SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> Nairobi Bag (Nairobi Bag)

21 more reviews
Viewed 2598 times 
Reviewed by:els
photo

 
 
About elsstarstar
NA NETHERLANDS
Member since: 1/28/03
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:10/25/05 3:49 PM
Last Updated:10/25/05 5:55 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 35 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
els said...
Thanks for all your flattering comments on my Nairobi Bag. The bag size and shape is definite a keeper but using this bag I mis a key holder strap to use, or a small zip pocket where I can keep my keys in. I will buy a key strap because thatís the easiest to attach now that the bag is finished already. On the next bag I will add and extra zippered pocket at the outside on the back of the bag too.
10/31/05 6:50 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Very nice bag, Els! I especially like your idea for making the shoulder strap less bulky, will have to remember that!
10/30/05 8:26 AM
barbc said...
Excellent review! I love the details you added. Makes me want to make one in leather. Or maybe felted wool.
10/30/05 8:02 AM
Georgene said...
Nice sewing, to say the least. It makes me remember that I don't really know how to sew. I like your changes, the boning idea is very smart.
10/29/05 9:29 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful! Great review and beautiful work.
10/27/05 7:48 AM
JDpenelope said...
There's nothing left to say! If there were PhD's for bagging making, you'd have one.
10/27/05 6:48 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Fabulous! You make such great bags. Could this review have the highest "Very Helpful" rating of any review..? Wow :)
10/26/05 9:53 PM
SewTabby said...
Seriously gorgeous!
10/26/05 8:13 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Stunning, fabulous, amazing, wonderful, every superlative in the book! -Ann
10/26/05 12:05 PM
McKavity said...
Wow! Excellent job!
10/26/05 11:44 AM
Susan R said...
This is a gorgeous bag, as are the other Nairobi bags reviewed so far. Just for fun, I browsed the internet to see what the YSL Mombasa bags are like. The ones PR members have made are at least as nice as bags that are ON SALE on the internet for $500! Wow.
10/26/05 10:57 AM
PhyllisC said...
Els - I am lovin' that bag! And the lining is perfect. This is like a $300 bag at full retail.
10/26/05 10:50 AM
licarritc said...
You always do such fantastic work and this is no exception. I want to do an evening/pouchette version and will definitely be using some of your suggestions
10/26/05 7:47 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Beautiful bag, Els! Looks like real leather, and better than store-bought. I'd never heard of a "bag stop" before, is this something you purchased or is it cut from a special type of fabric?
10/26/05 6:45 AM
Deepika said...
Els what a helpful review. I too like the zippered closure in my bags and I might change the shape and add zipper following your instructions, but I guess the first step is joining these pieces together :)
10/26/05 6:22 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very good review. Your bag looks great, very RTW. Faux leather looks like leather to me. Excellent job. This is inspiring.
10/26/05 5:44 AM
Elisabetha said...
Els It's absolutely stunning!!
10/26/05 4:54 AM
Maychi said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Very inspiring!
10/26/05 2:36 AM
Lori Sews said...
gorgeous bag! I am so impressed!
10/25/05 10:45 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow, great bag! Thanks for the wonderful review and sharing all your secrets. I love your improved version.
10/25/05 10:37 PM
kathi s said...
Absolutely wonderful! Your skills are awesome, Els!
10/25/05 10:03 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I feel like I got a free purse making lesson. Thanks. Love the bag.
10/25/05 9:29 PM
SansSouci572 said...
"Wearable Muslin!" You're so modest! Seriously, what a clever girl, using the boning!
10/25/05 9:21 PM
Annika said...
Holy Cow! This is one great bag!
10/25/05 9:08 PM
sewlily said...
Wow. These bags are so impressive. I love your design change. If you don't like it, I am sure you could sell it on EBAY!
10/25/05 8:50 PM
MaryBeth said...
Very professional, polished, well put together and thought out, excellent bag! Thanks for sharing it and your design changes/decisions, els!
10/25/05 8:22 PM
Meguiar said...
Gorgeous bag! And very helpful review -thanks!
10/25/05 8:22 PM
BorderCollieMom said...
Spectacular! Thanks for the tips in the review, too! It's been fun seeing the different fabrics/versions of this bag being posted by other reviewers, too.
10/25/05 8:10 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
This is one spectacular accessory! Thank you for all of your amazing tips to inspire making this.. gorgeous purse. If you ever get tired of this lovely muslin, it can have a really nice home out here in San Francisco!
10/25/05 8:08 PM
Motorposus said...
Thanks for the shoulder strap seam and rigilene tips. Very useful ideas.
10/25/05 7:25 PM
Hilary said...
wonderful bag!! Thanks for such detailed tips-very helpful!
10/25/05 7:18 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, Els, your bag is gorgeous!
10/25/05 6:38 PM
Karla Kizer said...
els, your bag looks exactly like the version I have in mind, right down to the zipper closing. How nice to see what I could wind up with if I do as great a job as you did. I'm recycling a leather coat, and I spent the afternoon looking for antique brass fittings. Now I'd better get busy....and with your review as a roadmap, life will be much, much easier. Thanks!
10/25/05 6:38 PM
Lori V said...
Wow, what a great bag for a "muslin" looks perfect. Thanks for the tips on adding a zipper.
10/25/05 6:20 PM
Lisette said...
Wonderful bag, I am also planning to make one out of some leftover faux leather. I will reference your review and I hope mine turns out as nice as yours!
10/25/05 6:09 PM
Eli said...
Doesn't look like a wearable muslin, Els! :) Very cool bag!
10/25/05 5:38 PM
LisaLS said...
WOW!!!! Your bag is amazing!
10/25/05 5:13 PM
PegL said...
Wow! This looks like a high dollar bag from a very high end shop! Very nice!
10/25/05 5:10 PM
drsue said...
That is one awesome bag!!! I wish I had some fabric like this to make one up for myself.
10/25/05 4:55 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
WOW it RAWKS! I love the color.
10/25/05 4:51 PM
Tailypo said...
Wonderful bag! Thanks for the detailed review.
10/25/05 4:21 PM
touran said...
Thank you for such an instructional review. Your work is amazing and I learn every time from you.
10/25/05 4:18 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
What a great bag, and the color is just awesome, I'll adopt your rigilene trick to my bag, may I? Unless I figure out something else, like metal bones that can be removed for washing but I guess that might be too complicated though , just a thought.
10/25/05 4:00 PM
KitnRose said...
"wearable muslin" --- if only my finished products looked half so stunning! Lovely, professional, results! Thanks for the tips on changes you made and all the pictures - I'm a visual person so love those!
10/25/05 3:58 PM
sew obsessed said...
WOW, Els, this is magnificent. I love all your design elements. Michelle
10/25/05 3:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-135

photo
by: barebear

Review
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info