SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4356 (Jackets)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1485 times 
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 356
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 196 people
patterns reviewed: 355
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 6:52 AM
Last Updated:10/24/05 11:46 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RachelStonebreaker said...
Thanks for the tip on the collar. I agree with you. I'll do mine the way you suggested.
12/3/09 1:16 PM
Athene said...
Thank you for the review. I am hunting for a pattern to make my daughter a faux shearling jacket and this one looks really nice.
9/10/07 1:14 AM
frame said...
This is a great jacket. You did a wonderful job.
5/19/07 1:55 PM
KathleenS said...
Very nice!
4/8/06 5:32 AM
AnneM said...
Cute jacket, and I agree that it looks nicer than the pattern picture version. What a great look. (And Leslie - thanks for the tip)
12/2/05 8:13 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Tres chic'
10/26/05 1:41 PM
jlg said...
Great jacket. It makes me want to try that kind of fabric.
10/26/05 5:15 AM
MaryBeth said...
Niiiiiice, I like yours better than the pix
10/25/05 12:09 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Fabulous jacket: great job: super cool!!
10/25/05 9:57 AM
Lori V said...
Thank you all for the nice compliments, I appreciate it. Leslie, thanks for the tip on the CB
10/25/05 6:07 AM
ryan's mom said...
I love your jacket! It looks so stylish, and I haven't seen anything that looks as nice in the stores. What a great job you did on it.
10/25/05 5:59 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Fabulous jacket! I love it!
10/25/05 5:54 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love your jacket! Looks like a great pattern. I need to go visit JoAnn's and see if they have similar fabric here. Can't recall seeing it, really like yours.
10/25/05 5:50 AM
Maychi said...
Beautiful fabric for a fabulous jacket.
10/25/05 1:35 AM
PhyllisC said...
Serendipity - the prefect pattern and fabric at just the right time to hit a trend! I really like it.
10/24/05 8:15 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
MUCH cuter than the pattern envelope!! And I'm impressed you made something without making the materials "age", LOL! ;-)
10/24/05 6:59 PM
dbsewer said...
what a cute jacket. I bought a faux shearlling coat for my sister two years ago and someone stole it :-(. She's been missing it since so maybe this is one to help her smile again. :-). thanks for the review. Simplicity really is doing some great patterns.
10/24/05 3:18 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
So so cute! Tons better than the envelope shows. I PM'd you, Lori, but I'll post this here, too: For the CB seam, you could eliminate that showing seam allowance altogether by cutting off your seam allowances and using a flatlock or other kind of butted seam. It works really nicely with sherpa, shearling, and faux fur. You can brush the pile and the threads disappear. For two-sided fabric like yours, using two different colors of thread (one in the needle, the other in the bobbin) helps to hide the stitches, too. But on your fabulous fabric, a nice thick coordinating thread for the suede side would look dynamite, too!
10/24/05 2:40 PM
Lou. said...
How cool is your jacket? It screams me..I have to have it!
10/24/05 1:51 PM
quiltsammon said...
Looks great!! I love that new shearling stuff!
10/24/05 1:51 PM
Mbarkle said...
Lori, that looks awesome, I just love it. I've made a couple of these for my kids and they are much easier than they look, as long as your machine can stand the thickness.
10/24/05 1:18 PM
Ceri590 said...
Love the fabric and looks better than on the pattern envelope!
10/24/05 1:08 PM
Diane E said...
Love this! Boy, Simplicity is really turning out some fun patterns these days and your jacket rocks!
10/24/05 12:04 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks absolutely fabulous and so much better than the pattern envelope.
10/24/05 11:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

More Info
Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

More Info