SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2449 (crossover top)

81 more reviews
Viewed 1587 times 
Reviewed by:Kerry O
photo

 
 
About Kerry Ostar
Member since: 4/24/05
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Hall of Fame 2007
Posted on:10/19/05 9:43 PM
Last Updated:10/19/05 9:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mama2more said...
I think it looks really nice on you! I would definitely sew some more if I were you.
3/13/12 9:45 AM
Roxxygrl said...
I will agree with the other comments, lovely colour, very flattering neckline, not too low in any sense.
5/2/08 3:17 AM
patsijean said...
Kerry O, the top is quite flattering and the color is great. I believe that I would go with just a bit more ease in the sleeve--Sandra Betzina has some great tips for adding bicept ease in her book "Fast Fit". I too would lengthen the sleeve. 3/4 sleeve means 3/4 sleeve to me, but often the sleeve is between 2/3 and only 1/2. For me, 4" below the elbow is the correct 3/4 sleeve length. Anything shorter feels awkward and looks skimpy.
5/29/06 3:02 PM
cynthia w said...
Beautiful top, beautiful color. Sewing with knit can be tricky but it's what we all love to wear right? So hang in there!
12/1/05 2:09 PM
TheWoolleyMomMyth said...
I've been looking for a pattern for a crossover top that will look good on "fluffy" figures, and also apprehensive about sewing stretch knits on my zigzag machine. After reading this review, I'm pretty sure this is not a pattern I'd want to tackle just now.
11/18/05 3:14 AM
dregan said...
I really think your top looks great! I've been fighting with trying to make sleeves that will fit around my arms! I measure for a V top-cut out a W and ended up with adding an inch to both sides of the sleeves-before it fit comfortably!! There does seem to be extra fabric in front of the arms and below even when I made the size W sleeves. I've been messing with this for 2 weeks and quite frustrated until tonight when the sleeves went around my arms! I sure hope I don't have to mess so much with the rest of this top. It looks so cute on some and they don't even mention a tight sleeve! I think you did a great job and to think it's your first top that you finished-good for you! Deb
11/10/05 1:34 AM
AnneM said...
I think it's an excellent top for you, and certainly wearable. Definitely not too low of a neckline. I agree w/ the other comments on the fit. You might want to keep the sleeve width to the large size, since that will go down also if you use a smaller size through the shoulders. I saw your picture and thought "nice to see how well this pattern works for so many different people". So I think it is mostly a comfort level issue (different type of top than you are used to).
11/4/05 8:28 PM
Lou. said...
If this is your first knit top then you are a natural!! It looks great!
10/20/05 3:46 PM
PixieCat said...
I think it looks wonderful on you! Great color. Sewing knits is different then wovens but once you get used to it you'll love it. Not so many fitting issues and tons of style options.
10/20/05 3:15 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I'm another one that thinks this looks fine on you. Don't give up - keep sewing. There are a few hints and tips about sewing knits in the knowledge base on this site. Do a search and check it out - you will get lots of good information. There is also a pinned topic in the Message Board that will give you information on a FBA (full Bust Adjustment). Hope this helps and keep sewing.
10/20/05 10:03 AM
Hilary said...
Kerry, your top is *very* pretty, and the color is gorgeous!! It looks very nice on you! I agree, you need a smaller size to fit through the shoulders, and then do a FBA to fit through the bust. And btw, I know how you feel about getting frustrated about sewing for yourself-I do too, for the same reasons! But don't give up-there ARE patterns that will fit and even flatter-we just have to keep trying! Great job! I wanted to mention, since you are a beginner, the Kwik Sew patterns would be perfect for you-their knit tops have really great instructions, and give all the details about what stitch to use depending on what type of machine you have. I think you'd really enjoy using them! They do usually have 1/4" seams on their knit tops, though, so you could add on a tad if its easier for you.
10/20/05 8:47 AM
CarolynGM said...
Lovely top in a gorgeous color. Great job on your first knit top. This should encourage you to keep sewing!
10/20/05 6:08 AM
2BSewing said...
Kerry...your top is beautiful. You did a wonderful job...especially for sewing your first knit garment. Keep up the good work.
10/20/05 4:42 AM
Izzie said...
Kerry, I think a smaller size with a full bust adjustment would help the fit of your top, the shoulders look a little wide in the pic. I think this style is very flattering on you, look at the full body pic, it really looks good! You did an awesome job on your first try at knits. Great review!
10/19/05 10:45 PM
Diane E said...
Kerry, your top is very pretty and your review was full of helpful information. Thanks! I look forward to reading more reviews of garments you've sewn for yourself.
10/19/05 10:32 PM
lmg said...
This looks lovely. Good review too.
10/19/05 10:13 PM
CindyP said...
I think you did a fantastic job and the top is lovely. The color is gorgeous.
10/19/05 10:01 PM
Laurasews said...
Don't give up on sewing Kerry O. I think your top looks great!
10/19/05 10:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

No Pattern Used grand-daughter quilt

photo
by: lvs2sew

Review
Other none

photo
by: Learn To S...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now