SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5204 (Italian Blouse)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1245 times 
Reviewed by:CarrieA
photo

 
 
About CarrieAstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/7/02 8:06 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
I went to the fabric store to pick up this pattern, and decided to look at the instructions before buying it. You are right-they are not clear. In fact, they are really bad. Experienced sewers who have made similar blouses can just ignore the instruction sheet and use their favorite methods. Beginners will have to waste time trying to guess what the designer meant.
9/8/02 9:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Carrie, I've been sewing since 5th grade and you are right about these instructions. Although I am a LH fan, I had trouble with the collar (the dot to dot, not edge to edge thing) as well. Great review, and I agree about the fit as well.
9/8/02 4:23 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Carrie - excellent review. I have just finished this blouse also. I have been sewing for years and am still learning - I have learned a lot from mistakes I made along the way!!
9/8/02 3:35 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Carrie, I am so glad that you posted your review with such a thorough description of the collar instructions! I am working on the Italian Blouse now and had to cut out a new collar because of the problems that I have had. Thank you very much!
9/8/02 11:21 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This blouse is very beautiful, basting is very important as Mini mentioned, as is ironing along the way , not just in the end when the cloth is ready, these two things are very helpful.Karen your absolutely right, it still happens to all of us only not so often, luckily.
9/8/02 3:07 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Carrie, thank you for the review and particularly your tips about the collar. I am going to sew up this pattern soon and would not have known these things. You probably saved a lot of people's shirts! :)
9/7/02 11:14 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Congratulations on getting started sewing-you are going to have lots of fun, and a great wardrobe of unique clothing. I want to share a sewing tactic that helps me a lot. I have learned-after many mistakes-that the more I baste the less I rip. I like to hand baste my collars before doing the real machine stitching. If something isn't right it is easy to pull out the hand stitches and start over-and I (almost) never have to rip out machine stitches. I am planning to sew this pattern, and your comments on the instructions will help me avoid some problems.
9/7/02 9:55 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Carrie, I've been sewing since I was four, and I'm forty-nine now. I don't know whether it will make you feel better or worse, but I still make mistakes both big and small. A good seam ripper is an essential piece of equipment for all of us -- as we sew, so shall we rip. The only way to fail, really, is to just give up and stop sewing! By the way, your fabric sounds really lovely. I'm sure we'd all like to see a picture!
9/7/02 9:31 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Simplicity 2590

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

More Info
Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

More Info
Burda 8347

photo
by: myraminx

Review