SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5201 (Sweater Set)

26 more reviews
Viewed 1712 times 
Reviewed by:joan
photo

 
 
About joanstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/4/03
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/05 8:40 PM
Last Updated:9/6/05 9:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks joan. I am sure that this is quite stunning on you!
9/6/05 8:53 PM
Diane E said...
Joan, this is very pretty. I like the proportion resulting from putting the trim inside the sleeve edge (#1), or even turning it vertically (like a little epaulet?).
9/6/05 9:34 PM
Peggy L said...
What a great idea to use the tie as trim!
9/7/05 0:33 AM
htremont said...
Your jacket is beautiful - I like option #1 of adding bias trim to the sleeve at this position.
9/7/05 7:25 AM
Modiste Madness said...
What a great way to add some individuality to a great basic pattern. Thanks for the idea. I definately adds to an already attractive top.
9/7/05 7:43 AM
PVA said...
Beautiful Jacket, Joan--thanks for this review. I really admire the way you've used bias strips from men's ties to bind the edge. I have a collection of men's ties & have used them for bias binding inside a jacket, but not this way. Really love it!
9/7/05 5:07 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Joan, I think I like # 1 also for the sleeve trim. Have you used the tie interfacing, cut in 1 1/4inch bias strips, for sleeve heads? It works great for jackets etc. Thanks for this review and also the Simplicity blouse as I just bought that pattern!
9/7/05 7:08 PM
joan said...
Lee Ann, yes I did save the tie interfacing for sleeve heads. I have a whole big bag of them. I am taking them to my sewing group on Fri. I have found that some are better suited for that use than others.
9/7/05 8:07 PM
tigger said...
Love the top - and the idea to use the ties as trims is fantastic!
9/10/05 5:15 PM
Susan J. said...
Thanks for the hint about the sleeve width.
6/6/08 9:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2012-121A

photo
by: MNBarb

Review
Vogue Patterns 8669

photo
by: GoodbyeVal...

Review
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now