SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5203 (Cowl Top)

40 more reviews
Viewed 2026 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 138
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/20/05 9:26 AM
Last Updated:10/3/05 7:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
WOW - this looks great and the fabric really compliments the style. Very nice.
9/20/05 10:24 AM
Georgene said...
Lookin' good! Your tweaks take it to another level of fit, much more flattering.
9/20/05 10:40 AM
Elona said...
Very pretty, Patti! I love this top, and no matter what other tee patterns I buy (waaaay too many!), I keep coming back to this one. BTW, Loes says everyone starts out making her tees one size too large.
9/20/05 10:57 AM
SueV said...
very nice; love that fabric. Looks good on you.
9/20/05 11:17 AM
Mini said...
Nice adaptation. The 3/4 sleeves and shorter length look very up to date. I have used this pattern a lot, and also kept making these too big for some reason. Smaller is more flattering.
9/20/05 2:05 PM
Nickle said...
Love you top it looks great on you. I just love the fabric also.
9/20/05 5:11 PM
librarylady said...
ooooh, that's gorgeous. I have this pattern but haven't tried it yet. Now I will! I'm intrigued by the wooly nylon/looser tension solution. Thanks for a great review.
9/20/05 5:17 PM
jlg said...
Great looking top. Very becoming.
9/20/05 6:30 PM
AnneM said...
Neat fabric, nice top.
9/20/05 6:32 PM
KarmenG said...
Nice top and informative review. Thanks for the ideas
9/20/05 8:09 PM
LBJ said...
Very pretty. I love the fabric!
9/20/05 8:24 PM
Cambric Tea said...
All your changes really paid off, that's a wonderful fit. I love your color combination.
9/20/05 11:29 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Great looking/fitting top, Patty. That neckline is really flattering on you. I kept reading your review, expecting to find some info about how you'd pieced the fabric, and bias piecing of the top, etc...wow, so this is just how the fabric was to start with? ...very cool!
9/21/05 3:49 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely fabric. Made up so nice in this top. I have that same morbid fear simply because some things I make have come out too small. Top looks very nice on you.
9/21/05 4:08 AM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful work - The simple design suits the fabric so well. I like drop sleeves, but want to avoid too loose-fitting designs. Looks like you have overcome that drawback with your excellent fitting adjustments.
9/21/05 9:12 AM
PegL said...
Great top! Love the fabric!
9/21/05 8:12 PM
2ndHnd Rose said...
Your top looks great on you. Love that fabric. Thanks for the tips and a very informative review.
9/21/05 8:15 PM
Tesla121 said...
You look great in the top. Very flattering!
10/2/05 8:05 AM
joan said...
Love your top and skirt. They both look very nice on you. Where did you get your slinky...like that color? I agree with your comment about Loes' patterns. I have been sewing the Bolero Jacket of hers today.
10/3/05 8:41 PM
PegL said...
Very pretty outfit!! The color is very good on you! I also love Loes Hinse patterns.
10/3/05 8:46 PM
KarmenG said...
You must be so happy with the outfit. It is lovely. You are right about LH patterns.
10/3/05 11:07 PM
Patti B said...
Joan the slinky came from Stone Mountain & Daughter in Berkeley. I bought it just about 6 weeks ago so they may still have some. Thanks for all of the kind remarks. I know I will enjoy wearing all of the pieces.
10/4/05 8:38 AM
Gigi Louis said...
So pretty! I love the color. I know what you mean about Loes' patters. Last year my friend tried to talk me out of buying the Gore Skirt pattern. It has turned out to be one of my favorites. :-)
10/4/05 9:06 AM
dregan said...
When you removed an inch from the shoulder-arm length so would fall off shoulder, did you have to change the sleeve? add or take anything off of it?
10/16/07 7:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

HotPatterns Bad Witch/Good Witch Hat

photo
by: SewMentalM...

Review
Other none

photo
by: Learn To S...

Review
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Buy Now