SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5305 (Tank Dress Group)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1886 times 
Reviewed by:Fluteplayer
photo

 
 
About Fluteplayerstar
USA
Member since: 3/23/04
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/05 8:50 AM
Last Updated:9/20/05 8:37 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Frozzy said...
Nice to have such a instructional review, even after a few years. Thanks!!!
4/5/08 10:04 PM
Ananyua said...
Thanks so much for this review. It is going to save me to some time and frustration.
10/5/07 9:50 AM
lmg said...
Thanks for all the great tips on making this dress! It looks elegant.
9/20/05 10:39 PM
Fluteplayer said...
This is how I put in the stay tape - Once the fabric is cut, I leave it on the table and just remove the excess. If I cut double layers, I separate the layers and place the pieces and side by side. I plug in my Clover mini iron and slide a heat proof cutting mat under the fabric. I place the pattern piece (or template) on top of the armhole & neck edge and reposition the fabric with my fingers until it is back where it belongs. I place the stay top along the fabric edge, clipping so that it contours to the circle and then heat set the tape with the clover iron. Then I bring the fabric pieces over to my regular iron to be heat set permanently. I have found that this only takes me less than 10 minutes for two armholes and a neck edge. However, it saves me a lot of time fiddling with stretched out material that is now off grain and shaped funny. I think the real trick to being successful with this technique is to move the fabric as little possible until the stay tape is in. This minimizes distortion and makes repositioning quick and easy.
9/20/05 4:29 PM
QuickFade said...
Thanks for your review. Sounds like a lot of adjusting to make it work, but I can see how it would be worth it once you have done it once. I wonder if the small neckhole problem could be fixed with a small slit at the back and a small button or with something like that in the front. Even a semicircle cutout making the neckline sort of an inverse scallop might e cute. I also wonder if just using a bigger size would help or if that would make it too big all over. Is there anything that can be sprayed on the edges before you move them and get them out of shape other than spray starch..something that would wash out but not gunk up the machine? I like the quick and easy solutions as all that stay tape sounds like a lot of work. Very nice dress, though. Just wondering what you think about the alternatives. I definitely learned a few tricks from your review though and will apply them when needed.
9/20/05 12:00 PM
Diane E said...
Thank you for enlarging your photo. Pretty dress and very nicely fitted at the shoulder.
9/20/05 10:35 AM
Julie Culshaw said...
What a well-thought-out review. I appreciate your approach to the pattern. I think you would make Loes proud of you. me too, I am going to print this one off. Julie
9/20/05 8:21 AM
Lilibet said...
Thank you for an excellent review and for all your tips on details that make the difference between an OK result and a superb one.
9/19/05 5:45 PM
PegL said...
Thanks for a great review! I love Loes Hinse patterns but was leary of this one after reading those other reviews! You've provided a lot of very good help and advice! You photo is teeny tiny on my computer too and I'd love to really be able to see it larger. Thanks!
9/19/05 5:44 PM
MaryBeth said...
Yes, I agree with Diane E, this review will be very helpful when I get round to this pattern that is aging away. You being pleased with the dress gives me incentive to get going on mine. And yes, I'd love to see a larger photo with the dress on you. Thanks!
9/19/05 5:24 PM
Diane E said...
This is a great review. I haven't yet made this dress, but I'm going to print out your review and stick it in the envelope so that I remember all your tips. Thank you! Is there any way for you to enlarge your photo? I'd love to see the dress and it's postage-stamp size (maybe it's just my computer.....)
9/19/05 11:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

StyleArc Trixi Knit Wrap Dress

photo
by: DD1104

Review
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

More Info