SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7947 (Five Easy Pieces)

4 more reviews
Reviewed by:SewingBunny
photo

 
 
About SewingBunnystar
CT USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/07 8:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewingBunny said...
Em's Summer - I also love the vintage style suits! One of the things that attracted me to using this pattern was that it wasn't the typical blazer style suit.
5/28/07 0:54 AM
Stilltheone said...
WOW! That is fantastic. I love the fabric and the buttons. I think you can say that you are far more advanced than a beginner.
5/27/07 5:07 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great jacket! It looks so polished and perfect with your new skirt. Good luck with your interviews!!
5/27/07 12:56 PM
Marji said...
Very smart looking. Good luck with the interviews.
5/27/07 2:52 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a great suit and what a great review! One of my fave vintage 40s patterns is for a jacket that looks very similar to yours, even down to the split dart. Your suit is beautiful! Very well done!
5/26/07 10:27 PM
AnneM said...
I don't think anyone is going to mistake you for a UPS man anytime soon. Great, quick, smart looking outfit. (Super buttons.)
10/15/06 8:23 PM
SewingBunny said...
JeanEsther, I used a plain woven cotton fusible I picked up at Joann's. I followed the directions and interfaced the collar and front facing. If I were to make this again I would probably choose something a little less stiff for the front facing - maybe Armo Weft.
10/14/06 0:54 AM
Carolyndh said...
Your suit really looks professional--perfect for the college job fair, and a great fit on you as well. Well done!
10/13/06 8:55 PM
Patzee said...
The perfect outfit for a career fair! You chose well.
10/13/06 3:45 PM
moss said...
that looks sooooooooooo good. My next project (someday!) is going to be a suit. Nice job.
10/13/06 10:28 AM
jewelsfashions said...
I love how your suit turned out. I also have this pattern. I made the pullover top and never got back to buying material for the jacket and pants. After seeing how yours turned out I will have to make a suit also. Just have a few other projects I have to get done first. Thanks for the review!
10/13/06 8:46 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Wow, that looks so professional! And great choice on the buttons...
10/13/06 6:27 AM
Nickle said...
Beautiful suit. Love the buttons.
10/13/06 6:24 AM
SBanks said...
Nice suit! The buttons really make it unique. Thanks for the tip for a quick, easy suit pattern.
10/13/06 4:56 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, what a gorgeous suit. As Christine A says, "hard to believe it is an 'easy' pattern". Looks stunning on you and so beautifully fitted.
10/13/06 3:17 AM
Ec said...
those buttons are ADORABLE!!!! They MAKE the suit! Wow! You'd really impress wearing this suit to an interview!
10/13/06 1:33 AM
Mufffet said...
This is beautiful. very nice fit, color and your details - the buttons are so very chic. Pretty advanced advanced beginner here.
10/12/06 10:52 PM
JeanEsther said...
I just pulled this jacket pattern out Sunday and was so pleased to see your review today! What interfacing did you use? Did you interface just where the pattern suggested? The outfit looks great.
10/12/06 10:24 PM
Re Becca said...
Your buttons do so much to brighten up and add interest to the suit. Great job, I like the fitted look.
10/12/06 10:09 PM
nancy2001 said...
Aek, your suit is so smart looking. But there must be a glitch in the Vogue pattern info photo. It shows a slinky evening dress that doesn't look anything like a tailored suit.
10/12/06 8:56 PM
Erica B. said...
Very nice suit. I'm sure this will be a great wardrobe enhancement.
10/12/06 8:44 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great interview suit!
10/12/06 8:44 PM
ryan's mom said...
Your suit looks terrific--very RTW!
10/12/06 8:43 PM
Tiner W said...
Very lovely!
10/12/06 8:34 PM
Robbie Jo said...
Very Nice!
10/12/06 7:46 PM
CarolynGM said...
I made this jacket last year and love it -- wear it a lot. Yours looks so nice on you.
10/12/06 7:42 PM
calzone said...
I love this suit. What really sets it apart are the buttons and the mandarin collar. Conservative yet stylish.
10/12/06 6:27 PM
sewingfordolls said...
It really looks beautiful and you obviously did a great job....I love the other one you are working on too....
10/12/06 6:25 PM
CarolynD said...
This suit is very smart and sophisticated. I have trouble with shoulders sometimes, I don't know if the excess upper sleeve fit is a shoulder fit issue? I never thought I had narrow shoulders but I often have to trim patterns down.
10/12/06 6:05 PM
christine A said...
Wow. Looks wonderful. It is hard to believe it is an 'easy' pattern as it looks so detailed!
10/12/06 5:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

More Info
Self Drafted Pattern 115082-1002

photo
by: allycovey

Review