SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4596 (Misses lined jacket)

17 more reviews
Viewed 1660 times 
Reviewed by:cassidy
photo

 
 
About cassidystar
ON CANADA
Member since: 5/16/05
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:05 AM
Last Updated:10/22/05 1:35 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
els said...
Those jackets look great and show of your sewing talent. You did dive into it with difficult fabrics, you learned a lot since you start sewing only 7 months ago. I am looking forward to see more of your creations It is hard to believe that these 3 jackets are the first you have sewn, you are a very creative talented young woman.
10/22/05 2:02 AM
Levone said...
Great looking jackets! I love your mixture of the different fabrics.
10/22/05 2:15 AM
annsew65 said...
WOW! I'd say you're off to a great start! Those are really gorgeous creations. I'm marking you down as one to watch for!
10/22/05 2:40 AM
pharmercoon said...
Wow-those are really cool. Great job! Kay
10/22/05 3:44 AM
PegL said...
Totally cool jackets! You got great fit and your choice of fabrics is wonderful! I think you should upgrade your sewing level considerably! You're already way past any sort of ''beginner'' level! Good review! I love all the photos!
10/22/05 4:35 AM
mamakooz said...
These jackets are great!
10/22/05 7:01 AM
Kerry O said...
Those are totally cool - I LOVE them! You did a great job. They are all really hip and you look great in them. :)
10/22/05 8:06 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Your choice of fabrics is what makes this jacket interesting. Well done.
10/22/05 8:09 AM
Nickle said...
Love all three of your jackets and fabric choices. Also enjoyed your informative review.
10/22/05 8:42 AM
casken said...
Wow, great jackets. Love your kitty too. Thanks for all the photos. Good photos are nice too see. Thanks for your review.
10/22/05 9:10 AM
Tailypo said...
Your jackets look so good! You are a very brave advanced beginner, that's for sure. But I must admit, the most eye-catching detail in your photos is --- your kitchen is so CLEAN! Oh, can I please come live at your house?
10/22/05 9:40 AM
Lori V said...
Wow, your jackets are terrific. Your fabric combinations are great.
10/22/05 10:07 AM
QuickFade said...
Very nice! Thanks for sharing these. You wear them well too.
10/22/05 10:54 AM
shard said...
i love-love-love your fabric choices! (imho, the denim version is also a rock star jacket.) lovely work. whenever i need to remember that i started sewing because i wanted to make neato clothes that one would *never* see in a store, i will think of these projects you have done. (oh yeah. and twistedangel's 'dead catfish' costume.) i am waaaay too... skittish? conservative? uninspired? in my fabric choices.
10/22/05 11:08 AM
CarolynGM said...
Those are 3 amazing jackets - you are clearly a very creative and talented sewist. And your photographer is pretty good too!! Keep writing reviews. I look forward to seeing what you come up with next.
10/22/05 11:46 AM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Oh wow, and I have this pattern! I didn't even recognize it. What creative use of it. All I saw was some wool fabric sewn into a jacket for my 'management' type job. You've inspired me to look and think a little further!
10/22/05 11:49 AM
sew2little said...
WOWZA! You took a plain-jane pattern to diva heights!
10/22/05 1:32 PM
Peggy L said...
Wow! Great review and fabulous, creative jackets. You have really learned a lot in a short time. My only complaint - I feel really old and frumpy!!!
10/22/05 3:02 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
WOW!!!
10/22/05 3:24 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I love the jacket! Great job and great fabrics!
10/22/05 7:52 PM
Georgene said...
Nice tweak to what looks like a fairly routine pattern. You go, girl!
10/22/05 8:32 PM
CarrieA said...
7 MONTHS?!!! I'm totally impressed and inspired. You clearly have no fear and it pays off. Thinking of a career change from modeling to designing? Great, great job!
10/22/05 9:07 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous :))) Echoing all the previous comments too. Looking forward to seeing more of your creations too.
10/23/05 1:29 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Great photos - love the "styling". Jackets are fantastic! All the thought you put into them before you started. Plain pattern but you made them "wow"!
10/23/05 1:40 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very attractive jackets and cat! Great review of this pattern.
10/23/05 9:41 AM
lilhoney57 said...
I LOVE the denim jacket!
10/23/05 10:07 AM
Jan B. said...
Love the jackets, love the cat--great review. Thank you for your interesting and inspiring review. Seven months--fabulous.
10/23/05 2:50 PM
Diane E said...
I came back to look at your jackets again and I realized I hadn't commented the first time around. Bad bad me. I love these jackets. They have so much life and interest to them. Your review was terrific, too. Thanks!
10/24/05 12:07 PM
layla said...
You are "One Talented Lady" and certainly a natural to sewing and design .. many new clothes to you !!
10/25/05 10:46 AM
MaryBeth said...
Fun, very fun. Keep on with it!
10/25/05 11:46 AM
Quesie said...
Uh, where can I get your album? You are the official new rock goddess of PR. I can't believe you just winged the lining/zipper part. The fabrics are fantastic. It's so fun to see what you did three different times.
10/26/05 8:13 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Good for you for ditching the unclear instructions! Great fabric combinations. Work it, baby! Oh Yeah! :) -Ann
10/26/05 8:39 PM
Linda E. said...
WOW I missed you jackets back in October. they are great love you choices of fabrics and colors.. I am going to be watching for more great things from you..
12/18/05 9:19 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Love your jeackets, and welcome to PR! Looking forward to more from you. BTW you might want to open a Yahoo photos account for the alternate views or your FoPR limit will go fast.
5/17/06 11:29 PM
MarilynB said...
Somehow, I missed your review the first time. Your jackets are better than the ones on the pattern envelope. You should upgrade your skill level since these jackets are evidence of your ability.
5/18/06 9:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Simplicity 4116

photo
by: shelbyp

Review
McCall's 6163

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now