SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Cutting Line Designs> 31371 (One Seam Pant)

25 more reviews
Viewed 3423 times 
Reviewed by:Mini
photo

 
 
About Ministarstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 3/21/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/9/01 7:27 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Mini, very well written review!
1/7/02 6:15 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I made these pants and agree with the Mini about the fit, will not make these pants again!
2/28/02 10:50 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I have made at least 4 pairs of these pants and love them. I agree that the Burda pant seems not quite as full in the leg, even the tapered view. This pattern is best made up in fabric with a good drape and a little weight to it. I have several pairs in heavy washed linen, a sueden rayon pair and a couple rayon blend pairs. I didn't fit into any one size just right when I looked the finished measurements so I pinch a 1/4" out of the side seam, which amounts to 1" total removal in circumference and they have just the right amount of ease. Some of mine I wear big belts over and some I just let the little tucks show. You will get the crotch just right if you follow her detailed instructions. I have helped many people fit this and the main disappointment is the width of the leg. So only thing I would say, don't think that this is a narrow leg and have real expections for this pattern. I don't like the pockets and all the other stuff either.
3/20/02 10:32 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I have made this pattern in linen (shorts) and faux seude (full pants). the pants I made with a drawstring waist. They were terrifically fast and I've worn them a lot all fall and winter. I haven't tried any of the pockets. I'd like to draft a side patch pocket one of these days. thing is, I reach for this pattern when I need something fast, so I haven't taken the time to draw the pocket or determine placement!
3/20/02 11:26 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
For the plus sized woman the Cutting Line One Seam pant is great! There is plenty of ease but it is definitely not baggy. The size X-Large plus is a very accurate size 22 - 24. I only needed to add length.
7/15/02 10:31 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Terry McCormick said...
Thanks for another excellent review - I'm a pocket person - need some place for my reading glasses, change, tickets for this and that - lots of stuff - so pants without pockets are days without sunshine to me - so may well give these a try - appreciated all your comments.
3/13/03 10:24 PM
Mini said...
Terry, this pattern does have pockets, but they are rather tricky to make. The "elephant ear" inside pocket is also not very functional-it would probably rip if you carry anything heavy. I wouldn't recommend buying this pattern if you just want pockets. It is a good pattern if its full cut appeals to you, but there are better methods for adding pockets. I often add patch pockets to my Burdas, and other pocket styles are also possible. Have you seen Deepika's review of Stretch and Sew 704? This one seam pattern has a wonderful pocket method that can be used on any pants or skirt. The same pocket is also shown in the Stretch and Sew Guide to Sewing on Knits. (It can be used on any fabric too-not just knits). Claire Schaeffer's books also have some good and easy pocket methods. I didn't review Stretch and Sew 704, but I like it better than this one. It is a good choice for curvy women: not as full as the Louise Cutting pattern, not as trim as the Burdas, and it comes with the excellent pocket instructions.
3/14/03 3:27 PM
Rebecca D said...
Mini - thanks for this review. I've been back and forth about which pattern to go with and it seems like the Burda is a better go since I like a trimmer look.
6/26/03 2:13 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Mini, thank you --years later--for writing this review. I wanted to compare the Cutting to the Burda pattern because I want a more tapered pant (I have been fighting with the Burda). Now thanks to you I will save myself more frustration. Back to the drawing board!
5/5/06 7:54 PM
librarylady said...
Mini, whenever I'm in doubt, I search out your reviews! Many thanks.
8/9/07 6:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now