SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5201 (Sweater Set)

26 more reviews
Viewed 1724 times 
Reviewed by:joan
photo

 
 
About joanstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/4/03
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/05 8:40 PM
Last Updated:9/6/05 9:17 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Susan J. said...
Thanks for the hint about the sleeve width.
6/6/08 9:07 PM
tigger said...
Love the top - and the idea to use the ties as trims is fantastic!
9/10/05 5:15 PM
joan said...
Lee Ann, yes I did save the tie interfacing for sleeve heads. I have a whole big bag of them. I am taking them to my sewing group on Fri. I have found that some are better suited for that use than others.
9/7/05 8:07 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Joan, I think I like # 1 also for the sleeve trim. Have you used the tie interfacing, cut in 1 1/4inch bias strips, for sleeve heads? It works great for jackets etc. Thanks for this review and also the Simplicity blouse as I just bought that pattern!
9/7/05 7:08 PM
PVA said...
Beautiful Jacket, Joan--thanks for this review. I really admire the way you've used bias strips from men's ties to bind the edge. I have a collection of men's ties & have used them for bias binding inside a jacket, but not this way. Really love it!
9/7/05 5:07 PM
Modiste Madness said...
What a great way to add some individuality to a great basic pattern. Thanks for the idea. I definately adds to an already attractive top.
9/7/05 7:43 AM
htremont said...
Your jacket is beautiful - I like option #1 of adding bias trim to the sleeve at this position.
9/7/05 7:25 AM
Peggy L said...
What a great idea to use the tie as trim!
9/7/05 0:33 AM
Diane E said...
Joan, this is very pretty. I like the proportion resulting from putting the trim inside the sleeve edge (#1), or even turning it vertically (like a little epaulet?).
9/6/05 9:34 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks joan. I am sure that this is quite stunning on you!
9/6/05 8:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

McCall's 6571

photo
by: norie crea...

Review
Keyka Lou Skirt Bag

photo
by: wenznz

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

More Info