
That is a beautiful quilt. I've only heard of them this past week. A member of my Sunday School class makes them, and told me she uses flannel on both sides.
9/7/05 7:50 PM
Yukon Joy said...
Patti, your quilt looks great and I bet the newlyweds will just love it!! You are a loving aunt to do this for your neice. Wonderful article - it has given me more ideas and solutions to the quilt I want to make for my grand nephew
9/18/05 8:10 AM
Georgene said...
I'm having a d'uh moment. Please explain a bit more what you are clipping. Are you sort of notching the seam allowance? And I'm also guessing that the backside is a clean finish with all the seams towards the front. I've never seen one of these, and I love it.
9/18/05 10:08 AM
Patti B said...
Georgene, you are right on target. You snip the seam allowances which are all to what will be the right side. The photo of the quilt before washing shows this best in the lower left edge by the black square. We snipped about 1/4 inch apart ... more or less. The back is just random flannel of the same designs and is smooth. So glad that you like it. Thanks to all for the kind comments.
9/19/05 8:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Kwik Sew 3338

photo
by: LynnRowe

Review
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6606

photo
by: Sewlful

Review