Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1001 (Basic Pant) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1253 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews written: 195
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 182
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/05 6:32 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunz said...
Have had this in my stash forever, also. It looks like it tapers to the ankle on her photo -- did you find that?
9/19/05 8:00 PM
MaryBeth said...
Interesting review, Linda. The pattern photo suggests a very full leg but your front view looks nice and well tapered. I hope you do this pant again until you get it fitted the way you'd like. Looks like you've made great progress so far! hehehehehe, bunz, we posted at the same time with the same concern, different conclusion, so, Linda, what do you think?
9/19/05 8:05 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Actually, IMHO, it does taper some but not a lot. I ended up taking 3/4 seam from below pocket to knee as the fullness through that area was too much for me. By doing that I think the pant now looks like a slimmer cut. What I really like is the back dart,which makes it more fitted through the back.
9/19/05 8:33 PM
Marrs said...
Linda, You might find after washing that the elastic fits better. This has been the case for me in my last two pair of pants. This suggests one of two things 1)pre-wash elastic 2) the elastic gets very stretched out in the construction phase and recovery needs help.
9/20/05 10:51 AM
Elisabetha said...
Linda Great pants; are these the same as the Loes Hinse basic pants? Re the 'growing' elastic;I read somewhere that lots of steam from the iron held above the elastic will bring it back to the original size.
9/20/05 11:21 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Marrs, I have never thought of pre-washing elastic. Good suggestion, wouldn't hurt to try. Elizabetha, I did steam them and did see some physical drawing up but hopefully when washed will shrink a little more. I think the pants are similar to LH "basic pant". Since she was partner with TS at the time these pants came on the market they probably are. I think LH pants may be a little more tapered, hard to tell though.
9/21/05 4:01 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

New Look 6959 Child Dresses
photo
Review by Kristine K... on 8/29/10
Read Review

Oliver S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl BO325 Baguette
photo
Review by PursesbyKP on 7/15/10
Read Review

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1398 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 1398 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6015 Pattern( Size )
McCalls 6015 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us