SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Favorite Things> 050 (Wallet)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1468 times 
Reviewed by:Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stieferstarstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 131
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/11/05 6:57 PM
Last Updated:9/13/05 8:56 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $14.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Penny Carlson said... (9/22/05 12:28 PM) Reply
After struggling through Leslie Gladman's Wallet Purse, this was a treat! Oh, not that the W.P. was really difficult, but it turned out to be too small for my purposes. I picked up this pattern at a quilt show, and I actually had enough fabric left from the piece I'd purchased for the W.P. to make it. Much, much simpler to put together. I love the credit card holders; just one big piece with a zillion folds in it. And there are more than enough places to hold all your stuff. As mentioned above, it's better to hand-sew the second side of the binding down. I loved making this - it was quick and easy, and since I've been trying to figure out how to make a wallet for ages, I will definitely be making them for everyone I know...gambling print for my sister, a funky batik for college-age DD, and a tennis print for my high-school team DD.
SewVeryTall said... (9/14/05 6:58 AM) Reply
This is a very nice wallet, and great that you could show different photos/views of it...the beads on the outside really make it.
PVA said... (9/13/05 4:05 PM) Reply
Thanks for this review, your wallet is wonderful! The bias application looks perfect! (Bless the one who came up with wonder tape!) I also thank you for the photos of the construction process. Really helpful!
AnneFromLambourn said... (9/13/05 10:32 AM) Reply
Smart wallets, I hope your friends appreciate them :)
debbieB said... (9/12/05 6:27 PM) Reply
That is great!
Irene Q said... (9/12/05 8:28 AM) Reply
Really nice - thanks for all the pictures of the inside, too!
Katharine in BXL said... (9/11/05 11:06 PM) Reply
Nice wallet! Your friends will be quite lucky. Good on you for "sticking" through all that, especially the basting. Big 4 companies ought to get with the program and update their instructions to say "Baste or Wonder Tape..." to save us all the trouble.
Elona said... (9/11/05 8:37 PM) Reply
This came out really cute!
Map said... (9/11/05 8:31 PM) Reply
First of all I would never think to make a wallet. So much inspiration on this web site. The bias tape looks sewn to perfection. Great project. Maureen
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Portabello Pixie Ruffle Pants

photo
by: JanElise

Review
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Pattern Details
McCall's 6568

photo
by: Bendy

Review