Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2449 (crossover top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1577 times 77 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Kerry O
photo
About Kerry Ostar
Member since: 4/24/05
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Hall of Fame 2007
Posted on:10/19/05 9:43 PM
Last Updated:10/19/05 9:45 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Laurasews said...
Don't give up on sewing Kerry O. I think your top looks great!
10/19/05 10:01 PM
CindyP said...
I think you did a fantastic job and the top is lovely. The color is gorgeous.
10/19/05 10:01 PM
lmg said...
This looks lovely. Good review too.
10/19/05 10:13 PM
Diane E said...
Kerry, your top is very pretty and your review was full of helpful information. Thanks! I look forward to reading more reviews of garments you've sewn for yourself.
10/19/05 10:32 PM
Izzie said...
Kerry, I think a smaller size with a full bust adjustment would help the fit of your top, the shoulders look a little wide in the pic. I think this style is very flattering on you, look at the full body pic, it really looks good! You did an awesome job on your first try at knits. Great review!
10/19/05 10:45 PM
2BSewing said...
Kerry...your top is beautiful. You did a wonderful job...especially for sewing your first knit garment. Keep up the good work.
10/20/05 4:42 AM
CarolynGM said...
Lovely top in a gorgeous color. Great job on your first knit top. This should encourage you to keep sewing!
10/20/05 6:08 AM
Hilary said...
Kerry, your top is *very* pretty, and the color is gorgeous!! It looks very nice on you! I agree, you need a smaller size to fit through the shoulders, and then do a FBA to fit through the bust. And btw, I know how you feel about getting frustrated about sewing for yourself-I do too, for the same reasons! But don't give up-there ARE patterns that will fit and even flatter-we just have to keep trying! Great job! I wanted to mention, since you are a beginner, the Kwik Sew patterns would be perfect for you-their knit tops have really great instructions, and give all the details about what stitch to use depending on what type of machine you have. I think you'd really enjoy using them! They do usually have 1/4" seams on their knit tops, though, so you could add on a tad if its easier for you.
10/20/05 8:47 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I'm another one that thinks this looks fine on you. Don't give up - keep sewing. There are a few hints and tips about sewing knits in the knowledge base on this site. Do a search and check it out - you will get lots of good information. There is also a pinned topic in the Message Board that will give you information on a FBA (full Bust Adjustment). Hope this helps and keep sewing.
10/20/05 10:03 AM
PixieCat said...
I think it looks wonderful on you! Great color. Sewing knits is different then wovens but once you get used to it you'll love it. Not so many fitting issues and tons of style options.
10/20/05 3:15 PM
Lou. said...
If this is your first knit top then you are a natural!! It looks great!
10/20/05 3:46 PM
AnneM said...
I think it's an excellent top for you, and certainly wearable. Definitely not too low of a neckline. I agree w/ the other comments on the fit. You might want to keep the sleeve width to the large size, since that will go down also if you use a smaller size through the shoulders. I saw your picture and thought "nice to see how well this pattern works for so many different people". So I think it is mostly a comfort level issue (different type of top than you are used to).
11/4/05 8:28 PM
dregan said...
I really think your top looks great! I've been fighting with trying to make sleeves that will fit around my arms! I measure for a V top-cut out a W and ended up with adding an inch to both sides of the sleeves-before it fit comfortably!! There does seem to be extra fabric in front of the arms and below even when I made the size W sleeves. I've been messing with this for 2 weeks and quite frustrated until tonight when the sleeves went around my arms! I sure hope I don't have to mess so much with the rest of this top. It looks so cute on some and they don't even mention a tight sleeve! I think you did a great job and to think it's your first top that you finished-good for you! Deb
11/10/05 1:34 AM
TheWoolleyMomMyth said...
I've been looking for a pattern for a crossover top that will look good on "fluffy" figures, and also apprehensive about sewing stretch knits on my zigzag machine. After reading this review, I'm pretty sure this is not a pattern I'd want to tackle just now.
11/18/05 3:14 AM
cynthia w said...
Beautiful top, beautiful color. Sewing with knit can be tricky but it's what we all love to wear right? So hang in there!
12/1/05 2:09 PM
patsijean said...
Kerry O, the top is quite flattering and the color is great. I believe that I would go with just a bit more ease in the sleeve--Sandra Betzina has some great tips for adding bicept ease in her book "Fast Fit". I too would lengthen the sleeve. 3/4 sleeve means 3/4 sleeve to me, but often the sleeve is between 2/3 and only 1/2. For me, 4" below the elbow is the correct 3/4 sleeve length. Anything shorter feels awkward and looks skimpy.
5/29/06 3:02 PM
Roxxygrl said...
I will agree with the other comments, lovely colour, very flattering neckline, not too low in any sense.
5/2/08 3:17 AM
mama2more said...
I think it looks really nice on you! I would definitely sew some more if I were you.
3/13/12 9:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Burda 8627
photo
Review by PatCSM on 6/29/10
Read Review

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Lola Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Lola Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 72819-1000 TNT Slacks
photo
Review by CTBarb on 3/23/11
Read Review

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.10
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7264 Pattern
Burda 7264 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us