SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Indygo Junction> IJ700 (Simple Swing Jacket)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1711 times 
Reviewed by:Moxie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Moxie
Member since: 11/1/04
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/28/05 11:09 PM
Last Updated:10/29/05 8:47 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persistent said...
I made the "Nancy" version with the piped edge. I am new at making piping, but there was alot of bulk wherever the piped edges crossed. I ended up tacking alot of the piped edges so that they didn't bow. I made the suggested button closure and received many compliments. I used bright pinks and purples. I don't think I will make the piped version again, but I'm looking forward to using 2 cotton-like fabrics to make it reversible.
5/5/06 3:22 PM
marthamyers said...
Great review. Thanks for the tip about stabilizing the neck. I hope to try this with some polished cotton soon.
1/23/06 5:41 PM
Moxie said...
The swing jacket made up in a heavier wool would be lovely. In fact, that's what I'm looking for my next jacket that will be a Christmas present. I'm pretty sure the neck will still need to be stabilized, at least in the view with a serged edge. I think a lot of the unstable neck edge can be attributed to the shape of the neck line (I'ts somewhat on the bias, I believe.) and the serged neck edge. My last minute neck saved worked great and looks good. On my next jacket I'll just baste a thin strip of the jacket fabric on the underside of neck and serge.
10/31/05 10:43 AM
Teri said...
Moxie, your jacket looks great. Just in time for the cooler weather:)
10/30/05 9:25 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I recently purchased this from Nancy's Notions with the DVD. I think it will make up nicely. Yours looks great, glad you reviewed it here.
10/30/05 3:42 PM
SewingSusan said...
I'm so glad to see a review of this pattern as I've had it for some time now. Do you think if the jacket were made in wool or a heavier weight the neck stablizing wouldn't be an issue? Thanks for the detailed review. Your jacket looks great!
10/30/05 7:58 AM
Mini said...
Very nice jacket and helpful review. THis pattern was featured on two episodes of the Sewing With Nancy show on public tv, with some nice variations in different fabrics.
10/29/05 12:11 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Thanks for a great review. The fabric combinations really made it stand out.
10/29/05 10:03 AM
Linda E. said...
Lovely jacket love the fabric. Very well written review. thanks for revieiwing this jacket.
10/29/05 7:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Other Gertie\'s Book

photo
by: ccesarik

Review
Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 3532

photo
by: lovenicky

Review