Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Wild Ginger: Self drafted pants (My first PMB pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 913 times
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Agnes
photo
About Agnesstar
NA NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/16/02
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/23/05 1:25 PM
Last Updated:10/23/05 1:25 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kellyt said...
Great review! I have PMB and I have been working through some of the same issues. I have not made 7 yet. Unfortunately, I haven't dug in like you did. I have had breaks in between tweaks, then I forget what I was doing. LOL!
10/23/05 1:48 PM
Agnes said...
Kelly, I know exactly what you mean. I can be a little (hmmm...) chaotic, so I knew I would lose track of what I had done. So I decided that for once in my life I was going to get organized. I found myself a folder and printed of the design sheets of the slopers I made and put them in the folder. I marked the slopers as well so I knew which one belonged to which design sheet. I never knew being organized could make my life so much easier.......I should try it more often, lol.
10/23/05 3:13 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
Congratulations on a great job. I admire your perseverance!
10/23/05 4:04 PM
Annie- oh said...
Agnes - yaaaaaay!! Annie
10/23/05 4:42 PM
Kathy Russell said...
I'm so glad you did this review. I too am an advanced beginner. I have been considering the pmb. I really want it but am afraid i won't be able to figure it out. Great review.
10/24/05 2:28 PM
bevaau said...
7 slopers!! I too have just received my PMB3 this week and have not done anything yet beyond read all the instructions! Do you have a particularly difficult 'fitting issue' - or is seven slopers normal to get the fit you want? (I have old sheets I plan to use as slopers and my daughter lives miles away so need never see the early trials!!) BevA
10/24/05 5:05 PM
Agnes said...

10/25/05 0:01 AM
Agnes said...
Kathy, I didn't find the program hard to work out at all. The software itself is not difficul to understand. The most important things to getting a fitting sloper to me are: Measurements !!! I can account at least 3 of my slopers to the fact that I took my own measurements. I wasn't patient enough too wait for someone to help me and my crotch length, hip depth and crotch depth measurements where just not taken properly. Tweaking; after I had achieved a reasonable fit with the right measurements the tweaking started. There a quite a few design options that you can use to adjust the fit of the pants. I guess this part can be quite intimidating. What I did is just enter some high values in a one of the boxes to see what this would actually do to the pattern, this gave me an idea what all the options meant. I then reset it to the original setting and started tweaking the setting little by little to get a good fit. You can actually stop before you start "tweaking" and take some pictures of your sloper and sent these of to Wild Ginger, together with your measurements and settings. They will get back to you and advise you on where to go from there. I didn't do this because I'm a very stubborn person who always has to reinvent the invented. But from what I read on the Wild Ginger forum on their website, they are very prompt in answering with regards to fitting issues. I didn't think I had any particulair fitting issues, but the crotch area in pants have always been one of my pet hates. I hate those lines at the front, or the access fabric that I sometimes have at the back just below my bum. This program actually made me understand that I do have an fitting issue in this area and made me understand what it was. So it will be easier to understand why and how to change patterns in the future. I worked out that my problem is the ratio between hip depth and crotch depth. Obviously in commercial patterns a standard is used to determine hip depth and crotch depth based on the crotch length measurement. I found that my crotch depth was actually shorter then usual and my hip depth slightly longer, once I had worked this out the slopers started to fit perfectly! At the moment I'm working on getting to understand the pattern editor and sofar I think this looks far more intimidating then it actually is. As long as you take the time to go through the manuals and are not affraid to make some mistakes you'll be fine. I promised myself one more pair of pants and then it's back to slopers for tops. Sorry this got so long, I hope it helps!
10/25/05 0:02 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Vogue Patterns 1248
photo
Review by Marge99 on 8/20/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1079
photo
Review by BenaeQuee on 12/17/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2492 Pattern( Size S )
Simplicity 2492 Pattern( Size S )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us