SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2849 (Princess-seamed blouse)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1228 times 
Reviewed by:lisaquilts
photo

 
 
About lisaquiltsstar
VA USA
Member since: 4/24/05
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/13/05 12:26 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking blouse. I love the fabric. I think you are right about a few darts. That should make it a bit more form fitting. Good job. Sounds like you thought all the changes out for your next blouse from this pattern.
10/13/05 12:29 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Lovely fabric, and yes with a few darts it'll be very nice. In the meantime you could wear it open with a tank underneath. Thanks, for the detail photos of the different parts.
10/13/05 12:49 PM
Teri said...
I love you fabric. It makes a very pretty blouse.
10/13/05 1:04 PM
Dixielynn said...
Good job and nice fabric...feminine......I think you are right about the interfacing. I Usually don't even think NOT to interface. If the fabric has a lot of body...well, do we have to follow the rules/ Also, I use a tricot interfacing on stuff I don't want overwhelmed. What do you mean about putting an invisible zipper in the middle...?....do you mean on the side seam?
10/13/05 2:15 PM
quiltsammon said...
Sooo cute!!
10/13/05 2:47 PM
GwenV said...
It looks very comfortable. I agree with the darts idea, too. Interesting about the lack of interfacing even on some of the more expensive rtw.
10/13/05 3:34 PM
Pam Z said...
Hi Lisa. Beautiful fabric choice! Did you omit the princess seams in your shirt? I don't see seams in the close ups of your shirt. Perhaps that's why it isn't as fitted as you'd like? Also, you may want to use a lighter weight interfacing in the placket & cuffs.
10/13/05 3:46 PM
sherri2sew said...
Really like the squared off cuff detail and your fabric choice was great.
10/13/05 4:19 PM
Tailypo said...
I always love your fabric choices! Nice shirt, once you tweak the fit I'm sure it will be a favorite.
10/14/05 1:55 PM
kmouse said...
Enjoyed the review. Your fabric is lovely and I thought your placket is executed well. Pattern layout is great too. I love fabrics like that but often don't purchase them as I am afraid I will mess that up. Seems like all your future sewing changes will be perfect.
10/16/05 8:26 AM
AnneM said...
Your top is very cute. It does seem like it would be more form-fitting based on the pattern diagram. But still a worth-while top!
10/28/05 7:45 PM
gaz-mom said...
thanks for the hint on top-stitching from the middle! Never occured to me before. I love your blouse too.
8/14/06 0:00 AM
kbryan said...
That is really cute! And it looks good on you too. Have you made the pattern again?
12/25/06 12:32 PM
kbryan said...
That is really cute! And it looks good on you too. Have you made the pattern again?
12/25/06 12:35 PM
HeyJane said...
BRILLIANT idea to use a zipper in there. I was just about to sew this one and so glad I read your review - that never would have even occurred to me, thanks! Very pretty fabric choice.
1/9/07 9:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now