SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Rag quilt (Flannel rag quilt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1414 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 172
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 142
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/05 7:18 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said... (9/19/05 8:35 AM) Reply
Georgene, you are right on target. You snip the seam allowances which are all to what will be the right side. The photo of the quilt before washing shows this best in the lower left edge by the black square. We snipped about 1/4 inch apart ... more or less. The back is just random flannel of the same designs and is smooth. So glad that you like it. Thanks to all for the kind comments.
Georgene said... (9/18/05 10:08 AM) Reply
I'm having a d'uh moment. Please explain a bit more what you are clipping. Are you sort of notching the seam allowance? And I'm also guessing that the backside is a clean finish with all the seams towards the front. I've never seen one of these, and I love it.
Yukon Joy said... (9/18/05 8:10 AM) Reply
Patti, your quilt looks great and I bet the newlyweds will just love it!! You are a loving aunt to do this for your neice. Wonderful article - it has given me more ideas and solutions to the quilt I want to make for my grand nephew
PJS said... (9/7/05 7:50 PM) Reply
That is a beautiful quilt. I've only heard of them this past week. A member of my Sunday School class makes them, and told me she uses flannel on both sides.
KarmenG said... (9/6/05 8:15 AM) Reply
Patti - this is beautiful. Looks like a lot of work. They will cherish it I'm sure.
mamamaia said... (9/6/05 6:00 AM) Reply
What a great idea and a wonderful gift!
PixieCat said... (9/6/05 4:53 AM) Reply
What a beautiful quilt! All that snipping sure paid off. The fuzzy border around each block looks great.
Mary Stiefer said... (9/5/05 10:03 PM) Reply
This is gorgeous. The married couple will think of you each winter evening that they cuddle up in this luscious quilt.
Patti B said... (9/5/05 8:06 PM) Reply
Hilary, osnaburg does make a thinner quilt and it's a little heavier than muslin. Really it's like homespun but of a medium weight.
Hilary said... (9/5/05 7:30 PM) Reply
What a wonderful quilt, Patti!! This is a great idea-does osnaburg make for a thinner quilt? I am imagining a muslin feel, but I'm not familiar with it so I have no idea. Anway, great job, I'm sure it will be loved and cuddled for many years to come :o)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Marfy 2502

photo
by: Lynn WA

Review
HotPatterns 1113

photo
by: lelliebunn...

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Pattern Details
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details