SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2900 (Misses' t-shirts & turtleneck)

40 more reviews
Viewed 1544 times 
Reviewed by:keelyb1
photo

 
 
About keelyb1star
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 10/11/02
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/05 6:02 AM
Last Updated:10/4/05 9:37 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Maternity    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
keelyb1 said...
Thank you, ryansmom. I've followed your efforts on the boards with interest and I when I came close to giving up I did think of you. I know this still needs a bit of tweaking but it is already lots better than RTW (I went and tried on loads to remind myself.) It certainly is worth the effort in the end!
10/5/05 3:55 PM
ryan's mom said...
You did a great job on this top. Perseverance is the name of the game with an FBA. The more we do these with different fabrics, it becomes easier I think.
10/5/05 7:53 AM
mamamaia said...
Nice top and great colour. I admire your perseverance. For the further tweaking: maybe take a bit of the schoulder might get rid of some extra fabric on the upper bust. If you do, you might have to lengthen the sleeves, because they get pulled up a bit.
10/5/05 2:33 AM
Judy Williment said...
Woohoo! Well done Keely! Fit looks good, colour is definitely you, and I look forward to the variations! (I'd have quit around about where the first attempt hit the floor!)
10/4/05 11:22 PM
mizvi said...
Hahaha---i love the mother of all fba's! Your top looks really nice on you. I like the color. How cool that this project has made you so happy!
10/4/05 10:49 PM
keelyb1 said...
Ok, 4th time lucky. I've given up on yahoo and gone back to photobucket. Please, please, please let this work! I am sorry. I know it can be irritating when photos don't work. I'll have to get Judy to explain v-e-r-y slowly and in words of one syllable how to get yahoo to work. :)
10/4/05 9:41 PM
mizvi said...
hmmm-still can't into see your pictures! ha ha --I mean see into your pictures!
10/4/05 8:37 PM
keelyb1 said...
Ok, now I've got the photos working in a bigger size. I'll have to practice with this I think.
10/4/05 3:19 PM
keelyb1 said...
I think I've got the photos working now. Sorry I don't know what happened there, they were working fine when I went to bed. They now seem to be opening as thumbnails? I'll try to get onto this after work. Mini, it was a lot of work but more I think from the fact I didn't have the foggiest clue of what I was doing to start with. I just keep telling myself it'll be worth it in the end. I'm full-busted and a bit fluffy around the middle so had fitting issues to deal with. Thanks for the tip about S5469, I'll have to have a look at it.
10/4/05 3:10 PM
CatherineN said...
Can you make your photos available? I would like to see your efforts as I have this pattern also. Good, detailed review.
10/4/05 11:52 AM
Mini said...
P.S. Check out the reviews for Simplicity 5469, a plus sized tee with a FBA already drafted in.
10/4/05 9:35 AM
Mini said...
I can't see your photos, but it sounds like an awful lot of work to get this patten to fit. Kwik Sew has a distinctive way of drafting patterns that works for some people really well, but can be problematic for others. Maybe it would be worthwhile to try a t-shirt pattern from a different pattern company to see if their basic draft works better for your figure. If you are short, it might be that the armholes on this pattern are too low, and that can lead to all kinds of other fit problems. Burda, New Look or Simplicity night be good place to look for knit tops with more shaping and a different fit in the back and shoulders. Also, if you have a top that fits well, comparing the pattern pieces to the finished top can help diagnose the problem.
10/4/05 9:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Buy Now