Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: V2802 (BELLVILLE SASSOON Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 927 times
Review rated Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:pear
photo
About pear
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/05
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/05 3:29 PM
Last Updated:9/19/05 3:29 PM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
twistedangel said...
Hi Pear, what size did you cut, and what do you measure? This would be very helpful in preventing us from making the same error!!
9/19/05 4:13 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Can you post a link to the Vogue Pattern? That would make it easier for the lazy amongst us to get an idea of which pattern this is. -Ann
9/19/05 4:36 PM
bonny said...
I was curious and looked up the pattern:
bonny said...
Hmmm... that was strange. I tried to post a link to the pattern, but it didn't come out. And the [edit] link leads me to the pattern page! Anyway, the dress looks spectacular. Too bad it's giving you so much trouble.
9/20/05 2:51 PM
Georgene said...
A boned bodice supports the dress. If you want to support your chest, you need a proper strapless bra. Please look at Susan Khalje's "Bridal Couture" for hints on how to sew formal and /or strapless dresses. Not just for bridal! Good luck!
9/20/05 2:55 PM
candyo said...
I have this pattern, but I doubt I'll ever be brave enough to make it.
9/23/05 8:27 PM
pear said...
Hello twisted angel, I cut out a size 14, and I fit the pattern measurements exactly, that is what is so strange. I am still workin gon this dress periodicaly. At this point I am reworking the bodice so the straps will be on the shoulder. Little nips and tucks here and there, and hopefully I will be able to get the shell to match up with my bodice alterations. I am hoping to get it done for halloween, I will probaly skip some of the ruffles. Oh, my issues with the ruffle sketches- They have the rolled edge sketches put in "detail oval" and I was thinking they were showing the ruffles when they were just showing the stitching detail. I will post a pic when I get it done. It won't be much like the pattern at that point. It is a difficult dress to wear. It has boning which runs through the straps to keep them in place. They were uncomfortable and I removed them last night. My purpose for this dress is for fun, so it needs to be a bit active. If this was going to be a wedding dress, or super formal dress, I think it could suffice. Here's hoping it comes together well enough for a costume!
10/12/05 12:56 PM
psayli said...
Very helpful...will probably try a different pattern for next xmas formal
3/5/06 4:35 PM
blonde65 said...
I have made this dress and so has my sister. We both rolled hemmed the ruffels on our overlockers. The dress worked out really well for both of us. The straps are are off the shoulder, but very stiff and don't move at all.
6/6/11 5:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8805
photo
Review by paolag on 3/23/14
Read Review

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Tiny Pocket Tank
Tiny Pocket Tank

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3762
photo
Review by MCBurbage on 11/1/09
Read Review

New Look 6070 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6070 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2290 Pattern( Size XS )
Simplicity 2290 Pattern( Size XS )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us