Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2804 (Cowl Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2968 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 338
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 239
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/02 5:39 PM
Last Updated:9/9/02 12:23 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
What a great and thorough review, Deepika! Guess I have to add another pattern to my wish-list! Looking forward to seeing the photo.
9/8/02 6:00 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, I can't believe you have been sewing such a short time! And here you are already doing things like "twisted cowls"; I can't wait to see the photo as I must admit I had read Marcy's technique and decided it looked too tricky to be dependable. Any glitches in applying the cowl?
9/8/02 7:08 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Oh, and Deepika, I forgot the most important thing which is to thank you for this marvellous web site. I am totally engrossed with it.
9/8/02 7:09 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Great review, Deepika!
9/8/02 8:26 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
You guys are so kind. The only reason this site is becoming so popular is because of the wonderful community here! Baberuth, no the cowl went in simply... but I cheated a little. I'll update my review when I add the photo. The only reason I am not adding the photo is because I am working on another top from the left over fabric and I want to review that one too.
9/8/02 8:38 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika - great top. What do you mean by your 'forward shoulder adjustment'? Thanks!
9/9/02 8:15 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Great top, Deepika. Love the twisted cow.
9/9/02 9:25 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
mary, as a result of spending so much time in front of the computer, my shoulders are tilted slightly forward as a result the shoulder seam does on sit actually on my shoulder but pushes backwards. What that does is especially on turtlenecks, the neck wants to go backwards and it kinda strangles me. Read this post where Gigi explains how to do it.
9/9/02 10:06 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
baberuth I just edited my review to explain the twisted cowl application.
9/9/02 12:24 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, it looks better than the ones in shops, a lot better, you did it again!!!
9/9/02 4:13 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Another smashing top! I had to add this pattern to my wish list. Guess what my luggage will be full of when I come back to London from my next visit home? ;-)
9/9/02 8:22 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Deepika - your instructions re twisted cowl (sounds like a rock band) are clearer now and easier to understand than Marcy Tilton's. I'm beginning to think Kwik Sew patterns are just as well made as Loes Hinse patterns - what do you think?
9/9/02 10:35 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
"I'm beginning to think Kwik Sew patterns are just as well made as Loes Hinse patterns " EVEN BETTER! and very well drafted! IMHO
9/9/02 11:33 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I think they should send us their new patterns to test - what do you think? ;-)
9/9/02 11:44 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Good grief, I am such a moron - just saw that I left a comment about a twisted cow (!), obviously I meant cowl.
9/9/02 11:45 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
"just saw that I left a comment about a twisted cow (!)"....Yeah - I remember that group! Didn't they have a hit single in '68?
9/9/02 11:49 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Gigi, - we knew what you meant anyway. Question is : which is a better name for a rock group: Twisted Cow or Twisted Cowl? I love your idea of testing patterns - but not just for KwikSew - for lots of companies! How would we pursue this idea?
9/12/02 0:58 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, this is beautiful and thanks for the twisted cow ;)
9/14/02 9:13 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Z said...
Thanks for your insight. Since the front and back armholes are identical I thought it would be necessary to "correct an unbalanced armhole" per Marcy Tilton's book. Thanks for your insight. Your turtleneck is lovely. This boatneck t-shirt view is my first Kwik Sew pattern. I hope my top turns out to look as good as yours.
3/22/04 8:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 8/25/10
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Veronica Pocketbook
Veronica Pocketbook

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-101
photo
Review by Kim12469 on 11/27/09
Read Review

New Look 6188 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6188 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6531 Pattern
New Look 6531 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us