Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7947 (Five Easy Pieces) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
  4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:SewingBunny
photo
About SewingBunnystar
CT USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/07 8:20 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
christine A said...
Wow. Looks wonderful. It is hard to believe it is an 'easy' pattern as it looks so detailed!
10/12/06 5:40 PM
CarolynD said...
This suit is very smart and sophisticated. I have trouble with shoulders sometimes, I don't know if the excess upper sleeve fit is a shoulder fit issue? I never thought I had narrow shoulders but I often have to trim patterns down.
10/12/06 6:05 PM
sewingfordolls said...
It really looks beautiful and you obviously did a great job....I love the other one you are working on too....
10/12/06 6:25 PM
calzone said...
I love this suit. What really sets it apart are the buttons and the mandarin collar. Conservative yet stylish.
10/12/06 6:27 PM
CarolynGM said...
I made this jacket last year and love it -- wear it a lot. Yours looks so nice on you.
10/12/06 7:42 PM
Robbie Jo said...
Very Nice!
10/12/06 7:46 PM
Tiner W said...
Very lovely!
10/12/06 8:34 PM
ryan's mom said...
Your suit looks terrific--very RTW!
10/12/06 8:43 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great interview suit!
10/12/06 8:44 PM
Erica B. said...
Very nice suit. I'm sure this will be a great wardrobe enhancement.
10/12/06 8:44 PM
nancy2001 said...
Aek, your suit is so smart looking. But there must be a glitch in the Vogue pattern info photo. It shows a slinky evening dress that doesn't look anything like a tailored suit.
10/12/06 8:56 PM
Re Becca said...
Your buttons do so much to brighten up and add interest to the suit. Great job, I like the fitted look.
10/12/06 10:09 PM
JeanEsther said...
I just pulled this jacket pattern out Sunday and was so pleased to see your review today! What interfacing did you use? Did you interface just where the pattern suggested? The outfit looks great.
10/12/06 10:24 PM
Mufffet said...
This is beautiful. very nice fit, color and your details - the buttons are so very chic. Pretty advanced advanced beginner here.
10/12/06 10:52 PM
Ec said...
those buttons are ADORABLE!!!! They MAKE the suit! Wow! You'd really impress wearing this suit to an interview!
10/13/06 1:33 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, what a gorgeous suit. As Christine A says, "hard to believe it is an 'easy' pattern". Looks stunning on you and so beautifully fitted.
10/13/06 3:17 AM
SBanks said...
Nice suit! The buttons really make it unique. Thanks for the tip for a quick, easy suit pattern.
10/13/06 4:56 AM
Nickle said...
Beautiful suit. Love the buttons.
10/13/06 6:24 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Wow, that looks so professional! And great choice on the buttons...
10/13/06 6:27 AM
jewelsfashions said...
I love how your suit turned out. I also have this pattern. I made the pullover top and never got back to buying material for the jacket and pants. After seeing how yours turned out I will have to make a suit also. Just have a few other projects I have to get done first. Thanks for the review!
10/13/06 8:46 AM
moss said...
that looks sooooooooooo good. My next project (someday!) is going to be a suit. Nice job.
10/13/06 10:28 AM
Patzee said...
The perfect outfit for a career fair! You chose well.
10/13/06 3:45 PM
Carolyndh said...
Your suit really looks professional--perfect for the college job fair, and a great fit on you as well. Well done!
10/13/06 8:55 PM
SewingBunny said...
JeanEsther, I used a plain woven cotton fusible I picked up at Joann's. I followed the directions and interfaced the collar and front facing. If I were to make this again I would probably choose something a little less stiff for the front facing - maybe Armo Weft.
10/14/06 0:54 AM
AnneM said...
I don't think anyone is going to mistake you for a UPS man anytime soon. Great, quick, smart looking outfit. (Super buttons.)
10/15/06 8:23 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a great suit and what a great review! One of my fave vintage 40s patterns is for a jacket that looks very similar to yours, even down to the split dart. Your suit is beautiful! Very well done!
5/26/07 10:27 PM
Marji said...
Very smart looking. Good luck with the interviews.
5/27/07 2:52 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great jacket! It looks so polished and perfect with your new skirt. Good luck with your interviews!!
5/27/07 12:56 PM
Stilltheone said...
WOW! That is fantastic. I love the fabric and the buttons. I think you can say that you are far more advanced than a beginner.
5/27/07 5:07 PM
SewingBunny said...
Em's Summer - I also love the vintage style suits! One of the things that attracted me to using this pattern was that it wasn't the typical blazer style suit.
5/28/07 0:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

No Pattern Used none
photo
Review by KG2 on 10/25/09
Read Review

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Keyka Lou Patterns
photo
Review by sew4dasoul on 5/5/09
Read Review

Butterick 5973 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5973 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5681 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 5681 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us