Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2745 (Wedding Dress) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 5101 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 38 people   
Reviewed by:Asa Hagstrom
photo
About Asa Hagstromstarstar
NA SWEDEN
Member since: 9/19/02
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/8/05 2:48 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
68 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
How beautiful! And how individual and well suited to you....I am impressed that you came thru all the steps needed in such a cool and calm manner - at least you gave the apperance of that! PR is the best resource for information and hand-holding for a project of such magnitude. Your portrait photo is just wonderful.
10/8/05 3:12 PM
mamafitz said...
lovely lovely dress! congratulations!
10/8/05 3:15 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you for sharing the details of how your beautiful gown came to be. Thank you for all of your fine tips, they are all so inspirational!!
10/8/05 3:34 PM
Mlle Laura said...
You looked simply beautiful on your very special day, a true reflection of all your hard work. Thank you for such a detailed review.
10/8/05 3:35 PM
zinnia said...
Beautiful! Congratulations! I adore you hair, with the swirls/ringlets and flowers! Thank you for sharing your special day!
10/8/05 4:09 PM
Linda E. said...
Beautiful dress, Thanks for sharing it all with us. The tips are great in your review.
10/8/05 4:14 PM
MarilynB said...
Thank you for sharing your wedding dress adventure. The pattern and fabric are perfect together. Your wedding pictures are lovely. I also like the slip. You should try making it again as a nightie.
10/8/05 5:02 PM
Mandolin82 said...
What a perfect dress! And a helpful review too.
10/8/05 5:17 PM
Lisette said...
Everything looks beautiful, specially the bride. Congratulations and thanks for sharing
10/8/05 5:30 PM
Cambric Tea said...
What a GREAT review! Thank you for all the details and muslin pics and storyline. YOU look soo beautiful.
10/8/05 5:41 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Oh Åsa, you look so beautiful! Wonderful dress, great review, and many happy returns! -Ann
10/8/05 6:08 PM
drsue said...
You hard work really paid off! the dress is just perfect in every way.
10/8/05 6:33 PM
AliceB said...
I thoroughly enjoyed reading of your adventure making your very beautiful wedding dress. It suits you wonderfully. Alice
10/8/05 6:34 PM
bunz said...
Great review, great dress (love that "swish" while dancing). Thanks for sharing so much w us.
10/8/05 6:59 PM
Levone said...
You and your dress are beautiful. Great job on it and great review!
10/8/05 7:25 PM
RobynB said...
Asa, thanks for a fabulous review. Your dress is gorgeous and I admire all the thought and dedication that went into the making. the little bolero that you made is lovely too - I hope you get a chance to wear it too!
10/8/05 7:28 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Your dress just *glows*. What an amazing color. You must have been a nervous wreck - wedding dress, silk, - and bias, no less! You look fantastic in it. Thanks for sharing the pictures.
10/8/05 7:38 PM
luvzdogz said...
Your dress is breathless! Everything you did is absolutely perfect! Have you ever thought about being a wedding planner? You have a talent for this - really! After looking at the photographs I even feel like I've been to your wedding, except one thing, I'd like a piece of that delicious dessert! Congratulations!
10/8/05 7:42 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Just stunning!
10/8/05 7:53 PM
Jblaze said...
I love pattern review for giving us a place to share one another's joys and triumphs! Your dress is stunning and you look beautiful. Thank you for sharing your pictures.
10/8/05 7:55 PM
PhyllisC said...
Åsa - thank you so much for a wonderful review and a great story. You really persevered and the results are spectacular. Lovely wedding - elegant bride - gratulerar!
10/8/05 8:51 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Asa, grattis!! What a beautiful bride! your dress is amazing, wonderful work, and i enjoyed reading about the whole process. thanks for sharing this with us!!!
10/8/05 8:52 PM
PhyllisC said...

10/8/05 8:55 PM
els said...
Åsa thanks for the review of your gorgeous wedding dress, it was nice to read it all again in a thorough review. You accomplished a lot of sewing techniques while you were so busy making that beautiful dress.
10/8/05 9:04 PM
pharmercoon said...
You look gorgeous! I really enjoyed all the photos-thanks for sharing! Congrats! Kay
10/8/05 9:13 PM
shard said...
lovely! thank you so much for the review. i wish you both a long and magical life together!
10/8/05 10:40 PM
Lori V said...
Simply stunning. Your review is wonderful, thanks for all the tips and pictures.
10/8/05 10:58 PM
DD'Onfro said...
Åsa, you made a beautiful dress and wrote a great review. You have an amazing eye for detail. Thank you for sharing. -Danielle
10/8/05 11:52 PM
Ann Smith said...
What a wonderful dress, wedding and review! Thanks so much for sharing all the photos. You look just fabulous. I especially love your hairdo with the red flowers.
10/8/05 11:59 PM
Maychi said...
Åsa, you and the dress both look so beautiful. Congratulations on your wedding and on making a gorgeous dress.
10/9/05 2:51 AM
PixieCat said...
What a special review and absolutely gorgeous dress! It's so stunning on you and I've enjoyed reading about your journey making it.
10/9/05 4:19 AM
valerie sews said...
How beautiful you look..and thank you for an excellent review.
10/9/05 4:59 AM
MaryBeth said...
Congrats again! I've appreciated having a window into your wedding dress designing and your wedding day through your posts here at PR. This review fills in the gaps on the dress process. You look so beautiful. I wouldn't have picked that fabric by myself but it was just the perfect choice, wasn't it? Oh la la!
10/9/05 5:37 AM
Oziroo said...
I so enjoyed reading this and looking at all the pictures. Thankyou. You looked really beautiful.
10/9/05 5:37 AM
Rustybobn said...
Oh! I love it. All of it. Thanks for letting us have a peek. The dress, the slip, and especially the bride were just beautiful.
10/9/05 6:22 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely! It's nice to see the "formal" pictures (finally ;). I agree with you on the gathered shoulder - it adds a really nice touch.
10/9/05 7:35 AM
candyo said...
Congratulations on your wedding! It looked very pretty! And what a beautiful dress! You did such a good job on it!
10/9/05 7:54 AM
SewingSusan said...
You are a radiant bride and that dress is just amazing.
10/9/05 7:56 AM
Anne Frances said...
Thank you for this very full and helpful review and for sharing your lovely photos. You look stunning and so happy and the dress is a triumph. Congratulations
10/9/05 8:47 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You look gorgeous, your dress is fantastic. You did an excellent job.
10/9/05 8:59 AM
ryan's mom said...
So beautiful! Thanks for sharing all your lovely pictures, and I loved reading your review.
10/9/05 9:37 AM
Jali said...
Thank you for the review of the elegant dress and a glimpse into your lovely wedding. You look and must feel really happy indeed. Congratulations!
10/9/05 10:16 AM
Queendom said...
What a great review! Thanks for taking the time to do this.
10/9/05 11:30 AM
sewkal said...
Asa- the dress is stunning, and you look beautiful. I also love the colors you chose for the flowers, accessories, etc. I wish you and DH a lifetime of happiness!
10/9/05 12:24 PM
Judy Williment said...
What a gorgeous dress for a stunning bride. (And I LOVE your red shoes! )
10/9/05 7:37 PM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
gorgeous dress, gorgeous shoes, gorgeous hair, gorgeous bride, gorgeous husband! that fabric was perfect for that dress - especially when dancing!
10/10/05 2:01 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Thank you for all your sweet comments and well-wishes! I showed them to DH, and he says "thank you" too :)

I never could have pulled this off without PR, at least not in such a relaxed and confident way. There was always someone here to help and to give an opinion when I had a problem or question. You all are the best!
10/10/05 2:16 AM

Gigi Louis said...
Åsa, your dress is gorgeous! I love the the cut, the color - everything about it. You look so beautiful - love your hair too. Thanks for sharing your wedding photos. They are always fun to look at.
10/10/05 6:33 AM
SueV said...
BEAUTIFUL, thanks for sharing. Love the red shoes and flowers!
10/10/05 1:05 PM
cindyann said...
Beautiful, Asa! Your wedding portraits are lovely and showcase your amazing dress very well. Thank you for the details on it's construction. The contrast of the red flowers and shoes is a wonderful addition to the bridal ensemble. You look radiant!
10/10/05 4:19 PM
Soph said...
Congratulations! Best wishes always! I bought this Vogue pattern yesterday! :-) You've certainly inspired me! I'll follow your steps. THANK YOU! Sophie
10/10/05 6:24 PM
Mary Ann Morton said...
Congratulations and the very best wishes for a happy life ahead! And thank you so much for sharing your wonderful photos....!
10/10/05 7:49 PM
SandraB said...
Wow Asa! First of all congratulations again, on your marriage. I wish for you a lifetime of happiness with your DH. Your dress is beautiful and you did a really good job on it. I am very impressed with all the hard work that you put into it. Thanks for sharing those lovely wedding pictures.
10/11/05 9:42 AM
Schnauzer said...
Absolutely beautiful, you and the dress. Congratulations!
10/16/05 9:12 PM
SouthernStitch said...
I cannot believe I missed this review earlier! This is just beautiful -- so suited to you. I love love the color and style. Hand rolled hems what a feat!
12/16/05 12:57 PM
Liana said...
I can't believe I missed this review either! I faithfully followed the thread on your progress, and this is just so lovely. Thanks for all the details, and all the great photos! You look beautiful!
1/22/06 9:59 PM
Nancy Anne said...
I am considering sewing my daughter a prom dress after a hiatus from sewing and read this review in hopes of finding a possible candidate. I am so glad I did! Just seeing your beautiful dress and the process you went through to get it to where it was made it very worth the read. Thank you!
2/7/06 7:17 PM
Mufffet said...
Lovely dress, and lovely bride! Very good review of the entire process which helped me because I had never seen the method of doing a hand rolled hem! Very very nice.
2/15/06 12:17 PM
Petallica said...
Hi Åsa, Great review! Inspiring photos! I had bought this pattern with the intention of making a wedding dress but got a bit worried after making a trial run of the slip because of the bunching above my derrière and the 1980's Madonna style pointy darts. Your review is going to be a great help in getting the pattern to fit before I cut into the satin I bought. What I would really like to do is make the dress with the slip bodice (in satin) and the overdress bodice (tissue thin chiffon) together. Do you have any idea whether this would work out? I need to do a small bust reduction as well, so I guess there's a second muslin in the works, I think its going to be a race till the wedding!
3/26/06 9:06 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Hi Petallica, how exciting for you to make your wedding dress!

Hopefully the bunching in the back can be avoided by adding a CB seam, like I did. The darts can be sewn smaller, and the rest eased in, or maybe you can add a new armhole dart to take up half of the dart control? If you're lucky, your small bust alteration will make the dart small enough...

I'm trying to visualize what you want to do when sewing the slip and dress together. This would be like lining the dress, right? If you use the separate patterns as they are, the edges won't align at the neck. I was thinking that you might use the dress pattern for both layers, and be careful which way you turn the seam allowances, so that they are not seen through the transparent layer. If your underlayer is too thick, there might be a problem with the shoulder gathering.

If you want to discuss this more, feel free to PM me!
3/27/06 2:27 PM

Petallica said...
Hi Åsa, thanks for replying. I can't see a PM option anywhere, may have something to do with this being my free trial month?? Feel free to PM me though. The idea with the bodice is that I sew the slip bodice (double sided) in the satin of the dress body including with ribbon straps (I've had a test run of this, and will repeat it to check my SBR). I am also cutting it a bit lower across the bust (small breasts don't need that much covering!). Then I would make the dress bodice in the chiffon (probably gathering instead of sewing a dart) and attach both bodices to the dress body. In effect I get a different coloured bodice with the overlay of thin chiffon and a bit more modesty beacuse the dress bodice is much bigger than the slip bodice (and has the sweet gathering at the shoulder). The big question is if the dress will sit properly with the two bodices attached to the skirt. then I'll line the skirt with the slip body. Yeah, well I had a few Vera Wang dresses in my head, and optimism... as always...
3/28/06 10:03 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Oh, I think I follow! The problem would be that the empire seams are not identical on the slip and the dress - the seams below the bust on the slip and the dress don't align (neither in the front nor in the back). How about redrafting the slip bodice, basing it on the dress bodice?
3/30/06 11:39 AM
Deepika said...
breathtaking is the right word. Its absolutely out of this world and you look gorgeous! Thanks for sharing this with us.
3/30/06 1:17 PM
Pam in Amsterdam said...
what a lovely wedding dress, Asa! congrs to your wedding. BTW, this shop is my favourite, centre of Amsterdam, near Prinsengracht in a small street direction Dam square. My lined drapes, dupion silk are from this shop. 3 scarves, one of them made with inspiration of Sandra Betzina book No Time to Sew. When will you come in Amsterdam with your DH again I will show you 3 other silk shops in the city.
4/29/06 6:23 PM
Annika said...
I don't know how I missed this review, but it is sooo gorgeous! I love that champagne colored charmeuse. Simply elegant.
4/27/07 3:59 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
How in the world did I miss this review the first time 'round? I followed every step of your progress much less calmly than you experienced it and am so happy for your gorgeous results. The swish of the skirt and red sandals in the action shot are my favorite. Although I've cyber-known you for years, this is the first time I've noticed your striking resemblance to Scarlett Johansson.
7/14/07 4:56 PM
Huldra said...
What a beautiful wedding dress! You put so much work into that, and it looks like it was worth it!
8/20/07 6:11 PM
RuthieSews said...
Asa, I never read this review until it showed up as a featured review in the side bar. It is a lovely dress and a wonderfully detailed review.
12/9/07 11:09 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2007-112 Blouse
photo
Review by BettyMike on 7/20/08
Read Review

Butterick 5044 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5044 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5600 misses dress
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 4/25/11
Read Review

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $14.06
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us