SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7947 (Five Easy Pieces)

4 more reviews
Reviewed by:SewingBunny
photo

 
 
About SewingBunnystar
CT USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/07 8:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
christine A said...
Wow. Looks wonderful. It is hard to believe it is an 'easy' pattern as it looks so detailed!
10/12/06 5:40 PM
CarolynD said...
This suit is very smart and sophisticated. I have trouble with shoulders sometimes, I don't know if the excess upper sleeve fit is a shoulder fit issue? I never thought I had narrow shoulders but I often have to trim patterns down.
10/12/06 6:05 PM
sewingfordolls said...
It really looks beautiful and you obviously did a great job....I love the other one you are working on too....
10/12/06 6:25 PM
calzone said...
I love this suit. What really sets it apart are the buttons and the mandarin collar. Conservative yet stylish.
10/12/06 6:27 PM
CarolynGM said...
I made this jacket last year and love it -- wear it a lot. Yours looks so nice on you.
10/12/06 7:42 PM
Robbie Jo said...
Very Nice!
10/12/06 7:46 PM
Tiner W said...
Very lovely!
10/12/06 8:34 PM
ryan's mom said...
Your suit looks terrific--very RTW!
10/12/06 8:43 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great interview suit!
10/12/06 8:44 PM
Erica B. said...
Very nice suit. I'm sure this will be a great wardrobe enhancement.
10/12/06 8:44 PM
nancy2001 said...
Aek, your suit is so smart looking. But there must be a glitch in the Vogue pattern info photo. It shows a slinky evening dress that doesn't look anything like a tailored suit.
10/12/06 8:56 PM
Re Becca said...
Your buttons do so much to brighten up and add interest to the suit. Great job, I like the fitted look.
10/12/06 10:09 PM
JeanEsther said...
I just pulled this jacket pattern out Sunday and was so pleased to see your review today! What interfacing did you use? Did you interface just where the pattern suggested? The outfit looks great.
10/12/06 10:24 PM
Mufffet said...
This is beautiful. very nice fit, color and your details - the buttons are so very chic. Pretty advanced advanced beginner here.
10/12/06 10:52 PM
Ec said...
those buttons are ADORABLE!!!! They MAKE the suit! Wow! You'd really impress wearing this suit to an interview!
10/13/06 1:33 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, what a gorgeous suit. As Christine A says, "hard to believe it is an 'easy' pattern". Looks stunning on you and so beautifully fitted.
10/13/06 3:17 AM
SBanks said...
Nice suit! The buttons really make it unique. Thanks for the tip for a quick, easy suit pattern.
10/13/06 4:56 AM
Nickle said...
Beautiful suit. Love the buttons.
10/13/06 6:24 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Wow, that looks so professional! And great choice on the buttons...
10/13/06 6:27 AM
jewelsfashions said...
I love how your suit turned out. I also have this pattern. I made the pullover top and never got back to buying material for the jacket and pants. After seeing how yours turned out I will have to make a suit also. Just have a few other projects I have to get done first. Thanks for the review!
10/13/06 8:46 AM
moss said...
that looks sooooooooooo good. My next project (someday!) is going to be a suit. Nice job.
10/13/06 10:28 AM
Patzee said...
The perfect outfit for a career fair! You chose well.
10/13/06 3:45 PM
Carolyndh said...
Your suit really looks professional--perfect for the college job fair, and a great fit on you as well. Well done!
10/13/06 8:55 PM
SewingBunny said...
JeanEsther, I used a plain woven cotton fusible I picked up at Joann's. I followed the directions and interfaced the collar and front facing. If I were to make this again I would probably choose something a little less stiff for the front facing - maybe Armo Weft.
10/14/06 0:54 AM
AnneM said...
I don't think anyone is going to mistake you for a UPS man anytime soon. Great, quick, smart looking outfit. (Super buttons.)
10/15/06 8:23 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a great suit and what a great review! One of my fave vintage 40s patterns is for a jacket that looks very similar to yours, even down to the split dart. Your suit is beautiful! Very well done!
5/26/07 10:27 PM
Marji said...
Very smart looking. Good luck with the interviews.
5/27/07 2:52 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great jacket! It looks so polished and perfect with your new skirt. Good luck with your interviews!!
5/27/07 12:56 PM
Stilltheone said...
WOW! That is fantastic. I love the fabric and the buttons. I think you can say that you are far more advanced than a beginner.
5/27/07 5:07 PM
SewingBunny said...
Em's Summer - I also love the vintage style suits! One of the things that attracted me to using this pattern was that it wasn't the typical blazer style suit.
5/28/07 0:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Izzy & Ivy Designs 138

photo
by: MBE

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 225240-1001

photo
by: Char in KS

Review