SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 3246-1002 (evening wear)

Viewed 2261 times 
Reviewed by:els
photo

 
 
About elsstarstar
NA NETHERLANDS
Member since: 1/28/03
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/10/05 10:16 PM
Last Updated:4/10/10 8:17 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ladyslipper said...
Absolutely gorgeous. Thanks for the very detailed review.
10/10/05 10:26 PM
drsue said...
What a fabulous dress! What lucky girl is going to get it?
10/10/05 10:34 PM
casken said...
Very beautiful! Love the colour of the fabric.
10/10/05 10:39 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Oh my gosh - this looks great.
10/10/05 10:48 PM
KarmenG said...
SOOOO Wonderful!!! Such Eye Candy! Love it! Beautiful color. Thanks for all the details on the waist treatment - something I will try. Did you win the competition?
10/10/05 11:26 PM
CatherineN said...
Beautiful .
10/11/05 0:16 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Els, thank you for a great review, the outfit is perfect!!!
10/11/05 0:46 AM
Siberia said...
This is such a pretty dress. I really admire people who can draft their own patterns--it seems like magic to me!
10/11/05 0:53 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Oh Els, that outfit is stunning! I'm so glad to hear that you had time to make something for the competition! I'm sure they gave you a first prize - right? Thank you for showing us all the pictures and the detailed steps.
10/11/05 1:41 AM
Eli said...
I admire your knowledge, talent and skills... I only wish one day I can a bit measure up... Gorgeous.....
10/11/05 2:17 AM
Maychi said...
Stunning! I'm in awe! I truly admire your drafting and sewing skills.
10/11/05 2:41 AM
AnneM said...
Wonderful. Absolutely love the colors. The skirt is great in motion as well, based on your catwalk picture.
10/11/05 4:16 AM
ClaireC said...
What a gorgeous, stunning outfit. Your niece had the perfect figure to show this to its best advantage. Congratulations on 2nd prize. You should have rec'd 1st prize
10/11/05 5:02 AM
2muchfabric said...
Absolutley gorgeous dress and very helpful review. Thank you so much for explaining your work, and for all the tips and photos. Congratulations on your prize!
10/11/05 6:23 AM
MaryBeth said...
Yay!!! Congratulations els!!! I love the lines of the bustier and the flow of the skirt. This is a very special dress and fits your niece so very well. I hope she'll have the need to wear it someplace special. Thanks for all the details and photos you've shared, I'll be referring to it should I ever have to make an evening gown.
10/11/05 6:30 AM
Susan Dryer said...
Congratulations on winning a prize. The ensemble is gorgeous. I enjoyed reading your informative review.
10/11/05 6:32 AM
Nickle said...
What a beautiful gown and enjoyed your review. Congrats on your award.
10/11/05 7:14 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
All I can say is WOW!!! That is stunning. So when are you going to finally 'fess up and change your rating to Expert/Couture? -Ann
10/11/05 7:37 AM
ConnieBJ said...
ELs that is simply beautiful - congratulations on the 2nd place prize!
10/11/05 7:39 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Stunning!! I adore the colour and the tulle you used! I love your idea of adding an extra section of lining under the zipper to take some of the stress, and I am also impressed with how you snapped the bottom of the zipper in place. I saw Karl Ludwig's collection recently and he did the same thing. It is such an ingenious idea and yet so simple. Congrats on 2nd prize.
10/11/05 7:52 AM
PhyllisC said...
Els - really my dear - I beg you to change your rating. Pretty please? :o) ...and your review is an *excellent* tutorial on making this type of garment.
10/11/05 9:02 AM
sherri2sew said...
awe inspiring!
10/11/05 9:35 AM
PVA said...
Ohmygosh, the dress is just absolutely beautiful! I just can't find enough words! Please, Els, heed Ann & Phyllis's request to upgrads your skills. This review certainly shows that you've earned it! Congratulations on your 2nd prize!
10/11/05 9:55 AM
pharmercoon said...
You were robbed!---there is no way that 1st prize was any better!! It is sturnning!Thanks for sharing your expertise! Kay
10/11/05 10:30 AM
Cambric Tea said...
Els, you've created a masterpiece. Hooray for Els!
10/11/05 11:16 AM
CarrieA said...
I'm speechless. Thank you for detailing your creative process and showing what real couture looks like! Beautiful.
10/11/05 12:12 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Oh how elegant - I LOVE that pic of your niece walking the runway!! This is just too cool. Thanks for sharing.
10/11/05 3:51 PM
Gilraen Surion said...
Agreeing with all comments but in Dutch. Schitterend!!
10/11/05 4:36 PM
els said...
Thank you all for the nice comments and congratulations. drsue, It was made only to take part of the competition so there was no client who order it and pay for it either, I will keep the outfit and shoes just to take a peek once in a while.
10/11/05 5:53 PM
Jill Giard said...
Great review! Congratulations on your prize!
10/11/05 7:04 PM
SewingSkater said...
Perfect! I love the color, what a beautiful dress!!
10/12/05 6:35 AM
Annika said...
Yayyy! Your outfit is fantastic! I love how the skirt flows when she is walking. The color choice is perfect!
10/15/05 9:37 AM
Sew it seams said...
Absolutely fabulous! Thank you so much Els, for the wonderful tutorial. I will be printing and saving this for future reference! Congratulations!!
10/15/05 10:07 AM
Georgene said...
Yes, Els - it's time to change your rating, and stop hiding your light under a bushel! If you don't feel you are at an expert sewing level yet, you *are* at an expert patternmaking level. This ensemble is really wonderful and I love your bustier tutorial. Where did you learn this built-in bust shaping technique?
10/15/05 10:37 AM
Carina said...
If I didn't say it before - it's absolut smashing!
10/15/05 12:47 PM
cindyann said...
Once again, I missed this. I've been asked to do some formal wear for a friends daughter. After seeing this masterpiece, I'm beginning to get terrified. Your skill is amazing. You are my sewing hero.
3/31/06 10:54 AM
Tany said...
Els, this is the best review I've ever read here on PR! I will save all this info because this review is a great knowledge source for me. Your dress is perfect and I have no words to describe my admiration for your work.
3/12/07 9:08 AM
Sweet P said...
I stumbled across this site today and quickly joined. I realize this dress was posted two years ago but just had to comment. This is a beautiful dress! It fits the model perfectly. Your instructions are very helpful. Thank you for being thorough.
9/9/07 1:10 PM
no7262 said...
I wish I could see it, the picture link is broken Nora :(
4/11/10 7:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Burda 7625

photo
by: Anne Cherr...

Review
Marfy 2568

photo
by: merteuil

Review
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now