Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 2339 (Bible Costumes) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 3819 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/16/05 6:55 PM
Last Updated:8/10/06 8:06 AM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $9.20 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $9.20  List Price: $11.50   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
Lisa, I appreciate this review. It's nice to know, if one is involved in a Christmas/Easter pageant where to look for the best pattern!
9/17/05 0:07 AM
Tiner W said...
Nice! Thanks for all the info. As you say, these costumes take a lot of abuse, and our church's costume selection is getting more worn by the year. I'll be buying this pattern!
9/17/05 8:30 AM
wvsher said...
Very nice results!
4/17/06 9:45 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks grand. Would love to see a pick of the DYM in all his splendor. Nice to know that one of the Big 4 does have some good patterns hehehe.
4/17/06 10:15 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Another great piece. You've done it again.
8/10/06 9:13 AM
pbrenneraz said...
Thank you Lisa for a timely review - our costumes for our children's Christmas pageant are woefully in need of replacement. I've been scratching my head looking at patterns not knowing which one to get ... Hancock's has 99 cent McCalls over Labor Day, I hope they have all the sizes!
8/10/06 10:57 AM
Jaedy said...
I have been producing/directing a very large Christmas pageant for several years, and this is our pattern of choice. The basic pattern pieces can be used in so many different ways. The same piece can be a ratty shepherd, a beautiful angel in white satin (we also use overdresses of lace, chiffin, or other pretty material), or kings dressed in brocades, velvets, or other wonderful fabrics. We, too, have used a lot of fabric from the clearance tables - particularly for the shepherds, innkeeper, Mary, and Joseph. We buy satin by the armloads when it is on sale (we are finding that the crepe-backed satin is very nice to work with, drapes beautifully, and holds up well), and we are careful about how we spend our money, so that we can splurge on wonderful fabrics for the wise men. This is the second year for the pageant at the particular church I am helping with now, but we don't use just main characters (Mary, Joseph, a couple of shepherds, an angel or two, the wise men). Last year (first year) we had 4 shepherds; this year we are adding 2 or 3 more. We have an innkeeper. We had 13 angels last year; this year we will be adding a very small angel, and even the smallest pattern size is too big, so we will have to alter that. Otherwise we may take a nightgown pattern, add angel trumpet sleeves to it, and use that for the littlest angel. The wise men each have a gift bearer [these costumes are made from many different sources - including garage sale finds, Goodwill, patterns of shirts that we use as tunics, tights for some pants, harem-type pants (which can be made from drawstring sweat pant patterns), ballerina-type slippers, which we sometimes decorate with clip-on earrings to add some pizazz]. This year we will also be adding 3 camel tenders - although since our nativity set doesn't include camels, they are going to be carrying things such as an elaborate pillow, a beautiful pieced and beaded throw we found at Hobby Lobby on clearance marked down from $100 to $20, and, hopefully, a camel saddle, which the gift bearers will use to sit on. We will also have 2 or 3 torch bearers this year. There are several more characters we can add, but it's a growing process and we can't do it all in any one year. I don't do most of the sewing myself, but am involved more in the creative process rather than constructing. I would add that "building costumes" is not the same as making regular clothing. Although the pattern shows a very small hem, you should leave at least a 3-inch hem in order to add weight to the costume and hold it in place. I have to agree about the facings. I don't know why they are so skimpy! I will pass these suggestions on to the chair of the sewing committee. I love creating the pageant costumes. We have some really wonderful products. Thanks for the hints here, and thanks for letting me share, too.
8/12/07 5:54 PM
LisaAnn said...
I made a couple of angel costumes for kids from a simplicity "dummies" pattern (I'm sure it's out of print for a while now, b/c I can't find it on their web site). The neck was very wide and gaped. What I ended up doing was sewing a small casing in the neck and then running a thin piece of cording through it. Added a cord stop and viola, the neckline was fixed without looking like a hospital gown. As I said, these were kid costumes, and the kids had no real "shape" so the draping was fine. I don't know if this trick would work on adult costumes, though!
1/6/08 8:29 AM
Jnine said...
Thank you for the idea for the neckline. I think over the years I've used this pattern for several hundreds of these costumes for various churches we've attended, from angels to shepherds and wise men and tunics for soldiers. I like the pattern except for the neckline finish and have tried several different things and was never happy with the way the necklines turned out. I usually just increased the length of the facing, but love the way you added the little bit of extra length for the snap. I have also tried the Simplicity pattern with the boat neck and had/have the same problem. I've also used McCall's 2060 and also found that it is not the same. A size large fit my tall, skinny daughter (size 4-6) and the armholes were tight. Needless to say, 2339 is also my go to pattern. Most of the time, I've left my patterns with the church and just bought new ones as we have moved, but finally decided that I should keep my own set. Love some of the ideas from Jaedy also. Thanks again.
2/21/14 8:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 5616 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by Erica B. on 5/19/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3882 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3882 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8886 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8886 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2008-4 Sporty Top
photo
Review by treefrog on 12/28/11
Read Review

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us