Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 1703-1015 (Meltingly Beautiful Dress) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1979 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Georgene
photo
About Georgenestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/5/02
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/05 11:32 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Princess Jenny said...
It definitely lives up to its name. Just gorgeous! Stunningly elegant. :)
9/22/05 11:59 AM
Cambric Tea said...
That is a beautiful dress, Georgene. Very soft and sensuous design, and lovely fabric. Thank you so much for the review! (:
9/22/05 11:59 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a fabulous dress. This looks like something you would see on the "red carpet". Stunning.
9/22/05 12:01 PM
Jali said...
It's beautiful! It must be such happiness to own a well travelled dress:) with memories aplenty.
9/22/05 12:02 PM
Modiste Madness said...
A simple design combined with gorgeous and fabric to create a stunning dress. It is beautiful.
9/22/05 12:45 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That is so beautiful Georgene! What a wonderful life that dress has seen. Do you have a source for stretch panne velvet? I'm looking for about 12 yards of it right now. -Ann
9/22/05 1:00 PM
nheh said...
What a beautiful dress, and an equally wonderful story to go with it.
9/22/05 1:01 PM
Georgene said...
Ann, this fabric was originally a sample cut from Lee Fashion Fabrics, a wholesaler in NYC. Have you tried Spandex House? It seems like it would be right up their alley.
9/22/05 1:30 PM
LBJ said...
Beautiful! I can tell it's the kind of dress that you put on and instantly feel gorgeous.
9/22/05 1:33 PM
Patti B said...
How gorgeous and what wonderful tales it could tell of its glamorous life.
9/22/05 1:41 PM
Liana said...
Beautiful dress Georgene! I can see why it got this name. How nice that it's come home!
9/22/05 1:44 PM
PhyllisC said...
Oh.My.Gosh...that is so stunning. The trim - the fabric - everything. It's magic Georgene.
9/22/05 2:03 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
What else can be said?? Just stunning! LOVE it!!
9/22/05 2:48 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks for sharing this...I love the trim ideas!
9/22/05 3:13 PM
cindyann said...
Just lovely! I'm quite suprised that it made it's way back to you. I can see why someone might want to keep it for themselves. ;)
9/22/05 4:03 PM
MaryBeth said...
How beautiful. If only it could talk, the tales it could tell.... I love the neckline shape of the cardigan and the way it meets the dress's vee. I have to agree with the person who first christened this outfit.
9/22/05 4:18 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Georgene, it reminds me of something that would be featured on the back cover of Threads. I hope to see it there someday; it's beautiful!
9/22/05 4:28 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful dress; beautiful story. Thanks for sharing!
9/22/05 4:52 PM
els said...
Your dress is still gorgeous while it travelled all over the world. The secret is of course, high quality fabric and trims and your craftsmanship which is the result why this timeless elegant dress is still wearable today. Hope you can find an occasion to wear that dress by yourself soon. BTW did you received a wedding picture from your friends wedding in St.Petersburg ?
9/22/05 5:07 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Speechless, just speechless here in SF. It evokes the most wonderful gowns from the golden days of Hollywood of the thirties. Thank you for sharing this luscious gem.
9/22/05 11:30 PM
hongkongshopper said...
What a lovely story (and outfit to match). Does it bring good luck like the Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants?
9/22/05 11:49 PM
kathi s said...
Georgine, the story of your beautiful dress could be made into a movie (sort of like "The Yellow Cadillac" -if you remember that one)! I love your dress!
9/23/05 0:03 AM
PVA said...
I think Karla hit the nail on the head! This creation is just what one would find on the back of Threads. It is truly awesome. My dear, you have a tremendous gift & thank heaven you nuture it & grow with it. Thank you for sharing your work with us!
9/23/05 0:49 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow!
9/23/05 5:45 AM
Anne Frances said...
I love the combination of dress and cardigan - they look stunning together and it makes the dress so versatile. This is the kind of quality of design and making that turns heads anywhere but actually no money can buy! Fabulous- what an heirloom!
9/23/05 8:09 AM
Maychi said...
Gorgeous! I love the cuffs! So beautiful!
9/23/05 9:00 AM
MickeyFan said...
What a treasure. The classic styling makes this dress timeless. I love the story of this ensemble's travels. I think you should document it and keep the tradition going!
9/23/05 9:23 AM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful is the first word that comes to my mind when looking at your dress! What a stunner!
9/23/05 4:43 PM
Annika said...
Holy God, I thought I'd died and gone to heaven. It is gorgeous!
9/23/05 6:42 PM
madcap85 said...
It is a beautiful dress, thank you for the review. It makes me want to make one myself, after I finish about 200 lbs of existing fabric off.
9/23/05 7:15 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Gorgeous, timeless design. I appreciate your sharing your thoughts regarding your fabric and trim, what you did, how it behaved as a result. Very instructive. Thanks!
9/23/05 8:37 PM
SewTabby said...
Such a stunning ensemble that looks like a perfect design for almost ANY occasion. Truly outstanding.
9/24/05 10:03 AM
Elona said...
What a remarkable ensemble--not just the execution (mind-blowing though that is)--but the whole shimmery, Lady-of-the Lake concept. I agree: It really does belong on the back cover of Threads!
9/24/05 10:59 AM
AnneM said...
Just wear it around the house! Lovely, timeless. The trim really adds a nice touch - thanks for sharing that.
9/28/05 5:04 AM
Karla Kizer said...
This came up on the rotisserie and I couldn't resist commenting, just to pull it back from the "archives". There are probably thousands of PR people who didn't get a chance to see it a few years ago.
3/8/07 8:35 PM
CarolynGM said...
Karla -- Thanks for bringing this to the top. Somehow I missed it when Georgene initially reviewed it. A gorgeous dress with remarkable history!
3/9/07 9:38 AM
Bobinator said...
I made a dress for a recital for my dance instructor using the same fabric purchased at Wal-Mart for $1.00 a yard! I swore that I would never, ever again sew with this stuff even though the dress came out very well! Your outfit is absolutely beautiful so say the least!
9/16/07 10:13 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Like Karla, when this came up on the sidebar I just had to go admire it all over again. I have dubbed crushed panne velvet the Evil Fabric to Be Avoided, but, hm, y'know, this looks so good.... ;)
10/23/07 2:37 PM
valerie sews said...
I'm also glad this review came up on the side bar. This dress/ensemble is an inspiration and I feel jealous of the adventurous life she's had!
3/15/08 5:47 AM
Nancy K said...
This seems to be one of those rare garments that get better with age. The fabric is gorgeous and it is such a timeless dress. It appeared on the side line, I had never seen the review before, and it drew me in so that I just had to click on it. It is really lovely.
10/27/08 7:50 PM
racehorse said...
I have never seen this dress before but it came up on the sidebar. Simply gorgeous! I'll have to get some velvet to play around after seeing what you have done with this dress.
9/20/11 4:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Vogue Patterns 1056
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 8/7/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)
Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used No Pattern Used Rag Jacket
photo
Review by Gail S on 11/15/04
Read Review

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8817 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8817 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6781 Pattern
New Look 6781 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us