SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 215: Empire Dress (Empire Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1196 times 
Reviewed by:marionetta
photo

 
 
About marionettastar
VA USA
Member since: 10/4/05
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/05 11:18 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Princess Jenny said...
Your costumes are so incredibly lovely. Very inspirational. And you are just perfect in all of them :) You look as if you belong in a play. Gorgeous!!!
10/5/05 11:27 AM
Annika said...
What fabric did you use for the saffron colored dress? What pattern did you use for the overdress? The color combo is delicious!
10/5/05 12:19 PM
touran said...
Very lovely - especially the choice of color.
10/5/05 1:16 PM
marionetta said...
Thanks for all the compliments everyone! Annika - the fabric I used was a silk habotai. I wanted something really drapey and flowing, I was going for a more exotic empire look a la "Immortal Beloved". The overdress is my redraft of one in Janet Arnold's Patterns of Fashion.
10/5/05 7:07 PM
sewkal said...
You look like you've just stepped out of a Jane Austen novel--beautiful.
10/5/05 7:09 PM
Georgene said...
I've always wanted an excuse to wear a tiara! This is my all time favorite costume period. Love your version.
10/5/05 7:13 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Fantastic! I just love the Janet Arnold series of books, too! Thanks for sharing your luminous gown.
10/5/05 7:21 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful!
10/6/05 6:09 AM
SewingSusan said...
Just beautiful. I agree that the colors are amazing. And the shoes are perfect.
10/6/05 6:41 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What an incredibly sexy dress! If I'm ever in need of an evening gown I might have to try this one.
10/6/05 8:54 AM
SewTabby said...
I've been ogling this pattern for a long time. Yours is stunning!
10/6/05 4:17 PM
KiwiWendy said...
I gaped and ogled at your Immortal self. Yes to the flattering.
7/17/06 3:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Kwik Sew 3486

photo
by: White Rabb...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 177593-1002

photo
by: montanachi...

Review