Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5203 (Cowl Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2015 times 40 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 163
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 136
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/20/05 9:26 AM
Last Updated:10/3/05 7:32 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
WOW - this looks great and the fabric really compliments the style. Very nice.
9/20/05 10:24 AM
Georgene said...
Lookin' good! Your tweaks take it to another level of fit, much more flattering.
9/20/05 10:40 AM
Elona said...
Very pretty, Patti! I love this top, and no matter what other tee patterns I buy (waaaay too many!), I keep coming back to this one. BTW, Loes says everyone starts out making her tees one size too large.
9/20/05 10:57 AM
SueV said...
very nice; love that fabric. Looks good on you.
9/20/05 11:17 AM
Mini said...
Nice adaptation. The 3/4 sleeves and shorter length look very up to date. I have used this pattern a lot, and also kept making these too big for some reason. Smaller is more flattering.
9/20/05 2:05 PM
Nickle said...
Love you top it looks great on you. I just love the fabric also.
9/20/05 5:11 PM
librarylady said...
ooooh, that's gorgeous. I have this pattern but haven't tried it yet. Now I will! I'm intrigued by the wooly nylon/looser tension solution. Thanks for a great review.
9/20/05 5:17 PM
jlg said...
Great looking top. Very becoming.
9/20/05 6:30 PM
AnneM said...
Neat fabric, nice top.
9/20/05 6:32 PM
KarmenG said...
Nice top and informative review. Thanks for the ideas
9/20/05 8:09 PM
LBJ said...
Very pretty. I love the fabric!
9/20/05 8:24 PM
Cambric Tea said...
All your changes really paid off, that's a wonderful fit. I love your color combination.
9/20/05 11:29 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Great looking/fitting top, Patty. That neckline is really flattering on you. I kept reading your review, expecting to find some info about how you'd pieced the fabric, and bias piecing of the top, etc...wow, so this is just how the fabric was to start with? ...very cool!
9/21/05 3:49 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely fabric. Made up so nice in this top. I have that same morbid fear simply because some things I make have come out too small. Top looks very nice on you.
9/21/05 4:08 AM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful work - The simple design suits the fabric so well. I like drop sleeves, but want to avoid too loose-fitting designs. Looks like you have overcome that drawback with your excellent fitting adjustments.
9/21/05 9:12 AM
PegL said...
Great top! Love the fabric!
9/21/05 8:12 PM
2ndHnd Rose said...
Your top looks great on you. Love that fabric. Thanks for the tips and a very informative review.
9/21/05 8:15 PM
Tesla121 said...
You look great in the top. Very flattering!
10/2/05 8:05 AM
joan said...
Love your top and skirt. They both look very nice on you. Where did you get your slinky...like that color? I agree with your comment about Loes' patterns. I have been sewing the Bolero Jacket of hers today.
10/3/05 8:41 PM
PegL said...
Very pretty outfit!! The color is very good on you! I also love Loes Hinse patterns.
10/3/05 8:46 PM
KarmenG said...
You must be so happy with the outfit. It is lovely. You are right about LH patterns.
10/3/05 11:07 PM
Patti B said...
Joan the slinky came from Stone Mountain & Daughter in Berkeley. I bought it just about 6 weeks ago so they may still have some. Thanks for all of the kind remarks. I know I will enjoy wearing all of the pieces.
10/4/05 8:38 AM
Gigi Louis said...
So pretty! I love the color. I know what you mean about Loes' patters. Last year my friend tried to talk me out of buying the Gore Skirt pattern. It has turned out to be one of my favorites. :-)
10/4/05 9:06 AM
dregan said...
When you removed an inch from the shoulder-arm length so would fall off shoulder, did you have to change the sleeve? add or take anything off of it?
10/16/07 7:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Burda 7597 BLOUSE
photo
Review by lamstu on 2/8/10
Read Review

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Hummingbird Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7521 Jiffy Caftan
photo
Review by Rosemarysc... on 9/29/07
Read Review

Simplicity 2617 Pattern( Size ONESIZE )
Simplicity 2617 Pattern( Size ONESIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1543 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 1543 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us