SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5201 (Sweater Set)

26 more reviews
Viewed 1727 times 
Reviewed by:joan
photo

 
 
About joanstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/4/03
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/05 8:40 PM
Last Updated:9/6/05 9:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Susan J. said... (6/6/08 9:07 PM) Reply
Thanks for the hint about the sleeve width.
tigger said... (9/10/05 5:15 PM) Reply
Love the top - and the idea to use the ties as trims is fantastic!
joan said... (9/7/05 8:07 PM) Reply
Lee Ann, yes I did save the tie interfacing for sleeve heads. I have a whole big bag of them. I am taking them to my sewing group on Fri. I have found that some are better suited for that use than others.
Lee Ann Hawkins said... (9/7/05 7:08 PM) Reply
Joan, I think I like # 1 also for the sleeve trim. Have you used the tie interfacing, cut in 1 1/4inch bias strips, for sleeve heads? It works great for jackets etc. Thanks for this review and also the Simplicity blouse as I just bought that pattern!
PVA said... (9/7/05 5:07 PM) Reply
Beautiful Jacket, Joan--thanks for this review. I really admire the way you've used bias strips from men's ties to bind the edge. I have a collection of men's ties & have used them for bias binding inside a jacket, but not this way. Really love it!
Modiste Madness said... (9/7/05 7:43 AM) Reply
What a great way to add some individuality to a great basic pattern. Thanks for the idea. I definately adds to an already attractive top.
htremont said... (9/7/05 7:25 AM) Reply
Your jacket is beautiful - I like option #1 of adding bias trim to the sleeve at this position.
Peggy L said... (9/7/05 0:33 AM) Reply
What a great idea to use the tie as trim!
Diane E said... (9/6/05 9:34 PM) Reply
Joan, this is very pretty. I like the proportion resulting from putting the trim inside the sleeve edge (#1), or even turning it vertically (like a little epaulet?).
Jennifer shaw said... (9/6/05 8:53 PM) Reply
Thanks joan. I am sure that this is quite stunning on you!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1228

photo
by: atymonw

Review
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details