SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5002 (Swing Skirt)

46 more reviews
Viewed 1594 times 
Reviewed by:bunz
photo

 
 
About bunzstar
VA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/05 9:30 PM
Last Updated:9/12/05 9:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dresscode said...
Cute fabric! I've made this once and followed someone's advice to peg the skirt slightly which worked well for me. This means reducing the allowance at the flounce as well. I lined my rayon, attaching at waistband and running elastic through that tunnel. Stopped lining at the top of flounce.
9/12/05 10:00 PM
jemgirlca said...
Wow, I made this same exact skirt, except I put the long flounce on it. The flounce gave me grief because the bias part of it kept stretching but I finally got that sorted out. I found that the trick to this skirt is to take it in, until it looks good! I start with a Medium with a non stretch fabric (small with knits) and then take it in at the waist until it *just* goes over my hips and then slightly peg the bottom (just take in the flounce the same as the bottom of the skirt) and then it is really flattering. I've made a few and really like them, once I get them fitted. BTW, I didn't have a problem with the rayon. :) Except for the bias stretching.
9/12/05 10:41 PM
sewnlove said...
I've also found that this looks much better on me when I take it in. I've made many of these now, and I cut a M, and then just sew 5/8 seams everywhere. This is her only pattern I take in like this. Other skirts I sew as cut in a M.
9/13/05 6:08 AM
bunz said...
Thanks for the ideas, all. I'll give this another try -- it may become a t & t after all!
9/13/05 9:56 AM
debbieB said...
I love the fabric.I would put it away for a while then work on it when you can look at it again.:) Believe me ,I have aolt of those:)!
9/14/05 9:59 AM
AnneM said...
I looked at your pic and said "I like that skirt on her". It does look big, I agree, but it's a perfect length on you.
9/20/05 3:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 8509

photo
by: rmusic1

Review
Simplicity 4116

photo
by: shelbyp

Review
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now