Online Sewing Class: Put it on the Bias
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5243 (Unisex Jacket and Pullover)

Viewed 834 times 
Reviewed by:Jules/Vancouver BC
photo

 
 
About Jules/Vancouver BCstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 1/8/03
Reviews: 26 (patterns: 20)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/05 11:21 PM
Last Updated:10/2/05 11:26 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
a. sHEWAN said... (10/3/05 7:44 AM) Reply
I agree the top looks great! Any problems with putting in the zipper? I have only put one in a fleece jacket and it went very wavey!! So much that I did not finish it. Any suggestions? Great job especially if it is your first one!!
Johsews said... (10/2/05 11:48 PM) Reply
I just made DH a Kwiksew vest out of great sweater fleece and agree about the stretchiness- I used a woven selvedge to stabilize the shoulder seams and used a cotton lycra knit to bind the neck seam so the raw edges don't show. Nice job on your jacket- you will get multiple requests for them!
Johsews said... (10/2/05 11:47 PM) Reply

AnneM said... (9/28/05 7:29 PM) Reply
I'm using the sweater-look fleece right now also; great stuff. NIce jacket - such a great style.
SouthernStitch said... (9/28/05 8:33 AM) Reply
Great job -- the topstitching just makes such a difference doesn't it?
ryan's mom said... (9/28/05 8:12 AM) Reply
Jacket looks great--very RTW look! BTW, did you have any problems with your seams stretching with this sweater-knit fleece? I made a jacket for my son out of it and had to stabilize the neckline and shoulder seams. The fabric seemed to have a lot of stretch, more so than just the "regular" MM 200 weight fleece.
Steffie said... (9/27/05 9:57 AM) Reply
Nice job! Thanks for the info on the sweater knit fleece - I have been wondering what it was like. I may have to try some of that!
twistedangel said... (9/27/05 0:16 AM) Reply
I like it! Looks very RTW! Good job!
Mary Stiefer said... (9/26/05 11:54 PM) Reply
What a great looking jacket. This should keep your friend warm. Nice Review.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Material Things little things made

photo
by: mindimudd

Review
Vogue Patterns 1262

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Pattern Details
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details