SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 215: Empire Dress (Empire Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1197 times 
Reviewed by:marionetta
photo

 
 
About marionettastar
VA USA
Member since: 10/4/05
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/05 11:18 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KiwiWendy said...
I gaped and ogled at your Immortal self. Yes to the flattering.
7/17/06 3:49 AM
SewTabby said...
I've been ogling this pattern for a long time. Yours is stunning!
10/6/05 4:17 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What an incredibly sexy dress! If I'm ever in need of an evening gown I might have to try this one.
10/6/05 8:54 AM
SewingSusan said...
Just beautiful. I agree that the colors are amazing. And the shoes are perfect.
10/6/05 6:41 AM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful!
10/6/05 6:09 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Fantastic! I just love the Janet Arnold series of books, too! Thanks for sharing your luminous gown.
10/5/05 7:21 PM
Georgene said...
I've always wanted an excuse to wear a tiara! This is my all time favorite costume period. Love your version.
10/5/05 7:13 PM
sewkal said...
You look like you've just stepped out of a Jane Austen novel--beautiful.
10/5/05 7:09 PM
marionetta said...
Thanks for all the compliments everyone! Annika - the fabric I used was a silk habotai. I wanted something really drapey and flowing, I was going for a more exotic empire look a la "Immortal Beloved". The overdress is my redraft of one in Janet Arnold's Patterns of Fashion.
10/5/05 7:07 PM
touran said...
Very lovely - especially the choice of color.
10/5/05 1:16 PM
Annika said...
What fabric did you use for the saffron colored dress? What pattern did you use for the overdress? The color combo is delicious!
10/5/05 12:19 PM
Princess Jenny said...
Your costumes are so incredibly lovely. Very inspirational. And you are just perfect in all of them :) You look as if you belong in a play. Gorgeous!!!
10/5/05 11:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

More Info
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

More Info