SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5002 (Swing Skirt)

46 more reviews
Viewed 1594 times 
Reviewed by:bunz
photo

 
 
About bunzstar
VA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/05 9:30 PM
Last Updated:9/12/05 9:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
I looked at your pic and said "I like that skirt on her". It does look big, I agree, but it's a perfect length on you.
9/20/05 3:03 PM
debbieB said...
I love the fabric.I would put it away for a while then work on it when you can look at it again.:) Believe me ,I have aolt of those:)!
9/14/05 9:59 AM
bunz said...
Thanks for the ideas, all. I'll give this another try -- it may become a t & t after all!
9/13/05 9:56 AM
sewnlove said...
I've also found that this looks much better on me when I take it in. I've made many of these now, and I cut a M, and then just sew 5/8 seams everywhere. This is her only pattern I take in like this. Other skirts I sew as cut in a M.
9/13/05 6:08 AM
jemgirlca said...
Wow, I made this same exact skirt, except I put the long flounce on it. The flounce gave me grief because the bias part of it kept stretching but I finally got that sorted out. I found that the trick to this skirt is to take it in, until it looks good! I start with a Medium with a non stretch fabric (small with knits) and then take it in at the waist until it *just* goes over my hips and then slightly peg the bottom (just take in the flounce the same as the bottom of the skirt) and then it is really flattering. I've made a few and really like them, once I get them fitted. BTW, I didn't have a problem with the rayon. :) Except for the bias stretching.
9/12/05 10:41 PM
dresscode said...
Cute fabric! I've made this once and followed someone's advice to peg the skirt slightly which worked well for me. This means reducing the allowance at the flounce as well. I lined my rayon, attaching at waistband and running elastic through that tunnel. Stopped lining at the top of flounce.
9/12/05 10:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8278

photo
by: shaleenyma...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 78396-1013

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

Buy Now