Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2865 thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1877 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 31 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/05 9:00 PM
Last Updated:9/25/05 1:53 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kim Winson said...
Beautiful jacket! Thanks for the thorough review!
9/19/05 9:07 PM
melgosews said...
Very nice jacket! I have this pattern and find your review quite helpful. Thanks!
9/19/05 9:07 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a gorgeous jacket. The color is great and the detailing is fantastic.
9/19/05 9:36 PM
Patti B said...
That IS fabulous fabric for your fabulous jacket. Beautiful job and excellent review.
9/19/05 9:52 PM
Cambric Tea said...
That was a very instructive review, Kay Y, thank you so much! I know that when the time comes for me to make a jacket I will remember your tip about the bias organza in the sleeves. Your jacket is wonderful!
9/19/05 10:20 PM
touran said...
Beautiful work and great review as always. What a lovely fabric for the style.
9/19/05 10:23 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your description of buying a pattern and realizing you liked the look in the catalogue but otherwise disappointed is rather true for a lot of patterns I buy. Your jacket is lovely and would display very well in a magazine. Excellent job, looks great.
9/20/05 4:13 AM
Nickle said...
Beautiful jacket and very good review.
9/20/05 4:28 AM
CarolynKEll said...
Kay This is a stunningly gorgeous jacket, thanks so much for your detailed constrction techniques. I have added this one to my list.
9/20/05 4:53 AM
MarilynB said...
What a lovely jacket. I also bought this pattern when it first came out because I had a fabric in my stash which was similar to the one used on the envelope. Thanks for all the warnings on this pattern. Also, thanks for the reminder about the sleeve tip from Karmeng.
9/20/05 5:44 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Lovely job, as always! -Ann
9/20/05 6:31 AM
MaryBeth said...
I bought this pattern right away also being drawn to the jacket and stopped short to find the right fabric as well. Thanks for your review and all the ins and outs of producing such a lovely jacket.
9/20/05 7:50 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a great, thorough review with a beautiful jacket!
9/20/05 7:52 AM
cindyann said...
Just wonderful! Thank you for the great review too.
9/20/05 9:50 AM
SueV said...
very nice; I have this pattern and love the style; yours is beautiful, nicely constructed and great review.
9/20/05 10:50 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Lovely job, Kay. This review is very timely for me, as I just purchased this pattern yesterday. You're right, the fabric on the envelope is very appealing, but you've managed to do an excellent job with yours too!
9/20/05 6:34 PM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Lovely job, Kay. This pattern is very timely for me, as I just purchased this pattern yesterday. You're right, the fabric on the envelope is very appealing, but you've managed to do an excellent job with yours too!
9/20/05 7:25 PM
PhyllisC said...
Oh good! I'm really happy to see a review of this pattern - it's on my wish list.
9/20/05 8:10 PM
LBJ said...
Gorgeous jacket! Thanks for the great review!
9/20/05 8:33 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great review! I was wondering about the one piece sleeve when I looked at the pattern. Good idea to substitute.
9/21/05 0:43 AM
Georgene said...
The 747 lapels are rather extreme on this pattern. Your version turned out nice in spite of that. I'd love to see a photo you in the ensemble when its done.
9/21/05 8:56 AM
LBJ said...
the jacket and the top look so good together. I love the bias effect of the top. Very classy and very expensive looking!
9/25/05 5:16 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Fabulous jacket! I have to admit that every time I look at that envelope I think "Stepford Wives" and just can't appreciate the jacket on it...yours is much more appealing! :D
9/25/05 7:20 PM
lmg said...
Wow, wow, wow! This pattern grabbed my attention too. How was the fit? Thanks for the instructive review.
9/25/05 7:27 PM
PVA said...
Beautiful result! Thanks for the review -- I love the fabrics & the loop closure. It's all-over effect is *very* "High-End"!
9/25/05 10:59 PM
jlg said...
This is a fabulous jacket. You did a wonderful job.
9/26/05 5:23 AM
KarmenG said...
That is one gorgeous jacket. Beautiful job. You do such impressive work. I also bought the pattern and will refer to your review when it's time to begin it.
9/27/05 11:49 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely jacket. And what a great fabric you found.
9/28/05 3:42 PM
regine said...
What a magnificent jacket, material, workmanship, style. You obviously put in a great deal of effort and it shows.
4/30/06 1:00 PM
Nerys said...
I am worried about easing the sleeve into the armscye. There is over 3" of difference between them and that usually spells trouble. I was going to cut and slash some the ease out of the sleeve cap. I am now rethinking my plan based on your comment that the sleeves went in without a hitch. Gorgeous work, btw!
9/18/06 4:22 PM
ceejen said...
I have not made this pattern yet, but will keep in mind all the fitting problems you discussed.
8/26/07 9:11 PM
ceejen said...
I have not made this pattern yet, but will keep in mind all the fitting problems you discussed.
8/26/07 9:11 PM
ellen55 said...
It's gorgeous! I ran out and bought the same pattern and am till looking for the right fabric, but alas, I think I may be too busty for this style. Well nothing ventured, nothing gained, right? Thanks for the great tips.
9/20/07 11:34 PM
inkstain said...
Your taste is Grade A, and I love all your choices of fabric and cut. Nothing home-made about your wardrobe and this is another excellent item.
1/21/08 10:29 AM
firsthays said...
Nice! I'm getting this in the mail in two days, thought I'd see if I made good choice, thanks for the review!
8/8/08 11:35 PM
nancy2001 said...
Gorgeous jacket. I'm thinking about ordering this OOP pattern from ebay, and your review is extremely helpful.
6/1/09 11:42 AM
nancy2001 said...
duplicate
6/1/09 11:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 1228 misses dress
photo
Review by Blooms on 7/9/11
Read Review

Vogue 8852 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8852 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2053 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2053 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3939 Bark Avenue
photo
Review by lauramae on 11/2/11
Read Review

Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Salme Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The City Bag
The City Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us