Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4760 (Men's/Boy's Collared Shirts) thumbsup - Type:Mens    printable version
Viewed 976 times 26 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:twistedangel
photo
About twistedangelstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/18/05
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 103 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/05 3:18 PM
Last Updated:9/26/05 6:50 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    Kids(boys & girls)    Mens - Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $14.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
It looks nice on him. Thanks for the review!
9/26/05 3:46 PM
PhyllisC said...
"Be advised that this pattern is not as easy as they want you to think."...oh, man - I can think of *plenty* of patterns that applies to! Good review.
9/26/05 3:57 PM
Talitha said...
Where is it tight when he raises his arms? The sleeve looks plenty loose, but when he raises his arms I bet he feels like he's going to rip the sleeves out of the shirt. Raising the arms makes the upper back expand, and I notice this pattern doesn't have an "ease pleat" at the upper center back. Without an ease pleat (or sufficient "oversizing" to give that same ease), it'll probably always pull.
9/26/05 5:33 PM
twistedangel said...
Talitha, that's a really good point! And another point on what this shirt is lacking... but this shirt is pretty much the same as another pricey shirt he has, other than the arms, which have a larger armhole and more ease. I'm on to the Burda pattern now ...
9/26/05 6:46 PM
twistedangel said...
Talitha, that's a really good point! And another point on what this shirt is lacking... I'm on to the Burda pattern now ...
9/26/05 6:52 PM
Rosie who use to be Rose said...
Hmmm...maybe it would work better with a stretch woven. It certainly LOOKS good. Thanks for the review.
9/26/05 6:59 PM
KimB said...
Are you thinking of Burda 8824? It's definitely more of a "fitted shoulder" shirt. I made it up and chose the size based on a shirt that DBF loved, and I should have sized down based on his actual measurements. C'est la vie, but it seems closer to what you're looking for.
9/26/05 10:47 PM
lisaquilts said...
This is a great job. Thanks for the review. I had a similar challenge, but found KS 2777 to work well also. It's broader in the shoulders, has a back pleat, and fits my slim DH pretty well. I'm not sure if your BF would find the KS too "blousy" (like too loose up top), but it is pretty easy to put together. You've done a great job here.
9/27/05 8:54 PM
AnneM said...
Tall fellow! I'm certain you will find the right pattern. I'll be interested in reading how the Burda pattern works for you.
9/28/05 6:52 PM
russb wa said...
I bought this pattern because of a tutorial on youtube. I am good with written things. The trick is to read all the way through, not trying to understand. Sleep on it. Then, after your subconscious digests, thing should make sense. I just hated trying to read the way it was written. Will read again.
1/14/12 5:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Butterick 4290 T Shirt tops
photo
Review by Sandi S on 2/27/09
Read Review

Burda 9448 Pattern
Burda 9448 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2318 Pattern( Size S )
Simplicity 2318 Pattern( Size S )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3095 jacket
photo
Review by shard on 4/24/04
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.10
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us