Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2005-142 (Basque Beret) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1003 times
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:licarritc
photo
About licarritcstar
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 43
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 35
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/14/05 8:53 AM
Last Updated:10/15/05 8:55 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
quiltsammon said...
I worried about my kids having big heads too. Their Dad has a MONSTER HEAD!!! But all of them have come out with normal sized heads. THANK GOODNESS!! So funny that other people orry about that too!
10/14/05 10:39 AM
bunz said...
Thanks for the instructions -- this is a yes!!
10/14/05 1:33 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking hat or should I say "oo la la"
10/15/05 9:16 AM
Jill Giard said...
Very nice! Thanks for the review. I'll definitely be making a few for Christmas gifts!
10/15/05 9:36 AM
Georgene said...
Thanks for the photo - you look definitely too cool for school!
10/15/05 10:11 AM
els said...
Your beret looks very cool, thanks for the review and pointing me to this pattern. I should make one too.
10/15/05 10:28 AM
Elona said...
"I guess what makes it basque as opposed to French is that it is sewn not knit in one piece" Cool hat, very cool! This summer, DH and I visited Blanc-Olibet in Ney, way in the south of France. This firm is one of only two manufacturers of berets, all knit and shrunk, not sewn, and the only one producing civilian berets (the other makes the military beret). We asked about the "Basque beret," and they said there's no such thing: The Basques like the hat just fine, but it's a French product, the ancient and traditional headgear of the men of Gascony. Of course, the response could have been nationalistic, and the fact is that they are only an hour from the Spanish border. They have a funky little museum showing the history and manufacture of the hat (www.museeduberet.com), and there's even a shop where you can buy incredibly cute and inventive variations of the hat, made for women. I was tempted!
10/15/05 11:07 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Tres jolie indeed! I love it on you. Are you bringing it to NYC??? -Ann
10/15/05 11:11 AM
licarritc said...
Thanks for all the nice comments! Ann, yes I made it for NYC, to cover bad hair days! Elona, I'll have to go to that website, I have a softspot for hats having grown up outside of Danbury CT. Home of the first hat factories (and the first attempts at unionization)
10/15/05 12:05 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
WOW, I love it, looks very becoming on you, congrats!!!!! and thank you for this review, I totally didn't notice it in the mag.
10/15/05 12:26 PM
Meguiar said...
Great hat - it looks terrific on you! Thanks for the review -I hadn't noticed this in the mag either.
10/15/05 1:01 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
I love your beret!! Thanks for posting a picture. C'est magnifique!
10/15/05 2:22 PM
blue mooney said...
Tres jolie, indeed! Thanks for pointing out this pattern - I had competely overlooked it!
10/16/05 8:34 AM
Tesla121 said...
soooo chic! I love it!! you look great!
11/8/05 8:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Burda 8294
photo
Review by Jane S on 10/27/10
Read Review

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern
Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Home Sweet Home Pillow
photo
Review by Sew Nanny on 12/12/08
Read Review

Vogue 1240 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )
Vogue 1240 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4027 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4027 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us