SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2005-142 (Basque Beret)

Viewed 1005 times 
Reviewed by:licarritc
photo

 
 
About licarritcstar
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 43
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 35
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/14/05 8:53 AM
Last Updated:10/15/05 8:55 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
quiltsammon said...
I worried about my kids having big heads too. Their Dad has a MONSTER HEAD!!! But all of them have come out with normal sized heads. THANK GOODNESS!! So funny that other people orry about that too!
10/14/05 10:39 AM
bunz said...
Thanks for the instructions -- this is a yes!!
10/14/05 1:33 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking hat or should I say "oo la la"
10/15/05 9:16 AM
Jill Giard said...
Very nice! Thanks for the review. I'll definitely be making a few for Christmas gifts!
10/15/05 9:36 AM
Georgene said...
Thanks for the photo - you look definitely too cool for school!
10/15/05 10:11 AM
els said...
Your beret looks very cool, thanks for the review and pointing me to this pattern. I should make one too.
10/15/05 10:28 AM
Elona said...
"I guess what makes it basque as opposed to French is that it is sewn not knit in one piece" Cool hat, very cool! This summer, DH and I visited Blanc-Olibet in Ney, way in the south of France. This firm is one of only two manufacturers of berets, all knit and shrunk, not sewn, and the only one producing civilian berets (the other makes the military beret). We asked about the "Basque beret," and they said there's no such thing: The Basques like the hat just fine, but it's a French product, the ancient and traditional headgear of the men of Gascony. Of course, the response could have been nationalistic, and the fact is that they are only an hour from the Spanish border. They have a funky little museum showing the history and manufacture of the hat (www.museeduberet.com), and there's even a shop where you can buy incredibly cute and inventive variations of the hat, made for women. I was tempted!
10/15/05 11:07 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Tres jolie indeed! I love it on you. Are you bringing it to NYC??? -Ann
10/15/05 11:11 AM
licarritc said...
Thanks for all the nice comments! Ann, yes I made it for NYC, to cover bad hair days! Elona, I'll have to go to that website, I have a softspot for hats having grown up outside of Danbury CT. Home of the first hat factories (and the first attempts at unionization)
10/15/05 12:05 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
WOW, I love it, looks very becoming on you, congrats!!!!! and thank you for this review, I totally didn't notice it in the mag.
10/15/05 12:26 PM
Meguiar said...
Great hat - it looks terrific on you! Thanks for the review -I hadn't noticed this in the mag either.
10/15/05 1:01 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
I love your beret!! Thanks for posting a picture. C'est magnifique!
10/15/05 2:22 PM
blue mooney said...
Tres jolie, indeed! Thanks for pointing out this pattern - I had competely overlooked it!
10/16/05 8:34 AM
Tesla121 said...
soooo chic! I love it!! you look great!
11/8/05 8:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-104

photo
by: Nan Kay

Review
Butterick 5705

photo
by: pdiddly

Review
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now