Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5204 (Italian Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1243 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:CarrieA
photo
About CarrieAstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/7/02 8:06 PM
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Carrie, I've been sewing since I was four, and I'm forty-nine now. I don't know whether it will make you feel better or worse, but I still make mistakes both big and small. A good seam ripper is an essential piece of equipment for all of us -- as we sew, so shall we rip. The only way to fail, really, is to just give up and stop sewing! By the way, your fabric sounds really lovely. I'm sure we'd all like to see a picture!
9/7/02 9:31 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Congratulations on getting started sewing-you are going to have lots of fun, and a great wardrobe of unique clothing. I want to share a sewing tactic that helps me a lot. I have learned-after many mistakes-that the more I baste the less I rip. I like to hand baste my collars before doing the real machine stitching. If something isn't right it is easy to pull out the hand stitches and start over-and I (almost) never have to rip out machine stitches. I am planning to sew this pattern, and your comments on the instructions will help me avoid some problems.
9/7/02 9:55 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Carrie, thank you for the review and particularly your tips about the collar. I am going to sew up this pattern soon and would not have known these things. You probably saved a lot of people's shirts! :)
9/7/02 11:14 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This blouse is very beautiful, basting is very important as Mini mentioned, as is ironing along the way , not just in the end when the cloth is ready, these two things are very helpful.Karen your absolutely right, it still happens to all of us only not so often, luckily.
9/8/02 3:07 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Carrie, I am so glad that you posted your review with such a thorough description of the collar instructions! I am working on the Italian Blouse now and had to cut out a new collar because of the problems that I have had. Thank you very much!
9/8/02 11:21 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Carrie - excellent review. I have just finished this blouse also. I have been sewing for years and am still learning - I have learned a lot from mistakes I made along the way!!
9/8/02 3:35 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Carrie, I've been sewing since 5th grade and you are right about these instructions. Although I am a LH fan, I had trouble with the collar (the dot to dot, not edge to edge thing) as well. Great review, and I agree about the fit as well.
9/8/02 4:23 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I went to the fabric store to pick up this pattern, and decided to look at the instructions before buying it. You are right-they are not clear. In fact, they are really bad. Experienced sewers who have made similar blouses can just ignore the instruction sheet and use their favorite methods. Beginners will have to waste time trying to guess what the designer meant.
9/8/02 9:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Vogue Patterns 1020 wardrobe
photo
Review by KrystalL on 6/5/08
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8471 Men's shirt
photo
Review by Vintage Jo... on 4/4/08
Read Review

New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us