SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 129 (Japanese Hapi and Haori)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1562 times 
Reviewed by:Susan Parker
photo

 
 
About Susan Parkerstar
TN
Member since: 4/14/02
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/02 0:01 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Susan, it sounds fascinating! I have been interested in Haori ever since Alex Anderson did a show on them. It seems to be a very versatile garment. I can't wait to see your photos. Haha, you have a good sense of humor too - like none of us have ever been sewing on the last button or finishing up the hem in the car? Once I had to use Stitch Witchery (and did I ever regret that!) to hem an emerald green taffeta ballgown so that I didn't miss the party.:-0
9/12/02 0:24 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Susan, I cant wait to see your pictures. i made this jacket once out of some rayon but I ended up giving it to my Step daughter. maybe I need to pull the pattern out of my stash and re-think it. Did you see the article in the current Threads on the reversable kimono's. They are similar to this jacket.
9/12/02 1:03 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sounds like you had lots of fun making this up, and I can't wait to see the pic's, it sound worth waiting...
9/12/02 3:27 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Susan, the jackets sounds gorgeous and unusual! What a great idea to wear it over a sheath dress. I live in Japan, so I am always curious about Japanese inspired cloths. I really look forward to the picture!
9/12/02 6:04 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sounds beautiful! Thanks for the detailed review. Looking forward to the pics!
9/12/02 10:37 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Butterick 4684

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review

Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 2508

photo
by: Miss Fairc...

Review