Online Sewing Class: Sewing Basics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6525 (Babies Onesie, Jacket and Pant)

4 more reviews
Viewed 828 times 
Reviewed by:Evatgirl73
photo

 
 
About Evatgirl73starstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/28/03
Reviews written: 88
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 88
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/24/05 3:15 PM
Last Updated:10/24/05 3:45 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JUNIPERJUNE said... (8/2/12 8:11 PM) Reply
I have a newbie question for you if you remember. Piece 3 shows that it is placed on the fold, but is it just above the fold or directly on it? I cut my pieces and can't make any sense of the directions. Thanks!
RobinE said... (8/21/07 3:17 PM) Reply
Ooo! Nice pjs! :) Thanks for the great review and the heads up about the sizing.
ptracie said... (2/5/06 5:15 PM) Reply
Very cute, and adorable baby! I'd love to know after which step you put the zipper in. I'm new to sewing, and am following pattern directions to a T until I'm more confident in my abilities.
Hilary said... (11/1/05 8:08 AM) Reply
Oh, your little one is getting so big!! The jammies are adorable! (not as cute as the baby of course :o) )
Evatgirl73 said... (10/24/05 10:19 PM) Reply
Thanks! Yeah, I toyed w the idea of sewing the elastic straight to the leg but the thought of the elastic rubbing against her skin bothered me.
Dixielynn said... (10/24/05 3:55 PM) Reply
yes, using the elastic without a casing is way quicker. I just zig zag the length to wrong side of fabric. Those jammies are too cute.
sewfan said... (10/24/05 3:42 PM) Reply
Cute jammies and adorable model! Pam
Mary Stiefer said... (10/24/05 3:35 PM) Reply
How sweet these little jammies are.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Decades of Style 3009

photo
by: Sew Good

Review
Merchant & Mills Top 64

photo
by: Kate 88

Review
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Pattern Details
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Pattern Details