Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 3000 (Pleated Pant) - Type:Pants    printable version
  2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Lorna C. Newman
photo
About Lorna C. Newmanstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/10/02
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/24/05 4:06 PM
Last Updated:3/14/06 5:30 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
leigh7911 said...
Your pants look great!
12/23/05 10:15 PM
Frogstitcher said...
The picture is a little hard to see, but they look like you got a good fit. This is a good review.
12/23/05 11:12 PM
Elona said...
Terrific fitting process and lesson! The finished pants look great.
12/23/05 11:14 PM
ClaireC said...
A blue ribbon is given to you for this wonderful accomplishment. The pants look fantastic and you look very good in the slinky version. They all look good, it's just that the slinky is exceptional. Kudos! You must be absolutely elated!
12/24/05 6:51 AM
blue mooney said...
Lorna, thanks for the two reviews in one! (pattern & class) You get bonus points for that, as well as your great fitting pants!
12/24/05 7:00 AM
Peggy L said...
Great looking pants. Great review. Can't wait to take the class in Feb.
12/24/05 7:44 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Aren't slinky pants the best? They feel so sexy and glamorous. The fit you got in the back of that gabardine looks really good. Think Peggy can do that for me, too?
12/24/05 8:08 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
IF Peggy can do this for me (AAlong with Deb's help!) then anybody can do this! Now go for it ...
12/24/05 8:21 AM
Lori Sews said...
I love the slinky. What a great class you were able to attend. Worth a million bucks I bet!
12/24/05 8:25 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Lorna, the slinky pants look great from the back. I took your photo into my software and lightened it so I could really see -- not a horizontal wrinkle anywhere!! I agree that the verticals are a result of the slinky. When you're moving like normal and not standing still for a rear photo, I bet even you wouldn't notice anything at all. We tend to over-analyze our freeze-framed butts. LOL!! Great job of working it all out and on the patience necessary to do so.
12/24/05 8:47 AM
Patti B said...
Great review of both pattern and class -- and great looking results. What a sense of achievement you must have and it's well-deserved. Try them in the ottoman knit too. BTW, does Peggy come in the pattern? ;-)
12/24/05 8:58 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Deb, if it wasn't for the help you gave in those Fish eye darts, these pants would stil have those back baggies ... thanks for posting that FED tip from the KK moulage!
12/24/05 9:24 AM
drsue said...
These came out really well. Review is loaded with good fitting ideas too! Thanks.
12/24/05 9:57 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very informative review...great tips. Pants fit so lovely on you.
12/24/05 10:55 AM
jemgirlca said...
Great review and great pants!!
12/24/05 10:56 AM
Nickle said...
Your pants look really good on you, looks like the fisheye dart worked well.
3/14/06 5:41 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
How exciting! Those look great, Lorna! Widen those legs from the knee down and you have your new pattern. That fabric looks really yummy.
3/14/06 6:16 PM
Lori Sews said...
Lorna, you and your pants are looking great!
3/14/06 7:53 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Great pants and effort! Only one question - for the muslin, Peggy has you sew the darts in but not the pleats? I didn't quite get that part. And she still has you add 2" to the sseams and 1" all around just for fit insurance? I'm asking cause that sounds like alot to me if you have chosen according to that sitting down hip measurement. Sounds like a wonderful class. And I agree, the fisheye dart is the bomb. BTW, alot of my knit pants do the vertical wrinkle too - it's the knit.
3/15/06 12:13 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Mary, the theory is (As I understand it) that the darts help anchor the pant to the waistline where the pleats add extra fullness for style in the front. As for the extra s.a., it did seem like a lot, especially when you have the top of the waist under your bustline!! LOL!
3/15/06 2:53 PM
mClones said...
Lorna, I'm about to take Peggy's pants class one afternoon at a sewing expo. I'm concerned that you still had to deal with the rear bagginess on your own. But, this is what I'm hoping will be solved in class and I'll go home with an absolutely *perfect* muslin. Will I be disappointed? Mina
4/8/06 9:11 AM
RealtorRenee said...
Very informative review with great photos.
8/22/07 10:46 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 2633
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 7/20/10
Read Review

Burda 7111 Pattern
Burda 7111 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7056 Pattern
Burda 7056 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 6079 Vintage 6079
photo
Review by birdmcfarl... on 9/2/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Candice
Candice

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us