SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8168 (Pieced Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1724 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 232
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/05 10:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuickFade said...
Very nice looking jacket! Looks great on you! Thanks for the review!
10/18/05 10:40 PM
Lilibet said...
Great jacket and your stitching detail looks very effective.
10/18/05 10:41 PM
Elona said...
Striking, Nikki! What great use of color, too.
10/19/05 1:19 AM
Vonnevo said...
Love it Nikki ! The seam detail is nice. Thanks for your review :)
10/19/05 1:34 AM
carolynD43 said...
Love that jacket (and I almost bought that very fabric at Fabric Fix). I have some felted wool jersey that would be perfect for this. Gonna pick up this pattern tonight. Thanks for an excellent review.
10/19/05 4:08 AM
Cornelia said...
Very nice jacket. Thanks for the illustration for the seam finish. That really looks sharp.
10/19/05 5:34 AM
Tiner W said...
Great color! I love this jacket!
10/19/05 6:27 AM
Linda E. said...
good looking jacket. love the fabric great use of it.
10/19/05 6:59 AM
Ceri590 said...
Looks better than the drawing on the pattern! Thanks!
10/19/05 7:06 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great jacket. Love the look of it.
10/19/05 7:19 AM
Meguiar said...
Great jacket - I love both sides! Nice job with the seam treatment. Thanks for the review.
10/19/05 7:19 AM
BjP said...
Striking use of a double-sided fabric! Great looking seam treatment that really gave this jacket a "wow" factor!
10/19/05 7:27 AM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
What a striking garment! I love the contrasts.
10/19/05 8:03 AM
bunz said...
Ah, you beat me to it! I'm planning a couple variations on this jacket, but it's still too warm here :-) Great idea on the lapped seams -- great look.
10/19/05 8:20 AM
Teri said...
Nikki, your jacket looks great. The seam treament really sets it off.
10/19/05 8:56 AM
CarrieA said...
That is just great Nikki. Good job!
10/19/05 10:24 AM
CSY said...
Outstanding!!!! Looks great on you too.
10/19/05 10:35 AM
sherri2sew said...
Thanks for sharing your technique. The results look very nice. I like this jacket, just can't decide if it would work for me. It certainly looks great on you!
10/19/05 11:47 AM
Judy Williment said...
Very cool - that seam treatment is really striking! And the fit on you looks so much better than the boxy-looking line drawing.
10/19/05 7:27 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I bought this pattern the minute I saw it. I love your version of it. You did a wonderful job.
10/19/05 8:25 PM
ReeRee said...
very nice
10/19/05 9:42 PM
debra lee said...
Beautiful job, I like that jacket very much.
10/20/05 8:16 AM
Gigi Louis said...
This jacket is beautiful on you! I really like the way you finished the seams.
10/20/05 3:39 PM
Georgene said...
Nice treatment, very creative. You always put so much thought into your garments, and your excellent work shows off well with this one.
10/20/05 10:27 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Nikki, love the photo! The lights are a nice touch! Oh, and the jacket is pretty swish too!
10/22/05 3:12 AM
Frankie Garcia said...
I do agree with everything you said. I would just like to add that being 5' 2" I tried to shorten the pattern which is made to measure for a 5' 6" person. Because the lines are assymetrical it was very hard to match the pattern afterwards and ended up reverting to the original pattern without the adjustments. I myself made this jacket in a dark grey wool with a bright red blanket stitch edge.
2/8/06 10:40 AM
solosmocker said...
I don't believe this! I purchased that exact same fabric at the Fix and looked up this pattern a year later to possibly make it. You did an awesome job and If I make it I will make sure to do a seam treatment that's a little different. The seam lines are very flattering.
10/2/06 4:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Kwik Sew 3308

photo
by: Argarg

Review
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6939OOP

photo
by: lsaspacey

Review