SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7314 (Very Easy ~ Koko Beall)

Viewed 1275 times 
Reviewed by:Moxie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Moxie
ID USA
Member since: 11/1/04
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/05 11:08 PM
Last Updated:9/18/05 11:16 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Medeiros said...
I think you've used a pattern too large for you. That would explain all the gapping at the neck and arms. I would use a pattern size based on your snug upper bust (under the armpits) measurement. Big-4 patterns are graded for a B cup, so a smaller pattern size seems warranted. Cute pattern and fabric, though! :)
9/18/05 11:21 PM
Gus2 said...
Do you have any of the material left over - enough for another top perhaps? Here is what I would do - cut a size 12 and make any adjustments on that. But first do you have your measurements? On the pattern and using a fine pencil measure in and draw the sewing lines, copy (including symbols). Now measure neck point to bust, shoulder to bust etc. and see how your body and the pattern differs. Use one of the pattern adjusting books and make the changes necessary pattern changes to fit your body. True the new lines andr edraw the pattern with the seam allownaces, cut the pattern using an old sheet (or whatever) attach to the dress body and see how it fits. Good luck
9/19/05 6:47 AM
LBJ said...
I agree, it's just too big, in the bodice maybe even 2 sizes. Gus2 has made excellent recommendations. It's pretty fabric and a lovely color on you. Good luck!
9/19/05 7:01 AM
Hilary said...
I agree with what's been said, this is simply too big for you! You should start with a smaller size. I do love your fabric though, it's beautiful! Maybe if you took it apart, you could even save it-pain in the neck, but it might be worth it, if the fabric can handle it (sometimes fabrics will show the previous stitching lines, sometimes not). Good luck!
9/19/05 8:27 AM
Mini said...
You did a good job of making this dress, too bad Vogue doesn't draft patterns for your figure type. I agree that you need to use your high bust (upper chest) measurement. This pattern is drafted for a B cup figure 5'6" tall. You can do the reverse of a full bust adjustment to remove some curvature from the pattern front. Dart position on patterns is placed wherever the designer thinks they ought ot be for an "average" figure -and they get to decide what is average:), so most of us have to move them around a bit, as Gus 2 described. It's a good idea check the finished garment measurements before cutting by measuring the pattern tissue. Vogue always seems too oversized, especially in their Very Easy patterns. I wouldn't recommend them for petite or small-busted figures. You might find the sizing of New Look patterns works better for you. You might also want to try a pattern in Junior sizes, just to see if the fit in the upper body will work better for you.
9/19/05 11:31 AM
Mini said...
You did a good job of making this dress, too bad Vogue doesn't draft patterns for your figure type. I agree that you need to use your high bust (upper chest) measurement. This pattern is drafted for a B cup figure 5'6" tall. You can do the reverse of a full bust adjustment to remove some curvature from the pattern front. Dart position on patterns is placed wherever the designer thinks they ought ot be for an "average" figure -and they get to decide what is average:), so most of us have to move them around a bit. You can measure yourself to find the correct bust point, and then use that as a guide for moving darts. It's a good idea check the finished garment measurements before cutting by measuring the pattern tissue. Vogue always seems too oversized, especially in their Very Easy patterns. I wouldn't recommend them for petite or small-boned figures. You might find the sizing of New Look patterns works better for you. You might also want to try a pattern in Junior sizes, just to see if the fit in the upper body will work better for you.
9/19/05 11:33 AM
KimP said...
Moxie, I'm a beginner sewer and alterations are not my strong suit, but the way I would do it is try making a size 12. If it is still too big, make a size 10. Find the right size, then start playing with the darts. I find it hard to do anything with the darts until I'm making the right size. I know this sounds like a lot of work, but once you get it down for a pattern, you can use this bodice pattern and compare it to new patterns you are using. You'll be able to tell quickly whether a new bodice pattern is too big or whether the darts are in the wrong place, etc. Fitting this pattern to your body is more work up front, but will save you time and aggravation in the future.
9/19/05 12:48 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Moxie, all this advice should help you with this. I also suggest buying Fit For Real People book. Once I bought that years ago, read it and then began using the information it became a true treasure for me in fitting patterns.
9/20/05 4:22 AM
ryan's mom said...
Moxie, definitely look into using a size 12, or even a size 10 depending on what you are making. I have a 37 1/2" full bust (my foamy cups definitely add at least a 1/2" to my full bust size.) with a 33 1/2 to a 34" high bust. I would be swimming in a size 14--you are too. I can get an 8 or 10 to fit me well in a similar style, although I need to do an FBA. Do you have a CB seam? Maybe you could deepen the curve at the neck or add some darts to curve it in a bit more to make your dress fit better at the neck. I've done both in efforts to salvage a couple of tops that have done this to me in a size 12. 8 and 10's produce better necklines for me though without the gapping.
9/20/05 8:01 AM
Moxie said...
Thanks everybody for your suggestions. From a quick glance it looks like I have enough material to make the bodice again. I'll repost my experience when the product is complete (I'm hoping a couple of weeks). Again, thanks a lot. Katie...
9/20/05 9:43 AM
layla said...
Vogue patterns usually have a great fit for more petite body frames (which it looks like you have) but I agree you need a smaller size. If you have small shoulders and are petite that may be where the problem is. According to my bust measurements I wear a 12 Vogue, but if I make a size 8 for the top all I need to do is kind of taper the bodice out at bust. I also need to make the sleeve adjustment to match ...and it makes for a perfect fit. If I go to a size 10 it makes that gap in the back of the neck . Also, I have tried 2 KoKo Beall patterns from Vogue, mainly because they sew up fast and both of them had major fitting problems. I'm wondering if this line of Vogue is cut for larger framed women. Thank you for the review and good luck with the dress...the color is great on you.
9/20/05 12:24 PM
lorey said...
I'm looking for this pattern to purchase. Have you any ideas where I might find it? Thank you. Lorey
10/24/06 0:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

brerrabbit.com kimono collage vest

photo
by: Bluepine

Review
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now