Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Folkwear: 215: Empire Dress (Empire Dress) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 1196 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:marionetta
photo
About marionettastar
VA USA
Member since: 10/4/05
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/5/05 11:18 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Princess Jenny said...
Your costumes are so incredibly lovely. Very inspirational. And you are just perfect in all of them :) You look as if you belong in a play. Gorgeous!!!
10/5/05 11:27 AM
Annika said...
What fabric did you use for the saffron colored dress? What pattern did you use for the overdress? The color combo is delicious!
10/5/05 12:19 PM
touran said...
Very lovely - especially the choice of color.
10/5/05 1:16 PM
marionetta said...
Thanks for all the compliments everyone! Annika - the fabric I used was a silk habotai. I wanted something really drapey and flowing, I was going for a more exotic empire look a la "Immortal Beloved". The overdress is my redraft of one in Janet Arnold's Patterns of Fashion.
10/5/05 7:07 PM
sewkal said...
You look like you've just stepped out of a Jane Austen novel--beautiful.
10/5/05 7:09 PM
Georgene said...
I've always wanted an excuse to wear a tiara! This is my all time favorite costume period. Love your version.
10/5/05 7:13 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Fantastic! I just love the Janet Arnold series of books, too! Thanks for sharing your luminous gown.
10/5/05 7:21 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful!
10/6/05 6:09 AM
SewingSusan said...
Just beautiful. I agree that the colors are amazing. And the shoes are perfect.
10/6/05 6:41 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What an incredibly sexy dress! If I'm ever in need of an evening gown I might have to try this one.
10/6/05 8:54 AM
SewTabby said...
I've been ogling this pattern for a long time. Yours is stunning!
10/6/05 4:17 PM
KiwiWendy said...
I gaped and ogled at your Immortal self. Yes to the flattering.
7/17/06 3:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8411
photo
Review by edupraz on 2/26/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8767 Vintage Vogue
photo
Review by calypso on 10/17/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3509 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3509 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us