SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4760 (Men's/Boy's Collared Shirts)

26 more reviews
Viewed 984 times 
Reviewed by:twistedangel
photo

 
 
About twistedangelstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/18/05
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/05 3:18 PM
Last Updated:9/26/05 6:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    Kids(boys & girls)    Mens - Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
showMEhow2sew said...
I'm using this pattern now and I'm having a problems with the sleeves not fitting on the front/back properly. I double checked to be sure i cut the same size for all pieces, I had. The instructions do not state that it needs gathered or eased but I'm assuming it does. Thanks for your review, it verifies my suspicions.
6/11/14 2:17 PM
russb wa said...
I bought this pattern because of a tutorial on youtube. I am good with written things. The trick is to read all the way through, not trying to understand. Sleep on it. Then, after your subconscious digests, thing should make sense. I just hated trying to read the way it was written. Will read again.
1/14/12 5:07 PM
AnneM said...
Tall fellow! I'm certain you will find the right pattern. I'll be interested in reading how the Burda pattern works for you.
9/28/05 6:52 PM
lisaquilts said...
This is a great job. Thanks for the review. I had a similar challenge, but found KS 2777 to work well also. It's broader in the shoulders, has a back pleat, and fits my slim DH pretty well. I'm not sure if your BF would find the KS too "blousy" (like too loose up top), but it is pretty easy to put together. You've done a great job here.
9/27/05 8:54 PM
KimB said...
Are you thinking of Burda 8824? It's definitely more of a "fitted shoulder" shirt. I made it up and chose the size based on a shirt that DBF loved, and I should have sized down based on his actual measurements. C'est la vie, but it seems closer to what you're looking for.
9/26/05 10:47 PM
Rosie who use to be Rose said...
Hmmm...maybe it would work better with a stretch woven. It certainly LOOKS good. Thanks for the review.
9/26/05 6:59 PM
twistedangel said...
Talitha, that's a really good point! And another point on what this shirt is lacking... I'm on to the Burda pattern now ...
9/26/05 6:52 PM
twistedangel said...
Talitha, that's a really good point! And another point on what this shirt is lacking... but this shirt is pretty much the same as another pricey shirt he has, other than the arms, which have a larger armhole and more ease. I'm on to the Burda pattern now ...
9/26/05 6:46 PM
Talitha said...
Where is it tight when he raises his arms? The sleeve looks plenty loose, but when he raises his arms I bet he feels like he's going to rip the sleeves out of the shirt. Raising the arms makes the upper back expand, and I notice this pattern doesn't have an "ease pleat" at the upper center back. Without an ease pleat (or sufficient "oversizing" to give that same ease), it'll probably always pull.
9/26/05 5:33 PM
PhyllisC said...
"Be advised that this pattern is not as easy as they want you to think."...oh, man - I can think of *plenty* of patterns that applies to! Good review.
9/26/05 3:57 PM
Tiner W said...
It looks nice on him. Thanks for the review!
9/26/05 3:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Vogue Patterns 7371

photo
by: Cosso

Review
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now