Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: Rag quilt (Flannel rag quilt) - Type:Home Dec    printable version
Viewed 1414 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/05 7:18 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
What a wonderful quilt, Patti!! This is a great idea-does osnaburg make for a thinner quilt? I am imagining a muslin feel, but I'm not familiar with it so I have no idea. Anway, great job, I'm sure it will be loved and cuddled for many years to come :o)
9/5/05 7:30 PM
Patti B said...
Hilary, osnaburg does make a thinner quilt and it's a little heavier than muslin. Really it's like homespun but of a medium weight.
9/5/05 8:06 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is gorgeous. The married couple will think of you each winter evening that they cuddle up in this luscious quilt.
9/5/05 10:03 PM
PixieCat said...
What a beautiful quilt! All that snipping sure paid off. The fuzzy border around each block looks great.
9/6/05 4:53 AM
mamamaia said...
What a great idea and a wonderful gift!
9/6/05 6:00 AM
KarmenG said...
Patti - this is beautiful. Looks like a lot of work. They will cherish it I'm sure.
9/6/05 8:15 AM
PJS said...
That is a beautiful quilt. I've only heard of them this past week. A member of my Sunday School class makes them, and told me she uses flannel on both sides.
9/7/05 7:50 PM
Yukon Joy said...
Patti, your quilt looks great and I bet the newlyweds will just love it!! You are a loving aunt to do this for your neice. Wonderful article - it has given me more ideas and solutions to the quilt I want to make for my grand nephew
9/18/05 8:10 AM
Georgene said...
I'm having a d'uh moment. Please explain a bit more what you are clipping. Are you sort of notching the seam allowance? And I'm also guessing that the backside is a clean finish with all the seams towards the front. I've never seen one of these, and I love it.
9/18/05 10:08 AM
Patti B said...
Georgene, you are right on target. You snip the seam allowances which are all to what will be the right side. The photo of the quilt before washing shows this best in the lower left edge by the black square. We snipped about 1/4 inch apart ... more or less. The back is just random flannel of the same designs and is smooth. So glad that you like it. Thanks to all for the kind comments.
9/19/05 8:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 3609
photo
Review by BlossomKyl... on 10/4/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Oversized Fashionista Bag
photo
Review by Sewphistic... on 2/12/11
Read Review

McCalls 6467 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6467 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3238 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 3238 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us