Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8912 (Tunic) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1075 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:joan
photo
About joanstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/4/03
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/10/05 2:22 PM
Last Updated:9/10/05 2:28 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ReneeSews said...
I like your tunic, you did a good job on it! I wonder if it would work for you if you wore a light weight top under it and left it un-buttoned, maybe some side slits?
9/10/05 3:24 PM
tigger said...
I do like the fabric - and know what you mean about making something out of the wrong fabric - although your tunic does look good!
9/10/05 5:05 PM
layla said...
I love the fabric ..can you make a jacket out of it ( bring the buttons all the way down)...wear with with a sleeveless tan or brown shell underneath?
9/10/05 6:58 PM
layla said...
I love the fabric ..can you make a jacket out of it ( bring the bottons all the way down)...wear with with a sleeveless tan or brown shell underneath?
9/10/05 7:01 PM
bunz said...
Thanks for showing us Hong Kong in such a freeing fashion -- no color match worries!! And why should there be? :-)
9/10/05 9:29 PM
AnneM said...
Cute tuni - great fabric.
9/11/05 8:07 AM
ryan's mom said...
Although this seemed to be a less-than-fave project for you, it is a nice-looking tunic in the photo.
9/11/05 1:54 PM
annsew65 said...
Joan, I've made this top a couple of times as an overblouse (sleeveless shell underneath) and really love it. It looks really nice, but I'm sure since we can't feel the fit like you do, we can't comprehend your discomfort! Try it again in a different fabric if you like it otherwise. I love the neckline - that's what sold me the pattern.
9/27/05 10:31 AM
Mini said...
The fit definitely looks skimpy in the chest and shoulders-odd because Vogue can sometimes run large. You might want to recycle the collar and neckline to use with another pattern, as they are flattering, even if you don't like the rest of the pattern.
9/28/05 1:06 AM
joan said...
Thanks, Ann and Mini for your encouragement to not give up on this pattern and especially the neckline ideas. The neckline did appeal to me. I will dig it our of my bag of "Goodwill bound" give-aways.
9/28/05 10:37 AM
GalaxyJane said...
I have this pattern. I made it 15 or so years ago in black challis rayon and gave it silver buttons. I wore it out, it was so comfortable. I'm sorry it didn't work for you.
12/4/08 9:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

New Look 6071
photo
Review by atymonw on 3/22/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Natalie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Natalie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5791
photo
Review by katiessewi... on 10/19/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0168 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0168 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8878 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8878 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us