Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cutting Line Designs: 31371 (One Seam Pant) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 3423 times 25 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Mini
photo
About Ministarstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 3/21/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/9/01 7:27 PM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Mini, very well written review!
1/7/02 6:15 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I made these pants and agree with the Mini about the fit, will not make these pants again!
2/28/02 10:50 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I have made at least 4 pairs of these pants and love them. I agree that the Burda pant seems not quite as full in the leg, even the tapered view. This pattern is best made up in fabric with a good drape and a little weight to it. I have several pairs in heavy washed linen, a sueden rayon pair and a couple rayon blend pairs. I didn't fit into any one size just right when I looked the finished measurements so I pinch a 1/4" out of the side seam, which amounts to 1" total removal in circumference and they have just the right amount of ease. Some of mine I wear big belts over and some I just let the little tucks show. You will get the crotch just right if you follow her detailed instructions. I have helped many people fit this and the main disappointment is the width of the leg. So only thing I would say, don't think that this is a narrow leg and have real expections for this pattern. I don't like the pockets and all the other stuff either.
3/20/02 10:32 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I have made this pattern in linen (shorts) and faux seude (full pants). the pants I made with a drawstring waist. They were terrifically fast and I've worn them a lot all fall and winter. I haven't tried any of the pockets. I'd like to draft a side patch pocket one of these days. thing is, I reach for this pattern when I need something fast, so I haven't taken the time to draw the pocket or determine placement!
3/20/02 11:26 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
For the plus sized woman the Cutting Line One Seam pant is great! There is plenty of ease but it is definitely not baggy. The size X-Large plus is a very accurate size 22 - 24. I only needed to add length.
7/15/02 10:31 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Terry McCormick said...
Thanks for another excellent review - I'm a pocket person - need some place for my reading glasses, change, tickets for this and that - lots of stuff - so pants without pockets are days without sunshine to me - so may well give these a try - appreciated all your comments.
3/13/03 10:24 PM
Mini said...
Terry, this pattern does have pockets, but they are rather tricky to make. The "elephant ear" inside pocket is also not very functional-it would probably rip if you carry anything heavy. I wouldn't recommend buying this pattern if you just want pockets. It is a good pattern if its full cut appeals to you, but there are better methods for adding pockets. I often add patch pockets to my Burdas, and other pocket styles are also possible. Have you seen Deepika's review of Stretch and Sew 704? This one seam pattern has a wonderful pocket method that can be used on any pants or skirt. The same pocket is also shown in the Stretch and Sew Guide to Sewing on Knits. (It can be used on any fabric too-not just knits). Claire Schaeffer's books also have some good and easy pocket methods. I didn't review Stretch and Sew 704, but I like it better than this one. It is a good choice for curvy women: not as full as the Louise Cutting pattern, not as trim as the Burdas, and it comes with the excellent pocket instructions.
3/14/03 3:27 PM
Rebecca D said...
Mini - thanks for this review. I've been back and forth about which pattern to go with and it seems like the Burda is a better go since I like a trimmer look.
6/26/03 2:13 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Mini, thank you --years later--for writing this review. I wanted to compare the Cutting to the Burda pattern because I want a more tapered pant (I have been fighting with the Burda). Now thanks to you I will save myself more frustration. Back to the drawing board!
5/5/06 7:54 PM
librarylady said...
Mini, whenever I'm in doubt, I search out your reviews! Many thanks.
8/9/07 6:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-117
photo
Review by ladylola on 9/3/05
Read Review

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $15.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Alpine Wonderland Puffy Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Alpine Wonderland Puffy Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5520
photo
Review by atmomma on 12/18/07
Read Review

McCalls 6755 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
McCalls 6755 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )
McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us