SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5243 (Unisex Jacket and Pullover)

Viewed 834 times 
Reviewed by:Jules/Vancouver BC
photo

 
 
About Jules/Vancouver BCstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 1/8/03
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/05 11:21 PM
Last Updated:10/2/05 11:26 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great looking jacket. This should keep your friend warm. Nice Review.
9/26/05 11:54 PM
twistedangel said...
I like it! Looks very RTW! Good job!
9/27/05 0:16 AM
Steffie said...
Nice job! Thanks for the info on the sweater knit fleece - I have been wondering what it was like. I may have to try some of that!
9/27/05 9:57 AM
ryan's mom said...
Jacket looks great--very RTW look! BTW, did you have any problems with your seams stretching with this sweater-knit fleece? I made a jacket for my son out of it and had to stabilize the neckline and shoulder seams. The fabric seemed to have a lot of stretch, more so than just the "regular" MM 200 weight fleece.
9/28/05 8:12 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Great job -- the topstitching just makes such a difference doesn't it?
9/28/05 8:33 AM
AnneM said...
I'm using the sweater-look fleece right now also; great stuff. NIce jacket - such a great style.
9/28/05 7:29 PM
Johsews said...

10/2/05 11:47 PM
Johsews said...
I just made DH a Kwiksew vest out of great sweater fleece and agree about the stretchiness- I used a woven selvedge to stabilize the shoulder seams and used a cotton lycra knit to bind the neck seam so the raw edges don't show. Nice job on your jacket- you will get multiple requests for them!
10/2/05 11:48 PM
a. sHEWAN said...
I agree the top looks great! Any problems with putting in the zipper? I have only put one in a fleece jacket and it went very wavey!! So much that I did not finish it. Any suggestions? Great job especially if it is your first one!!
10/3/05 7:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 7371

photo
by: Cosso

Review
McCall's 5590

photo
by: CissieW

Review
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now