SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 3000 (Pleated Pant)

2 more reviews
Reviewed by:Lorna C. Newman
photo

 
 
About Lorna C. Newmanstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/10/02
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/24/05 4:06 PM
Last Updated:3/14/06 5:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
leigh7911 said...
Your pants look great!
12/23/05 10:15 PM
Frogstitcher said...
The picture is a little hard to see, but they look like you got a good fit. This is a good review.
12/23/05 11:12 PM
Elona said...
Terrific fitting process and lesson! The finished pants look great.
12/23/05 11:14 PM
ClaireC said...
A blue ribbon is given to you for this wonderful accomplishment. The pants look fantastic and you look very good in the slinky version. They all look good, it's just that the slinky is exceptional. Kudos! You must be absolutely elated!
12/24/05 6:51 AM
blue mooney said...
Lorna, thanks for the two reviews in one! (pattern & class) You get bonus points for that, as well as your great fitting pants!
12/24/05 7:00 AM
Peggy L said...
Great looking pants. Great review. Can't wait to take the class in Feb.
12/24/05 7:44 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Aren't slinky pants the best? They feel so sexy and glamorous. The fit you got in the back of that gabardine looks really good. Think Peggy can do that for me, too?
12/24/05 8:08 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
IF Peggy can do this for me (AAlong with Deb's help!) then anybody can do this! Now go for it ...
12/24/05 8:21 AM
Lori Sews said...
I love the slinky. What a great class you were able to attend. Worth a million bucks I bet!
12/24/05 8:25 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Lorna, the slinky pants look great from the back. I took your photo into my software and lightened it so I could really see -- not a horizontal wrinkle anywhere!! I agree that the verticals are a result of the slinky. When you're moving like normal and not standing still for a rear photo, I bet even you wouldn't notice anything at all. We tend to over-analyze our freeze-framed butts. LOL!! Great job of working it all out and on the patience necessary to do so.
12/24/05 8:47 AM
Patti B said...
Great review of both pattern and class -- and great looking results. What a sense of achievement you must have and it's well-deserved. Try them in the ottoman knit too. BTW, does Peggy come in the pattern? ;-)
12/24/05 8:58 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Deb, if it wasn't for the help you gave in those Fish eye darts, these pants would stil have those back baggies ... thanks for posting that FED tip from the KK moulage!
12/24/05 9:24 AM
drsue said...
These came out really well. Review is loaded with good fitting ideas too! Thanks.
12/24/05 9:57 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very informative review...great tips. Pants fit so lovely on you.
12/24/05 10:55 AM
jemgirlca said...
Great review and great pants!!
12/24/05 10:56 AM
Nickle said...
Your pants look really good on you, looks like the fisheye dart worked well.
3/14/06 5:41 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
How exciting! Those look great, Lorna! Widen those legs from the knee down and you have your new pattern. That fabric looks really yummy.
3/14/06 6:16 PM
Lori Sews said...
Lorna, you and your pants are looking great!
3/14/06 7:53 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Great pants and effort! Only one question - for the muslin, Peggy has you sew the darts in but not the pleats? I didn't quite get that part. And she still has you add 2" to the sseams and 1" all around just for fit insurance? I'm asking cause that sounds like alot to me if you have chosen according to that sitting down hip measurement. Sounds like a wonderful class. And I agree, the fisheye dart is the bomb. BTW, alot of my knit pants do the vertical wrinkle too - it's the knit.
3/15/06 12:13 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Mary, the theory is (As I understand it) that the darts help anchor the pant to the waistline where the pleats add extra fullness for style in the front. As for the extra s.a., it did seem like a lot, especially when you have the top of the waist under your bustline!! LOL!
3/15/06 2:53 PM
mClones said...
Lorna, I'm about to take Peggy's pants class one afternoon at a sewing expo. I'm concerned that you still had to deal with the rear bagginess on your own. But, this is what I'm hoping will be solved in class and I'll go home with an absolutely *perfect* muslin. Will I be disappointed? Mina
4/8/06 9:11 AM
RealtorRenee said...
Very informative review with great photos.
8/22/07 10:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Buy Now