SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1001 (Basic Pant)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1257 times 
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews written: 198
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 185
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/05 6:32 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunz said...
Have had this in my stash forever, also. It looks like it tapers to the ankle on her photo -- did you find that?
9/19/05 8:00 PM
MaryBeth said...
Interesting review, Linda. The pattern photo suggests a very full leg but your front view looks nice and well tapered. I hope you do this pant again until you get it fitted the way you'd like. Looks like you've made great progress so far! hehehehehe, bunz, we posted at the same time with the same concern, different conclusion, so, Linda, what do you think?
9/19/05 8:05 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Actually, IMHO, it does taper some but not a lot. I ended up taking 3/4 seam from below pocket to knee as the fullness through that area was too much for me. By doing that I think the pant now looks like a slimmer cut. What I really like is the back dart,which makes it more fitted through the back.
9/19/05 8:33 PM
Marrs said...
Linda, You might find after washing that the elastic fits better. This has been the case for me in my last two pair of pants. This suggests one of two things 1)pre-wash elastic 2) the elastic gets very stretched out in the construction phase and recovery needs help.
9/20/05 10:51 AM
Elisabetha said...
Linda Great pants; are these the same as the Loes Hinse basic pants? Re the 'growing' elastic;I read somewhere that lots of steam from the iron held above the elastic will bring it back to the original size.
9/20/05 11:21 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Marrs, I have never thought of pre-washing elastic. Good suggestion, wouldn't hurt to try. Elizabetha, I did steam them and did see some physical drawing up but hopefully when washed will shrink a little more. I think the pants are similar to LH "basic pant". Since she was partner with TS at the time these pants came on the market they probably are. I think LH pants may be a little more tapered, hard to tell though.
9/21/05 4:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Buy Now
McCall's 3919

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review