SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 215: Empire Dress (Empire Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1196 times 
Reviewed by:marionetta
photo

 
 
About marionettastar
VA USA
Member since: 10/4/05
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/05 11:18 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Princess Jenny said...
Your costumes are so incredibly lovely. Very inspirational. And you are just perfect in all of them :) You look as if you belong in a play. Gorgeous!!!
10/5/05 11:27 AM
Annika said...
What fabric did you use for the saffron colored dress? What pattern did you use for the overdress? The color combo is delicious!
10/5/05 12:19 PM
touran said...
Very lovely - especially the choice of color.
10/5/05 1:16 PM
marionetta said...
Thanks for all the compliments everyone! Annika - the fabric I used was a silk habotai. I wanted something really drapey and flowing, I was going for a more exotic empire look a la "Immortal Beloved". The overdress is my redraft of one in Janet Arnold's Patterns of Fashion.
10/5/05 7:07 PM
sewkal said...
You look like you've just stepped out of a Jane Austen novel--beautiful.
10/5/05 7:09 PM
Georgene said...
I've always wanted an excuse to wear a tiara! This is my all time favorite costume period. Love your version.
10/5/05 7:13 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Fantastic! I just love the Janet Arnold series of books, too! Thanks for sharing your luminous gown.
10/5/05 7:21 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful!
10/6/05 6:09 AM
SewingSusan said...
Just beautiful. I agree that the colors are amazing. And the shoes are perfect.
10/6/05 6:41 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What an incredibly sexy dress! If I'm ever in need of an evening gown I might have to try this one.
10/6/05 8:54 AM
SewTabby said...
I've been ogling this pattern for a long time. Yours is stunning!
10/6/05 4:17 PM
KiwiWendy said...
I gaped and ogled at your Immortal self. Yes to the flattering.
7/17/06 3:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 5927

photo
by: Sirena Sol

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2012-13

photo
by: ClaireEmil...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Buy Now
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now