Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5305 (Tank Dress Group) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1872 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Fluteplayer
photo
About Fluteplayerstar
USA
Member since: 3/23/04
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/05 8:50 AM
Last Updated:9/20/05 8:37 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diane E said...
This is a great review. I haven't yet made this dress, but I'm going to print out your review and stick it in the envelope so that I remember all your tips. Thank you! Is there any way for you to enlarge your photo? I'd love to see the dress and it's postage-stamp size (maybe it's just my computer.....)
9/19/05 11:18 AM
MaryBeth said...
Yes, I agree with Diane E, this review will be very helpful when I get round to this pattern that is aging away. You being pleased with the dress gives me incentive to get going on mine. And yes, I'd love to see a larger photo with the dress on you. Thanks!
9/19/05 5:24 PM
PegL said...
Thanks for a great review! I love Loes Hinse patterns but was leary of this one after reading those other reviews! You've provided a lot of very good help and advice! You photo is teeny tiny on my computer too and I'd love to really be able to see it larger. Thanks!
9/19/05 5:44 PM
Lilibet said...
Thank you for an excellent review and for all your tips on details that make the difference between an OK result and a superb one.
9/19/05 5:45 PM
Julie Culshaw said...
What a well-thought-out review. I appreciate your approach to the pattern. I think you would make Loes proud of you. me too, I am going to print this one off. Julie
9/20/05 8:21 AM
Diane E said...
Thank you for enlarging your photo. Pretty dress and very nicely fitted at the shoulder.
9/20/05 10:35 AM
QuickFade said...
Thanks for your review. Sounds like a lot of adjusting to make it work, but I can see how it would be worth it once you have done it once. I wonder if the small neckhole problem could be fixed with a small slit at the back and a small button or with something like that in the front. Even a semicircle cutout making the neckline sort of an inverse scallop might e cute. I also wonder if just using a bigger size would help or if that would make it too big all over. Is there anything that can be sprayed on the edges before you move them and get them out of shape other than spray starch..something that would wash out but not gunk up the machine? I like the quick and easy solutions as all that stay tape sounds like a lot of work. Very nice dress, though. Just wondering what you think about the alternatives. I definitely learned a few tricks from your review though and will apply them when needed.
9/20/05 12:00 PM
Fluteplayer said...
This is how I put in the stay tape - Once the fabric is cut, I leave it on the table and just remove the excess. If I cut double layers, I separate the layers and place the pieces and side by side. I plug in my Clover mini iron and slide a heat proof cutting mat under the fabric. I place the pattern piece (or template) on top of the armhole & neck edge and reposition the fabric with my fingers until it is back where it belongs. I place the stay top along the fabric edge, clipping so that it contours to the circle and then heat set the tape with the clover iron. Then I bring the fabric pieces over to my regular iron to be heat set permanently. I have found that this only takes me less than 10 minutes for two armholes and a neck edge. However, it saves me a lot of time fiddling with stretched out material that is now off grain and shaped funny. I think the real trick to being successful with this technique is to move the fabric as little possible until the stay tape is in. This minimizes distortion and makes repositioning quick and easy.
9/20/05 4:29 PM
lmg said...
Thanks for all the great tips on making this dress! It looks elegant.
9/20/05 10:39 PM
Ananyua said...
Thanks so much for this review. It is going to save me to some time and frustration.
10/5/07 9:50 AM
Frozzy said...
Nice to have such a instructional review, even after a few years. Thanks!!!
4/5/08 10:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

McCall's 3830
photo
Review by atymonw on 1/21/14
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3938 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3938 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1429 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1429 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 2634
photo
Review by MaryBeth on 9/11/05
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Woodland stroll cape Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Woodland stroll cape Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Candice
Candice

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us