SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 3000 (Pleated Pant)

2 more reviews
Reviewed by:Lorna C. Newman
photo

 
 
About Lorna C. Newmanstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/10/02
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/24/05 4:06 PM
Last Updated:3/14/06 5:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RealtorRenee said...
Very informative review with great photos.
8/22/07 10:46 AM
mClones said...
Lorna, I'm about to take Peggy's pants class one afternoon at a sewing expo. I'm concerned that you still had to deal with the rear bagginess on your own. But, this is what I'm hoping will be solved in class and I'll go home with an absolutely *perfect* muslin. Will I be disappointed? Mina
4/8/06 9:11 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Mary, the theory is (As I understand it) that the darts help anchor the pant to the waistline where the pleats add extra fullness for style in the front. As for the extra s.a., it did seem like a lot, especially when you have the top of the waist under your bustline!! LOL!
3/15/06 2:53 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Great pants and effort! Only one question - for the muslin, Peggy has you sew the darts in but not the pleats? I didn't quite get that part. And she still has you add 2" to the sseams and 1" all around just for fit insurance? I'm asking cause that sounds like alot to me if you have chosen according to that sitting down hip measurement. Sounds like a wonderful class. And I agree, the fisheye dart is the bomb. BTW, alot of my knit pants do the vertical wrinkle too - it's the knit.
3/15/06 12:13 PM
Lori Sews said...
Lorna, you and your pants are looking great!
3/14/06 7:53 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
How exciting! Those look great, Lorna! Widen those legs from the knee down and you have your new pattern. That fabric looks really yummy.
3/14/06 6:16 PM
Nickle said...
Your pants look really good on you, looks like the fisheye dart worked well.
3/14/06 5:41 PM
jemgirlca said...
Great review and great pants!!
12/24/05 10:56 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very informative review...great tips. Pants fit so lovely on you.
12/24/05 10:55 AM
drsue said...
These came out really well. Review is loaded with good fitting ideas too! Thanks.
12/24/05 9:57 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Deb, if it wasn't for the help you gave in those Fish eye darts, these pants would stil have those back baggies ... thanks for posting that FED tip from the KK moulage!
12/24/05 9:24 AM
Patti B said...
Great review of both pattern and class -- and great looking results. What a sense of achievement you must have and it's well-deserved. Try them in the ottoman knit too. BTW, does Peggy come in the pattern? ;-)
12/24/05 8:58 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Lorna, the slinky pants look great from the back. I took your photo into my software and lightened it so I could really see -- not a horizontal wrinkle anywhere!! I agree that the verticals are a result of the slinky. When you're moving like normal and not standing still for a rear photo, I bet even you wouldn't notice anything at all. We tend to over-analyze our freeze-framed butts. LOL!! Great job of working it all out and on the patience necessary to do so.
12/24/05 8:47 AM
Lori Sews said...
I love the slinky. What a great class you were able to attend. Worth a million bucks I bet!
12/24/05 8:25 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
IF Peggy can do this for me (AAlong with Deb's help!) then anybody can do this! Now go for it ...
12/24/05 8:21 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Aren't slinky pants the best? They feel so sexy and glamorous. The fit you got in the back of that gabardine looks really good. Think Peggy can do that for me, too?
12/24/05 8:08 AM
Peggy L said...
Great looking pants. Great review. Can't wait to take the class in Feb.
12/24/05 7:44 AM
blue mooney said...
Lorna, thanks for the two reviews in one! (pattern & class) You get bonus points for that, as well as your great fitting pants!
12/24/05 7:00 AM
ClaireC said...
A blue ribbon is given to you for this wonderful accomplishment. The pants look fantastic and you look very good in the slinky version. They all look good, it's just that the slinky is exceptional. Kudos! You must be absolutely elated!
12/24/05 6:51 AM
Elona said...
Terrific fitting process and lesson! The finished pants look great.
12/23/05 11:14 PM
Frogstitcher said...
The picture is a little hard to see, but they look like you got a good fit. This is a good review.
12/23/05 11:12 PM
leigh7911 said...
Your pants look great!
12/23/05 10:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Simplicity 2284

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

More Info
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

More Info