SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8912 (Tunic)

Viewed 1102 times 
Reviewed by:joan
photo

 
 
About joanstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/4/03
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/10/05 2:22 PM
Last Updated:9/10/05 2:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ReneeSews said...
I like your tunic, you did a good job on it! I wonder if it would work for you if you wore a light weight top under it and left it un-buttoned, maybe some side slits?
9/10/05 3:24 PM
tigger said...
I do like the fabric - and know what you mean about making something out of the wrong fabric - although your tunic does look good!
9/10/05 5:05 PM
layla said...
I love the fabric ..can you make a jacket out of it ( bring the buttons all the way down)...wear with with a sleeveless tan or brown shell underneath?
9/10/05 6:58 PM
layla said...
I love the fabric ..can you make a jacket out of it ( bring the bottons all the way down)...wear with with a sleeveless tan or brown shell underneath?
9/10/05 7:01 PM
bunz said...
Thanks for showing us Hong Kong in such a freeing fashion -- no color match worries!! And why should there be? :-)
9/10/05 9:29 PM
AnneM said...
Cute tuni - great fabric.
9/11/05 8:07 AM
ryan's mom said...
Although this seemed to be a less-than-fave project for you, it is a nice-looking tunic in the photo.
9/11/05 1:54 PM
annsew65 said...
Joan, I've made this top a couple of times as an overblouse (sleeveless shell underneath) and really love it. It looks really nice, but I'm sure since we can't feel the fit like you do, we can't comprehend your discomfort! Try it again in a different fabric if you like it otherwise. I love the neckline - that's what sold me the pattern.
9/27/05 10:31 AM
Mini said...
The fit definitely looks skimpy in the chest and shoulders-odd because Vogue can sometimes run large. You might want to recycle the collar and neckline to use with another pattern, as they are flattering, even if you don't like the rest of the pattern.
9/28/05 1:06 AM
joan said...
Thanks, Ann and Mini for your encouragement to not give up on this pattern and especially the neckline ideas. The neckline did appeal to me. I will dig it our of my bag of "Goodwill bound" give-aways.
9/28/05 10:37 AM
GalaxyJane said...
I have this pattern. I made it 15 or so years ago in black challis rayon and gave it silver buttons. I wore it out, it was so comfortable. I'm sorry it didn't work for you.
12/4/08 9:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 8390

photo
by: imsewcrazy

Review
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's M6690

photo
by: dsharp

Review